We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A Great Old Florida Hotel gets a New Life!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caribbean Resort by the Ocean

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Caribbean Resort by the Ocean to your Saves list
Caribbean Resort by the Ocean
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   313 Hayes Street at Surf Road, Hollywood, FL 33019 (Formerly Caribbean Resort Apartments)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 69 Hotels in Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
davie
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Great Old Florida Hotel gets a New Life!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

What a pleasant suprise when we found this fantastic Old Florida hotel is under new management & is being totally remodeled with all new windows, centeral A/C, new enlarged bathrooms, kitchens and beautiful interiors including beddings & furnature. We got to stay in one of the new rooms with an ocen view from the bed room and a view of their new Tiki bar from the front balcony.
The new owner was very accomodating and so was his staff who we both pleasant and helpful when ever we approached them for anything we needed.
Thanks Caribbean Resort; we'll be back soon.

Room Tip: Call in advance. This place sells out quickly but all the rooms are NEW!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frank F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCaribbeanResort, Assistant Operations Manager at Caribbean Resort by the Ocean, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for your great comments and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    136
    52
    21
    24
See reviews for
119
189
26
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I will not stay here again. We encountered so many bugs, of all kinds in our room. I know we are in South Florida, but come on! There were more bugs in our room than in our tent when we go camping! We even woke up with bugs on us while sleeping. It was really gross.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Joni D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCaribbeanResort, Assistant Operations Manager at Caribbean Resort by the Ocean, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for your sincere review. We are sorry you were inconvenienced by bugs during your stay with us. We assure you that bug extermination was a major part of our full renovation project which has now been completed. Despite your bad experience with us, we hope we have a chance to show you our renovated property the next time you stay in Hollywood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I spent my summer this year at the hotel. Boris and his family were delightful. All of the rooms are being totally renovated and this is going to be one of those hidden gems as the rooms have the latest windows, quiet AC's, great bathrooms with tremendous water pressure and it is just steps from the sand and ocean. All of the furniture is going to be new. I loved the place, the owners, staff and people who stayed here. It was a very special summer for me and I will be back to stay. Do yourself a favor and put this on your short list of hotels as this little 40's hotel is what Hollywood Beach is all about. You will not regret it.

Room Tip: There is no pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hbuglaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCaribbeanResort, Assistant Operations Manager at Caribbean Resort by the Ocean, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We are happy to know you enjoyed your summer with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

This was our first time at this hotel! The new management made us all feel at home. Boris and his crew were very accommodating to our needs. The hotel is having a do-over and the new rooms look like we are in South Miami Beach.
Thank you, we will definately go back.

Room Tip: Ask for the newly renovated ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VirginiaEngestrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCaribbeanResort, Assistant Operations Manager at Caribbean Resort by the Ocean, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your nice comments. We are glad you enjoyed our hotel and look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

The front desk dictator/totalitarian goes by the name of Susan if she does not like you (and she won't if god forbid you need a room with quieter AC) you will not be getting any smiles from her and in my case a look in my eyes. We had 20 people spread out over 4 rooms. She simply does not care to be there and judging from my experience she may either be part owner there or be working there out of absolute necessity. She does not like being there and she will be sure to show it. Debbie Diamond the owner seemed willing to work with me but was unable to return the three days of my life wasted there. the building dates back to the early 50's and I kid you not when I say they are of the philosophy that "if it ain't broke don't fix it" the rooms show it the bathrooms were tiled by a 13 year old ten years ago and the mildew is evident. if you only need a place to sleep this will do but I later found that the other motel on Hayes street is the same price and far better cared for. Also on the boardwalk! if anyone needs additional discouragement please feel free to email me at

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ozzie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCaribbeanResort, Assistant Operations Manager at Caribbean Resort by the Ocean, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for your honest review. We regret to hear that you had a bad experience with us. We wanted to take this opportunity to let you know that the hotel is now under new ownership and management and that the entire property has been renovated like new. We hope to have the chance to show you our improved property the next time you visit Hollywood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

Great, wonderful, comforting and soooo much more this place is to me. I am a local and try to stay here whenever I get the chance. I have experienced several different rooms, and all have there own special touch. from the effencies to the one bedroom to the friendly staff. My grandmother loves comming here she can enjoy herself just sitting in the beautiful court yard. I highly recommend the carribean resort. to all whether local or out of town this is one place you will love.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Destiny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVIE
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

What a wonderful place to stay! The owners and the staff were very friendly and helpful with my needs! Literally steps from the beach and the boardwalk. Room was spotless and spacious and the bed very comfortable. Beautiful courtyard to enjoy my morning coffee and my evening dinner. Rooms have a kitchenette and refrigerator which is more than accomodating. I HIGHLY recommend this resort for a vacation, short stay or a weekend of fun! I will be staying there again next time no need to look any further.

Room Tip: I suggest a courtyard room but all the rooms are equally fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DAVID L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hollywood hotels
0.2 mi away
Margaritaville Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Hollywood Beach Marriott
Hollywood Beach Marriott
#7 of 69 in Hollywood
4.0 of 5 stars 1,325 reviews
2.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Pellegrino Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Riptide Hotel
Riptide Hotel
#5 of 69 in Hollywood
4.0 of 5 stars 591 reviews
0.2 mi away
Neptune Hollywood Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribbean Resort by the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribbean Resort by the Ocean

Property: Caribbean Resort by the Ocean
Address: 313 Hayes Street at Surf Road, Hollywood, FL 33019 (Formerly Caribbean Resort Apartments)
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#13 Family Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Caribbean Resort by the Ocean 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribbean Resort by the Ocean offers Newly Renovated Studios and One Bedroom Suites with all the modern comforts featuring luxurious kitchens adorned with custom wooden cabinetry and granite counter-tops, tiled bathrooms and showers, wall-mounted flat screen televisions and complimentary WiFi Internet.Located in Historic Hollywood Beach Florida, the Caribbean Resort is just steps away from seven miles of white sandy beach and the famous Broadwalk offering 2.5 miles of paved walking, jogging and biking path lined with restaurants, nightlife and all kinds of shopping.Hollywood Beach, Florida is known as a sportsman's paradise, offering all types of water sports imaginable. Go fishing, boating or even kite-surfing nearby. How about a round of golf? Or maybe try your luck at Gulfstream Racetrack and Casino, Dania Jai-Alai or The Hard Rock Casino. World renowned South Beach is just a twenty minute drive south and and beautiful Fort-Lauderdale is only a few miles to the north. All this excitement within minutes of the Caribbean Resort!The only thing missing is you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Caribbean Resort by the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribbean Resort Apartments Hotel Hollywood
Caribbean Hotel Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing