We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Caribbean Resort by the Ocean
Ranked #18 of 71 Hotels in Hollywood
Reviewed April 29, 2014

This mini resort hotel was the perfect spot for me and two friends to kick back and enjoy a relaxing week in Hollywood, Florida. Steps from the boardwalk and beach, the hotel was in a great location. We stayed in the standard suite with a bedroom and a pull-out couch. It was very modern and clean inside. For three young ladies in our 20s, the suite had everything we needed and we felt completely safe. The full kitchen in the suite was great because we were able to cook instead of eating out for EVERY meal. We bought steaks at the grocery store (a short bus ride away) and were able to use the BBQ in the hotel courtyard to cook them. It was great! The tiki bar in the courtyard was a great spot to hang out and meet other people. We made some friends! On our last day, we had to check out at 11 a.m., but our flight home wasn't until 7 p.m. The hotel staff allowed us to leave our baggage in their office for the day while we soaked up the sun on the beach. They even offered to call us a cab to the airport when it came time for us to leave. When our cab driver didn't show up, we started to panic that we were going to miss our flight, but the owner of the hotel GENEROUSLY offered to drive us to the airport himself!! He wouldn't accept the cash we offered him in return, and said the fact that we chose his hotel for our stay was thank-you enough. We made it to the airport on time and felt so grateful that he saved the day! Overall, it was a lovely experience and we highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (520)
There are newer reviews for Caribbean Resort by the Ocean
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

423 - 429 of 520 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2014

stayed at the Caribbean Resort by the Ocean for 5 days. The rooms seem to be all newly renovated, they are bright and a little small, but you're staying by the ocean for a reason, and that is usually to visit the ocean.
The Bed was a little firm for my likes, but not intolerable. As Melissa L. mentioned there were no washcloths, but we found some at the local wal-mart that worked wonderfully. There was a small kitchenette that only one person can fit in at a time, and the same goes for the bathroom, but they were perfect for the two of us. There was a small table in the corner that is affixed to the wall, with 2 chairs which makes it difficult to eat there, but there was a large table outside our room that we could eat at anytime we wished. The shower head was up pretty high on the wall, but there is a button on the shower head that enables you to turn off the water periodically. Reminded me of a Navy shower. New windows that shut out some of the surrounding noise..(I could only imagine what it was like before they renovated).
The motel has a small parking lot for visitors and we always managed to find parking for our vehicle, but I wouldn't recommend a large truck or SUV though there were a few on the premises. Access to the motel is on a one-way street and the pictures on Google maps don't do justice to the renovations that have been done. There is a Tiki Bar in the central area of the motel too, it seems to be very nice, but we didn't use it during our visit. We stayed next to the one way road that runs from Hayes St. to Buchanan St.
The motel is about 100 feet from Hollywood Beach which seemed to be crowded regardless of the day of the week. It is a beautiful beach with many businesses and restaurants on the boardwalk. People walk and bike on the boardwalk, and there are some chairs that look like palates on the beach that you can rent.
The weather was beautiful for the most part with the exception of a few thunder storms which we always enjoy.
Overall it was a great stay!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harddriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Glade we found this little gem! We stayed at the resort for two days following a cruise. We arrived around 11:30 am, knowing that check in would be much later. We were given a place to store our luggage until our room would be available. We were given beach towels and headed off to the beach across the street. The location of this resort is fantastic, everything within a short walking distance with a great selection of Bars and Restaurants, and oh yes the beach! Room was modern and updated, had a small kitchen. Everything was in good working order and clean. The Tiki Bar was great! Opened around 1:00 pm, and had a fine assortment of drink choices and snack food, Shelly the bar tender did a fantastic job!! Appeared to be a hang out for locals each day. I could see parking being an issue for those with vehicles. We were able to rent a covered beach canopy and spent two great days enjoying the Hollywood Beach. There is a band shell a block down on the beach and were able to enjoy a live concert Saturday night. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bry92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

The location is great. The room looks great; updated, modern and clean. That's where it ends. Check in is supposed to be between 2p-5p. Since we were coming from a cruise we had "checked in" around 11a. However, our room wasn't ready till 3:30p. The bathroom is tiny! If you're above average size good luck. And there is NO counter space. You will need to take your own hand towels, washcloths, blow dryer, ear plugs and you will need an eye mask. The front desk closes early and the phone goes to voice mail. There is however an emergency number. But if you just have a question or need more towels, you're SOL. All the rooms face a noisy, brightly lit courtyard. There were people out there talking, drinking and yelling all night. There are blinds on the windows, but no curtains. Even with the blinds closed the light from the courtyard lights up the entire room. Needless to say we didn't get any sleep and will not be recommending this place to anyone. I've stayed in better motels.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Melissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCaribbeanResort, Guest Service Agents at Caribbean Resort by the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Dear Guest,
We apologize for the inconveniences encountered during your stay. Your experience is not one we want for our guests. After looking into some of the issues mentioned we have addressed the complaints and are working on creating a better experience for our guests. As for the bathroom, we pride ourselves on being part of the historic Hollywood Beach Broadwalk and still being a completely renovated hotel, such attributes come with small draw backs and the bathrooms were designed to accommodate the original construction of the building which limits their size. We fondly appreciate the feedback you have given and hope to show you the improvements we’ve made.

The Caribbean Resort by the Ocean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

I really wanted to love this place. The room we had was a single room with a small kitchen in it. Nice to have a fridge and sink. The shower was large and the room overall was really nice. We loved that you could walk out right to the beach. Literally, across the street.

But, those were the only good things. The parking situation is a nightmare. Its a small lot in the back of the hotel where if you drive anything larger than a smart car, its impossible to get in and out. We had the staff block us in and were annoyed when we asked them to move. When we came back from the casino, we couldn't park and had to pay to park over night in the parking garage.

Not the end of the world. But what really got us is the cute little tiki bar opened around 4pm. The music was blasting; I mean bumping through the walls. And if that wasn't annoying, the music was straight up hip hop with all the swears and sexual language just blaring through the walls. The song that was on when we left was, " we don't give a F*#@ about your feelings". How can they play that? What if there were families with children? Very unprofessional. It was a party for the staff, not the guests.

I would not go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCaribbeanResort, Guest Service Agent at Caribbean Resort by the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Dear Guest,
We are sorry for the lack of service you experienced during your stay. Your experience is not one we want for our guests. We have since addressed the issues and spoken to the staff members in question to ensure that our guests are provided with optimal service during their stay. This incident is not one that will reoccur on our property.

The Caribbean Resort by the Ocean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We rented a two bedroom apartment for one night's stay after our cruise and found the apartment a very nice respite. The bed in the main room seemed the most comfortable, but unfortunately the kids took that bed and so my husband and I were left to sleep on the rather uncomfortable bed in the separate room. The kitchen had enough supplies to make a decent meal, unfortunately there were no grocery stores within walking distance. But, all that said, the staff was absolutely wonderful and they even got us into our room well before the check-in time...and with a smile!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peggy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We stayed here two nights. The room was clean, well equipped and modern and for this price you can stay very close to the ocean. There are mediocre restaurants in the neighborhood, and the crowd is very mixed, cruise people, families with small kids, old people.

My only complaint: Their office is only open from 9 am - 11 am and 2 pm - 5 pm. We could only get there at 7 pm, so our key was in a lockbox on the doorknob and they emailed us the code. We were told to check in the next morning. Therefore we didn't have much word in the room selection. My fear came true when I saw the room. It was #125, which is located on the corner of the apartment complex, looking over a playground and the back of a restaurant. It is not soundproof at all, so if you are planning to sleep, bring earplugs. I felt like because we could not pick our own room, they just gave us the worse one.

I would stay here again, but would make sure to pick my own room.

Room Tip: Try to avoid room 125.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCaribbeanResort, Guest Service Agent at Caribbean Resort by the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Dear Guest,
We apologize if the room you were given did not adequately fit your needs. Room 125 is the closests in proximity to the playground and Broadwalk as well as in a very private spot of the hotel making it a favorite for many of our guests. The office is open from 9am to 10pm Monday through Friday and till 5pm on weekends but we cannot guarantee placement in a particular room as it depends on availability. We hope that your future stay with us will be absent of any inconvenience.

The Caribbean Resort by the Ocean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hollywood hotels
0.2 mi away
Margaritaville Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Hollywood Beach Marriott
Hollywood Beach Marriott
#6 of 71 in Hollywood
1,565 reviews
2.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Neptune Hollywood Beach Hotel
0.2 mi away
Casa Pellegrino Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Riptide Hotel
Riptide Hotel
#11 of 71 in Hollywood
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribbean Resort by the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribbean Resort by the Ocean

Address: 313 Hayes St, Hollywood, FL 33019-3348 (Formerly Caribbean Resort Apartments)
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
#12 Family Hotel in Hollywood
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range: $102 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Caribbean Resort by the Ocean 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribbean Resort by the Ocean offers Newly Renovated Studios and One Bedroom Suites with all the modern comforts featuring luxurious kitchens adorned with custom wooden cabinetry and granite counter-tops, tiled bathrooms and showers, wall-mounted flat screen televisions and complimentary WiFi Internet.Located in Historic Hollywood Beach Florida, the Caribbean Resort is just steps away from seven miles of white sandy beach and the famous Broadwalk offering 2.5 miles of paved walking, jogging and biking path lined with restaurants, nightlife and all kinds of shopping.Hollywood Beach, Florida is known as a sportsman's paradise, offering all types of water sports imaginable. Go fishing, boating or even kite-surfing nearby. How about a round of golf? Or maybe try your luck at Gulfstream Racetrack and Casino, Dania Jai-Alai or The Hard Rock Casino. World renowned South Beach is just a twenty minute drive south and and beautiful Fort-Lauderdale is only a few miles to the north. All this excitement within minutes of the Caribbean Resort!The only thing missing is you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Caribbean Resort by the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribbean Resort Apartments Hotel Hollywood
Caribbean Hotel Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing