We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Could be worse....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Hollywood Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Historic Hollywood Beach Resort
Ranked #58 of 69 Hotels in Hollywood
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Could be worse....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

Pros: on the beach, very nice pool area, convenient to restaurants and shopping, close to airport

Cons: mostly abandoned mall on first floor, security/staff is rude, a/c wasn't working in our room so they brought us a fan, building has major repairs that need made (for example a stairwell by the pool that is falling in and surrounded by caution tape and is held up by 2x4 boards,) elevator doesn't work properly and fell approximately 2 feet while we were inside and then was out of order for awhile during our stay, pool closes at 8 pm, card is needed to use elevators, pool and fitness center, parking is expensive and adjacent to the hotel at $15/day, musty smell in the hallways and lobby, no balconies and most ocean view rooms also have a view of the roof.

Overall, we had a decent time. The room we stayed in was managed by SG resorts so our room was quite a bit cleaner and nicer than most others in the building. (As other reviewers have stated the property is managed by two separate groups.) We were in the penthouse (PH5.) It was very modern and updated. The rest of the building needs major renovations.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Trisha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    70
    70
    51
    144
See reviews for
109
123
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
N Miami, FL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We stayed there last Saturday night. My husband accidently broke a pane out of the window in our hotel room. (it was a thin pain of glass, not hurricane glass). They charged us an additional $400 to replace that pane of glass. Outrageous!! We could have gone and bought the glass and replaced it our selves for under $100.00.
And the room was dirty, a/c would not go below 79 degrees.
I do not recommend to anyone!!

Room Tip: go down the boardwalk to the Marriott, it has got to be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wendyiloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Historichollywood, Manager at Historic Hollywood Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
I apologize you feel this way but you did not put a picture I have the picture and it is a double window it cost a lot of money to fix, You never offered to fix it. From what I see in the notes you threw the phone at your husband and missed. So please be a little more fair with your review. It's not just any window because it faces the ocean it has to be specially designed because of the turtles.
Thank you,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

Was very skeptical to stay here reading all the bad reviews, but we had a great time. We rented our studio off Airbnb - so maybe that was the 1st good step to take as this unit is personally owned. It was small but clean & the A/C worked great. Definitely an old hotel - could be amazing if someone came & put some money into it. Staff was very helpful & courteous. Beach bar was fun & pool & beach were beautiful. No real complaints other than we had to use the laundry facilities to wash the 1 set of towels each of us had. We also had to clean our own studio - but that's the difference in renting a studio vs. getting it as a hotel room.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank BBye1126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Historichollywood, Manager at Historic Hollywood Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you for staying with us here at the Historic Hollywood Beach Resort and for taking the time to write a review. We also appreciate your positive comments and we hope to see back here real soon.
Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

My fiancé and I went stayed at this hotel on our pre honeymoon/vacation. Figuring it would of been a really nice hotel and a nice piece of history to the area. We pulled in the hotel and parked in the check in parking. As we walked up to the entrance, the valet parking staff demanded for our keys. Very ignorent and non professional people! We walk in to check in and the front desk agent was non professional and very ignorent. He also charged my debit car the $10 a day resort fee without even letting me know that he was doing so. Then he proceeds to tell me the the parking is 15 dollars a day for self parking and 18 dollars a day for valet parking. Nothing was said to us when we made the reservation. Then the security personnel were very ignorent as well. There's a door you have to go through in order to get to the elevators. Not knowing anything about the property, we walk through as somebody was walking out. Security yells at us and demands that we have to swipe our room card in order to use the elevators. We had another problem with security as well. After speaking with the hotel manager about all of the problems we had experienced, needless to say she was very well mannered and very professional unlike the other staff and refunded our resort fee. Overall Hollywood is a great area to stay and tour but do not stay at this hotel!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

it was 230am on a saturday night and i had booked a hotel via hotels.com, hotels.com confirmed the hotel with me and i took a $60 cab ride to your hotel, i was advised that your hotel was at capacity and that emails were sent to hotels.com to advise them not to sell more rooms. rachel ley introduced herself, she apologized for hotels.com blunder and the fact that i was overcharged grossly for what should have been a $30 cab ride max. she checked every room in the hotel to make sure they were booked, paid for and utilized until she found one room that wasn't and she gave it to me, she was a life saver and should be recognized for her value of service and an asset to your firm. when i go to florida again i will be staying at your hotel for only one reason, and the reason is rachel levy's customer service!! thx again rachel, you're great!!!

Room Tip: get the ocean view, its beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adam a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

I decide to try since someone said it have been renovated.
It looked like a nice location, close to beach, boardwalk, restaurants.
The only good thing was the staff, very friendly.
But overall , disappointed. Over price.
Be ware of extra fees: 15daily for self parking, 18 valet (daily)
10dl for "free breakfast" and use of towels and pool or beach chairs. If you wanted an umbrella be ready to pay extra 7dl an hour.
Ohhhh never found were to eat breakfast since the lobby looks empty just a few rundown stores...
Very very disappointed

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darlamilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Historichollywood, Manager at Historic Hollywood Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments regarding the property. We are in fact trying to upgrade all apects of the property and will continue to make efforts. We just opened two new stores in the hotel. I hope you would come stay with us again, just let us know you are a returning guest and we will give you a great price. I just put in an order in for umbrellas. I'm honored that you said the staff was very friendly. We really look forward to hearing from you to give us another chance.

Thank you,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

This hotel was terrible. From the entrance to the elevators to the room. The people that work there are extremely rude and the hotel smells like dirt and old. They promised they were going to change the room, but never did. I am 3 months pregnant and i couldn't sleep from the smell. The room looked like it had never been cleaned. I found a couple of spiders in the Room. The showers had "red" stains all over. God knows what they were! It was completely disgusting. The reaon that I am writing this review is to avoid another person from going here and suffering like I di. You must be aware of what you are getting yourself into! My recommendation- anywhere but here!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lizetita_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hollywood hotels
0.8 mi away
Hollywood Beach Hotels
Hollywood Beach Hotels
#25 of 69 in Hollywood
3.5 of 5 stars 238 reviews
0.6 mi away
Caribbean Resort by the Ocean
0.4 mi away
St Maurice Inn
St Maurice Inn
#35 of 69 in Hollywood
3.5 of 5 stars 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sheldon
Hotel Sheldon
#30 of 69 in Hollywood
3.5 of 5 stars 142 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ocean Inn
Ocean Inn
#20 of 69 in Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 482 reviews
0.8 mi away
Neptune Hollywood Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Hollywood Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Hollywood Beach Resort

Property: Historic Hollywood Beach Resort
Address: 101 North Ocean Drive, Hollywood Blvd & Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 69 Hotels in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Historic Hollywood Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Hollywood beachfront hotel voted by Travel & Leisure as one of "America's Best Beach Boardwalks" and Fodor Travel Guide's "Best Beach for Families." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Historic Hollywood Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing