We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NIGHTMARE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hollywood Beach Tower
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Nightmare!!!!!

We stayed at this property twice - once before our cruise for 2 rooms and once after our cruise.

Both times the property was over sold. We were upgraded to the owners penthouse suite for our first night because this is the only room they had left and it had 2 bedrooms. We were lucky to have had a place to stay this night.

Our last night is a very different story. Again they were over sold. They didn't seem to care at all at the front desk. They told us we would be staying at the Hollywood Beach Towers next door. We went over there and it was a nightmare. We never received a room until after 530pm we had been waiting since 1pm regular check in time is 3pm.

We walked into the room (401 which are the pictures posted on this site by another unhappy guest) and wanted to run out it was so old and totally 70's decor. The worst thing is it was worse than dirty. The master bath had body hair all over the floor, tub toilet and sink area. The master bedroom had coffee cup marks and body hair on both night stands the chair in the living room was broken and on and on. I called to the front desk. I was advised they didn't have enough housekeepers to come in and clean it properly until the night crew came on shift!!! I told the staff I wanted to be moved and was told they were sold out. I then tried to find a different hotel - no luck as all hotels were full. We had no choice but to stay.

Before going out to dinner I stopped at the front desk. I told them we would be back after dinner and expected the room to be cleaned prior to our return. They said they would try. The problem is the HOUSEKEEPING TEAM no being able to do their job.
They did clean the master bath and gave us 1 roll of toilet paper. I slept in my clothes as could bear the thought of sleeping between the sheets.

I have called the hotel to talk with the manager and have not received a call back.

So all I can say is be very careful if you want to stay at this property. It may be best to spend a little more and find a different location.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deb R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildred R, Owner Services at Hollywood Beach Tower, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review. We are disappointed that your stay was not up to your satisfaction. On behalf of our resort and our staff, we would like to apologize. We do often accept “walked” reservations from the Hollywood Beach Resort. Since you were not happy with the unit, our policy would have been to change you to another; however, on the date you stayed this was not possible. We did have a housekeeper, Andrea Davis, come to the unit and clean it to your satisfaction (according to what you told her). From your review, we could not tell which hotel manager you called to speak to, but our manager, Yva Saint Louis has not received any calls, voice mails or messages from you. Please call again if you wish to speak with her – she answers all calls when possible and returns any calls left on her voice mail. We will be renovating our units in the near future so please come back and stay with us again – call ahead to request an ocean view if you wish. We will always strive to accommodate your wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (341)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 341 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

First of all, I want to say that we were "supposed" to be staying at the Hollywood Beach Resort Cruise Port hotel next door. However, when we arrived to check in (which our reservation had been made months ago via online), we were told "we are full". How can you be full when we had a reservation? We were then told that we would be "walked over" to the HB Towers, as they often took the other properties over-flow. Well, I had specifically booked the Cruise Port hotel since I wanted a very nice hotel for our last day in Florida following our cruise. As it turns out, it was a blessing in disguise because not only was the front desk VERY nice to us and accommodating, but we ended up with a room with 2 separate areas; a bedroom and a living room/kitchenette. We really appreciated the extra space. The property is in need of updating which they have plans for posted in the lobby. I would stay here again, although it is more of a time share property in that towels are not changed daily. The plus is that you are right on the beach and there are tons of little restaurants on the Broadwalk. Also, the night we were there a band was putting on a free concert, but it was very windy and cool and we didn't stay.

Room Tip: Get an oceanview room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2_cruzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildred R, Owner Services at Hollywood Beach Tower, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

We wish to thank you for your recent positive review. Your satisfaction with your stay is always our first priority and it was nice to see that you had such a great visit. We have renovations planned that will update the units as you mentioned. Please return and vacation with us again - we look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Large rooms; we had an ocean facing kitchenette. Bedroom carpet was stained and all of the furniture was mega outdated. Plenty of towels & 2 washrooms was nice. Pool was warm and hottub chemical heavy (probably had to be). These rooms are far from modern, but the size is good. Steps from lovely Hollywood Beach, and a 15 min drive from the airport.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarasoda27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildred R, Owner Services at Hollywood Beach Tower, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

We thank you for your positive feedback. You may be interested to know that there is a planned renovation for all of our units, with upgrades to the kitchen (including dish washer), bathrooms (a shower stall in one), along with all of the living room and bedroom furniture. We hope that you will return to visit with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed for four days during the early part of July and really enjoyed our time there. We had a one bedroom suite facing the ocean, and with large wall-to-wall windows in both the living room and bedroom, there were fabulous views and plenty of Florida sunshine every day. The apartment was spacious and quite comfortable. Two full baths gave us the opportunity to spread out and not get in one another's way. The kitchen was dated, but usable. One free complimentary bag of coffee...after that's gone, you're on your own (coffee-holic, yes I am). TV in living room and bedroom were nice but I needed help figuring out how to turn one of them on, but the staff was quick to help and friendly. WiFi service was easy and reliable if you're taking your laptop like I did.

Never used the pool, but the beach was fabulous and the ocean warm and calm during our time there. The beautiful concrete "boardwalk" was just steps away and a great way to explore the shops and little restaurants along the beach, and do a little people watching too. There was a great little coffee shop in the basement of a mall just to the north of the hotel...and I'd recommend checking it out for a great little capuccino...you won't be disappointed. Once a week there's a farmers' market out in front of the hotel...extremely pricey, but fun to check out.

This hotel is definitely not a fancy place, but if you like a huge, clean room with a fantastic view and don't expect perfection (yeah, the room was a little dated), you'll love staying here just like we did.

Room Tip: Upper floors facing the beach are nice, but I peeked into a room facing inland, and the view is just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BaltimoreMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildred R, Owner Services at Hollywood Beach Tower, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

We thank you for your positive feedback and are very glad that you were pleased with your stay at the Hollywood Beach Tower. We strive to make all of our guests feel at home when they vacation with us. You may be interested to know that there is a planned complete renovation for all of our units, with upgrades to the kitchen (including dish washer), bathrooms (a shower stall in one), along with all of the living room and bedroom furniture.

We hope that you will return to visit with us once again – see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We have enjoyed staying here each winter/spring for past several years. The location is awesome right on Hollywood Broadwalk. Lobby and Pool are nice, staff is exceptional. But.. the kitchens and baths in the units are just too far gone to be offered to the public. We still had a good time this year in unit 806 but had to struggle and try not to think much when using the kitchen and baths. They were probobly clean - based on all that we could see in the unit but they are deteriorated so badly that it is really hard to know if they are clean or not. The furnishing and other features of the unit were average/fine, but Kitchen and bath could only be described as totally worn out and visually disturbing. They are starting to do gut renovations to the units - and the renovated units we saw were awesome. (Had only done 3 units as of Jan 2013) We may hold off on returning here until renovations are complete.

Room Tip: pick 5th floor and up for best views. parking deck behind property blocks views to intercoastal wate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prountrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildred R, Owner Services at Hollywood Beach Tower, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Thank you for your positive review regarding your recent stay here at the Tower. It is wonderful that you enjoyed your vacation with us. Our housekeeping staff endeavors to clean our units as quickly and thoroughly as possible; however, as you mentioned the planned renovations will certainly update the units.

We get many repeat guests such as yourself and we hope that you will once again visit with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Location - Great! We only chose this hotel because of the oceanfront resort.

Room - One bedroom unit with two bathrooms came with mini kitchen, utensils, dining table of 4 and pull-up sofa bed. No balcony, tired, needs to be remodeled.

Pool - Old and small but the beach is right in front of you! No kiddie pool. There is a bbq grill you can rent for free at the pool.

Restaurant - Take advantage of walking on the beach boardwalk to find what you want to eat. Found thai/sushi restaurant on the south side of the hotel. Good food and very friendly staff. On the north side of the hotel, you can find plenty of restaurants. Having mimosa and looking at the beautiful ocean with live music at Marriott was very relaxing...

Organic Farmer's market - Every Sunday morning, they have organic farmer's market right in front of the hotel. It is not cheap but always fresh and tons of varieties.

Room Tip: If possible, request the room with ocean view. You don't want to face the parking garage on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IssayDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildred R, Owner Services at Hollywood Beach Tower, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

We wish to thank you for your recent review. Your satisfaction with your stay is always our first priority and it was nice to see that you had such a great visit. We have renovations planned that will update the units including all new appliances (including a dish washer for the first time), all the furniture as well as upgrades to the carpet, tile and, well….just about everything in the unit!

We look forward to your return visit – hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

My stay at the Hollywood Beach Tower was almost perfect. Dee at the front desk was very nice.
The room was like a one bedroom apt. with 2 baths, kitchen, dining area, sofa bed and seperate bedroom with a bath and closet with a safe, laudry basket, iron and ironing board.
The pool was nicely heated and the hot tub was a perfect temperature. I never had to fight for a pool chair. You can see the ocean from the pool area. Very nice!! The rooms were dated (70's?), but everything was nice and functional. My only problem was that the bedroom wall was a bit thin and the family next door had no manners and were coming in late hours, being loud and waking me up. I did call the desk on the 3rd night and it got quiet very quickly after that. So, I recommend you complain sooner than later!
This is a great location within steps of the beach and broadwalk- which is full of restaurants. There is also a nice organic farmers market right outside on Sundays. The hotel did not have maid service during my stay. I actually liked that, as I wasn't ever disturbed when taking daytime rests. I also like that things weren't wasted like in a regular hotel. I didn't ask for anything, though I would guess that you could get soap, etc. if you asked.
I could always find parking without any problems. The parking lady was nice, too.
The beach is very nice- clean and calm and steps away.
Check out the Thai restaurant on the broadwalk around the corner, and the Greek restaurant on the main road!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildred R, Owner Services at Hollywood Beach Tower, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

We would like to express our gratitude for your recent review. Since a guest’s satisfaction is our utmost priority, knowing you had a great stay with us is most encouraging. All of our staff strives to make all of our guests comfortable – responding to requests as quickly and efficiently as possible. Since all of the staff involved with your stay treated you well, this lets us know that we are on target in caring for our guests.

We hope that you will return to vacation with us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hollywood hotels
1.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach
1.1 mi away
Hollywood Beach Marriott
Hollywood Beach Marriott
#6 of 72 in Hollywood
1,571 reviews
0.5 mi away
Margaritaville Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Caribbean Resort by the Ocean
0.9 mi away
Casa Pellegrino Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sheldon
Hotel Sheldon
#24 of 72 in Hollywood
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Beach Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Beach Tower

Address: 301 Harrison St, Hollywood, FL 33019-1721
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Hollywood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Hollywood
Price Range: $125 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hollywood Beach Tower 3.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hollywood Beach Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Beach Tower Hotel Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing