We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Return trip as wonderful as the first trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of DeSoto Ocean Spray

DeSoto Ocean Spray
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
DeSoto Ocean Spray
Ranked #18 of 28 Hollywood B&B and Inns
Everett Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Return trip as wonderful as the first trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

This was our second trip to the DeSoto Inn and it was as lovely as the first. We stayed in the larger room in 2012 and the smaller efficiency in 2013 and both rooms were quiet, clean, well-stocked, adorably decorated and lovingly maintained. Wendy was wonderful in getting us anything we forget to bring. We used the bikes every day to tour the boardwalk, beach towels, beach chairs and umbrellas are provided. We sat in the grounds every evening enjoying the birds and flowers. I can't say enough good things about the DeSoto and Steve. We booked the 2014 trip the day we left. Can't wait to come back!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KevinAndPaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
extraclean, Manager at DeSoto Ocean Spray, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you so very much for your great review of the Desoto. I love passing along compliments to Wendy, isn't she the greatest! I am humble by the kindness of our guests, you truly are the reason we work hard to exceed your expectations. Look forward to seeing you again in 2014. Thank you, thank you, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salvador, BA
Level Contributor
88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

We had a great time there . Steve and all the crew were super kind and helpfull. Quiet and nice place, a few steps from the beach , this was just what we were looking for. I believe the only con is the fact that if you like a little more agitation , maybe you´ll find this a little to quiet. We will come back , thats for sure. Obs: we are from Brazil , and went to Miami to make some shopping for our baby. If thats your case , I think this is perfect - quiet, good sized room and fair distance from the sawgrass and aventura mall.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeMeCa1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We had a very relaxing weekend in a one bedroom at Desoto Inn. We live only 30 minutes away but it felt like we went out of state. Half a block from the beach, bikes available for use, beautiful gardens, nice people. Definitely looking forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ejr427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

Absolutely LOVED everything about this lovely charming small bed and breakfast "green" hotel, from the moment we arrived, and we can't wait to come back again!

There is definitely good karma here!

If you are looking for a stress free vacation just steps from the dunes and nature park at the wonderful Hollywood beach, the Desoto Oceanspray & Oceanview Inn is the perfect place!
Only a 20 minute drive from everywhere-Ft. Lauderdale, Miami & Miami Beach...yet the ambiance is laid back and peaceful.
We loved the retro decor of the ultra clean rooms (which are mini apartments-full kitchens, etc.)and the beautiful gardens with native plants and flowers just outside our door.
The Hollywood Broadwalk is a few minutes walk south down the beach, just beyond the nature preserve.
The only people on the beach are the guests and possibly a few local homeowners--it's never crowded!
The Desoto is a cross between "old Florida", the bohemian funkiness of South Beach back in the 1950s-1960s before it became the glitzy "over the top" SoBe, and the zen atmosphere of a truly green hotel.
Steve, the host and owner is very welcoming as well as knowledgeable about the area.
The green amenities (soap, shampoo, etc) were as good and even better quality than at most hotels.
No extra charges for parking, beach chairs, umbrellas or bicycles! There is a sign up sheet for an early morning yoga class on the beach- at NO extra charge-Tiffany the yoga instructor is wonderful. I was lucky enough to be able to do 2 sessions with her.
The gourmet breakfasts are simply amazingly tasty as well as healthy!
The Desoto's breakfasts are THE BEST I have ever had at any hotel I have ever been to!
I am a vegetarian and it was truly wonderful to be able to sample everything at the breakfast buffet :-)
Everything is home made from scratch by the amazing chef.
Greasy gray sausages of mystery meat & powdered scrambled eggs as are often de rigeur at "free breakfasts" at major hotel chains, but nowhere in sight HERE :-)
For people who are not vegetarian or vegan, the food is so fresh and tasty you will be looking forward to what the next morning's buffet will be!
Our 4 night stay went by too quickly...we definitely will be back again soon!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NY2FLGrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, NJ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

You will think you are hours away from the frantic world of Ft. Lauderdale, but in reality, you are only minutes from the shopping and restaurants of Los Olas Blvd. We just returned from the Utopian Desoto inn, located a block away from the turquoise Atlantic ocean, and wish we were still there. For the third consecutive year, we have spent spring break at the Desoto, largely thanks to the gentleman owner, Steve, who is welcoming and gracious, allowing us use of the hotel bikes, beach chairs, beach towels, and his garden-of-Eden. My teen daughter and her friend rode bikes to the busy Hollywood beach boardwalk, while my friend and I walked under the mangrove trees along the shaded beach path. Trim roller-bladers and bicyclists live in harmony with runners and walkers on the wide path. Near the trail, a nature center has kayaks, canoes or paddle boards for rent deep in the mangroves. Birds and wildlife, including the nesting turtles, will be your neighbors. I love to walk, bike and swim, and was able to all in a sunny afternoon at the Desoto.

At night, you can hear the gentle waves, and the afternoon sun will warm any Northern heart in need of repair. We had a splendid time and think that families with teens or young children, couples or retirees -- in fact anyone with a love of nature and relaxation -- should give this inn a try. You will not be disappointed. When the girls wanted the shopping action of trendy Los Olas, we were there in minutes, but we did not have to tolerate the traffic and crowds for long. We will return as soon as possible to this little utopian village on the sea. Am afraid that by saying too much, I won't be able to reserve a room for next year.

Room Tip: Love the corner efficiency for its quietness and cool breeze at night, when we like to turn the AC o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LikeThatBlackCrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

If Miami is too crowded for you and you are looking for a nice spot at the Atlantic Ocean, Hollywood and the DeSoto is the perfect choice. The beach is just a few steps away and the tropical (almost asian-like) garden with singing birds is so relaxing. We liked the room and the kitchen very much. Everything was very clean and well equipped.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lanzarine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feeding Hills
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2008

Hollywood, Fla : The DeSoto ocean view
Date ; February 4,2008
Reviewer : Gary, Feeding Hills, MA

We have just returned from a week vacation at the oceanview, located about 30 seconds walking distance from a non crowded beach.
The Inn keeper welcomes you upon arrival and takes you to tour room and then takes you for a tour of the property explaining you what you need to know for an enjoyable stay.
Amenities include free bikes, beach towels & chairs, laundry facilities, computer and wireless, BBQ, patio if you feel like having cocktail or dinner outside.
We rented an efficiency, good size room with a fully equiped kitchen, everything very clean.
Everybody there were very friendly and helpful and we felt like home. When we left it was like leaving friends behind.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank groomingdales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hollywood hotels
0.0 mi away
The Desoto Inn
The Desoto Inn
#6 of 70 in Hollywood
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
2.2 mi away
Margaritaville Beach Resort
1.8 mi away
Casa Pellegrino Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hollywood Beach Marriott
Hollywood Beach Marriott
#7 of 70 in Hollywood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
1.7 mi away
Riptide Hotel
Riptide Hotel
#5 of 70 in Hollywood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coral Reef
Coral Reef
#2 of 28 in Hollywood
5.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DeSoto Ocean Spray? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DeSoto Ocean Spray

Property: DeSoto Ocean Spray
Address: 315 Desoto St, Hollywood, FL 33019-4501
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Hollywood
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury oceanside apartments, beautifully furnished, full gourmet kitchens,only footsteps to the beach. Free parking, wi-fi and bicycles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your DeSoto Ocean Spray reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing