We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experienc”
Review of The Desoto Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Desoto Inn
Ranked #15 of 71 Hotels in Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 1, 2007

Like another reviewer, my husband and I found the hotel and the area by accident, but what a wonderful accident! For those of you looking for a low-key neighbourhood, with the cute architecture of the 50s and 60s, parks and a quiet beach, this is the place for you. The hotel itself it adorable. They have preserved the original architecture and created a lovely space out of each unit. The manager, Steve, and the assistant manager, Marie-Danielle, are friendly and helpful. The hotel provides Internet access, beach chairs, umbrellas and bicycles (bikes are old but usable), plus laundry facilities. The grounds are very pretty and well-kept. Keep in mind that this is a very small hotel with only about 10 units and the building is not new, so do not expect the luxury of a Marriot. The atmosphere is relaxed and relaxing. It is also very safe. We were never worried about taking walks at night or leaving things out in our room. Most of the guests get to know each other and take care of each other. Many return year after year. Check to see if the larger units are available for longer stays. In conclusion, if you like clean, nicely decorated, but simple (no pool), then you will be happy here. We loved it, and will definitely return. We have the feeling that we have found a little jewel.

Stayed: February 2007
2  Thank QuebecCitySnowbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
There are newer reviews for The Desoto Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 202 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2007

The management including the female caretaker, Dawn Michelle were very unwelcoming. The rules which they imposed on their guests were unreasonable. They acted like they were doing us a favor by allowing us to stay there. The other guests were very old, sick (on oxygen) and watched your every move. I felt like we were staying at a nursing home. Noisy window air conditioning units and no air conditioning in the bathroom which made it extremely uncomfortable when coming out of the shower. The web site boasts of free bicycles....if only they weren't rusty and with flat tires they could possibly be ridden. The water pressure was low and on occasion ran out of hot water. And the charge to stay there was no bargain for such accomodations. Very disappointed!

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Elaine2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
extraclean, manager at The Desoto Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2007

Wow! It may not help to say we do everything possible to make our guests feel welcome and comfortable, because this guest really had a bad experience. We try our hardest to create a beautiful atmosphere and holiday for each guest, old, young, middle-aged, and I suppose, even "on oxygen". We are here to please our guests, when something isn't just right, tell us, and we make it right. If we somehow fail, we can only apologize and provide the guest with another chance to find the good side of our clean, friendly and eclectic inn. If a guest is unhappy about their experience at the DeSoto, we ask that they simply e-mail us or call, we'll be happy to either provide them with a refund or a free stay to make up for a bad experience. In the meantime, we sincerely apologize to Elaine from Pittsburgh, and hope we'll have a second chance to prove that the DeSoto is the perfect place to stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2006

This small inn,of a size and style typical for the area, is very charming with a delightful garden/courtyard and many cozy touches. The rooms are decorated on the eclectic side--the art, linens, furniture are an interesting combination of styles, and the whole place feels more like being at your friend's house than in a hotel. We stayed in a studio room, which was small but functional with a kitchenette and space to eat right in the room. The bathroom was right out of 50's in terms of tile, shower, and size. For a short stay this was fine, but it would have been cramped to stay longer and try to actually cook and maneuver the bathroom with another person. I was less than happy though with the bed, what felt like an old double bed that was well past its useful life. Check on the bedding in the room if you are going to stay here. The beach is very nice, the area is quite residential and away from the rows of little restaurants and hotels that dot Hollywood Beach.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 7mlf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
extraclean, manager at The Desoto Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2007

hi, we are genuinely sorry for the bad experience you had with our bedding. i do want you to know that all of our mattresses are queen-sized, we have never offered a smaller mattress. maybe it just seemed small. i'd recommend an efficiency to you in the future, more spacious, huge kitchen! best to you and yours, i hope you'll decide to stay with us again. steve, mgr, desoto oceanview inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
316
Reviewed June 21, 2005

My sister and I quite accidentally hit on this lovingly cared for property on the evening before our flight back to NY. It's perfect for a much longer stay than one night. The room was spacious and clean with homey touches, the landscaping was beautiful. This a nice, quiet hideaway for singles or families.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
extraclean, manager at The Desoto Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2007

hello and thank you for your lovely review of the desoto. we try hard to make your experience enjoyable, and we hope you'll visit again soon to see all of the wonderful improvements and changes we've made over the last year. best to you and yours, steve, mgr, the desoto oceanview inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
baltimore, maryland
16
Reviewed January 1, 2005

My husband, myself, and now our children, have stayed at this charming Inn several times since finding it two years ago, we consider it a gem. The studio and efficiency apartments are impeccably maintained and clean, with all the wonderful amenities you would normally expect from a five star facility. The service is warm, friendly and efficient. Thoughtful touches such as fresh flowers, a constantly changing library and spontaneous garden parties made us feel at home. The inn is also non-smoking, great for those of us with allergies. Free bicycles, beach chairs, umbrellas and towels are kindly provided, and they also have wi-fi along with their "cyber" room. If you choose to go wireless, sit in the beautifully landscaped gardens, the center patio has the best reception. Just a few feet from the beach, close to everything, but away from it all, it makes us feel as if we were on an island getaway. The only downside that we can find is that you better make sure to call in advance, they are always booked. leona and les stacker

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
extraclean, manager at The Desoto Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2007

thank you for the great review, it's nice that our guests notice the results of our commitment to make your stay pleasant. i hope you'll find time to visit us again soo, we've made some great changes, and improved on what we thought was already super. you'll like what we've done. best to you and yours, steve, mgr, the desoto oceanview inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Louisville, KY
731
Reviewed December 29, 2004

After reviewing this inn on ----------------------, I called and made reservations for the first night, and the only night we intended to stay here. We fell in love with the place--it was spotless and cozy, with a kitchenette and all cooking amenities, lovely garden area, complete with a 60 year old parrot! It is convenient to both Lauderdale and Hollywood, nestled in a quiet area as north on North Hollywood Beach as you can go, about a half block from the ocean, away from the seedy oceanside shops, but still within walking distance of them. Bicycles (albeit rusty and old) are provided to guests, and my husband and I rode the better part of a day down to the oceanside shops and restaurants (more on restaurants on other posts) (NOTE--you can't ride on the oceanwalk during peak hours) and back up to John U Lloyd Park (a nature preserve with little used roads and a getaway beach or two at the end). The neighborhood felt safe, even at night. We ended up booking another two nights for the end of our stay because we liked it so much.

The folks at Desoto make the place--they are friendly and accommodating but not hovering. Guests are mostly middle-aged or older, and were quiet but friendly. All the guests we talked to were there for return trips, so you can see it is worth going back for more, as we intend to do.

Beach towels and chairs are available free, and parking is FREE!

Aside from the poor water pressure and sometimes disappearing hot water (no doubt due to antiquated plumbing) in the shower, this place would have deserved 5 stars in our book!

The rates are reasonable ($95 with taxes, etc. per night), peak holiday time.

10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
extraclean, manager at The Desoto Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2007

i just found your review of the desoto, thank you for your kind words. it's been awhile since you've posted a review of our inn, we hope you'll return again soon to experience much improved water pressure, and many changes since your last visit. thanks again, steve, mgr, the desoto oceanview inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017
Thank Nikolay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachnbum, Innkeeper at The Desoto Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hollywood hotels
4.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach
2.2 mi away
Margaritaville Beach Resort
1.8 mi away
Casa Pellegrino Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hollywood Beach Marriott
Hollywood Beach Marriott
#6 of 71 in Hollywood
1,565 reviews
2.0 mi away
Caribbean Resort by the Ocean
1.7 mi away
Riptide Hotel
Riptide Hotel
#10 of 71 in Hollywood
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Desoto Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Desoto Inn

Address: 315 Desoto St, Hollywood, FL 33019-4501 (Formerly The Desoto Oceanview Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Hollywood
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range: $105 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Desoto Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely seaside inn, nestled between beautiful parks, the intracoastal and the azure Atlantic. Footsteps to a very private beach. Minutes from attractions. Extremely clean, award winning studios and efficiencies. Free parking, bikes, beach chairs, umbrellas and towels. Tropical gardens with gazebos and bbq. Many amenities. Warm and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your The Desoto Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Desoto Oceanview Hotel Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing