We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Desoto Inn
Nearby Hotels
$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$221
$179
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$288
$279
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Rooms Inn - Hollywood Beach(Hollywood)(Great Value!)
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Ocean Inn(Hollywood)(Great Value!)
$133
$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$302
$231
Curio.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$160
$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$137
$123
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (223)
Filter reviews
223 results
Traveler rating
199
16
3
1
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
199
16
3
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach chairstropical birdscovered tablesterrazzo floorshollywood beachresident parrotsolar powerquarterdeck restaurantfew short stepshundred feetpeace and quietgracious hostsslice of paradiseupon departurestayed nights hereliterally stepssized refrigerator
Filter
Updating list...
119 - 124 of 223 reviews
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The studio had everything we needed and was clean, with wonderful pictures on the wall, and a shower curtain full of flip-flops, which made us feel right at home We enjoyed cooking in the kitchen; we ate in the garden at one of several tables available there. The parrot and the cockatoos (sp?) in their cage in the garden were wonderful company. The beach is 30 feet away. The hotel has its own bikes and so it's easy to take these out (free) whenever needed. The long board walk is also easily accessed from the hotel. Steve Welch, the on site manager, is friendly and welcoming. We can recommend this for individuals couples and families.

Room Tip: The smallest efficiency lacks a sitting area. We liked having the larger studio for this reason alone and the view toward the beach. Both priced reasonably.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beebeejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
extraclean, General Manager at The Desoto Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. The studio is really a nice choice for all of the extra space it offers, and for just a few dollars more, I'm glad you chose it. Thank you for your kind review, and please come back again, soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I agree with all of the glowing accolades that Steve and Josias have justifiably earned from their guests. Indeed, our amiable hosts were helpful and the rooms are comfortable and spotlessly clean. What also sets this lovely inn apart is the thoughtful landscaping. The owners display a strong environmental ethic that is refreshingly different from the typical, commercial Florida motel that butts up against the ocean and reflects rampant, uncontrolled development and an indifferent, uncaring attitude to the native environment.

The Desoto Oceanview Inn is surrounded by vegetation. The grounds are well maintained and the gardens are planted with vegetables and numerous fruit trees as well as colourful ornamental specimens. We noticed a pineapple and fig tree that were understoried by thyme, lavender and basil. There are small pools that support wildlife such as small, shy anoles that are given a safe haven from the marauding, non-native feral cats that decimate the song bird population and transmit toxoplasmosis (read the January 2013 issue of National Geographic on this endemic disease and its impact on humans).

My husband and I can't wait to return to the Desoto Inn. It is a quaint, welcoming, lovely oasis that provides hope for conservation of native flora and fauna. We were also impressed by the variety of vegetables that guests are welcome to harvest such as tomatoes and peppers.

Steve and Josias, you two are amazing! Kudos and our thanks for a wonderful, relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
extraclean, General Manager at The Desoto Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Thank you for recognizing our commitment to the environment, and especially our Florida native environment. We love the challenge of creating an environmentally-friendly garden, and we love it even more when a guest appreciates it. We are now nearly 90% native at the Oceanview, and our Ocean Spray garden is 100% native Florida. Thanks again for the beautiful review, come back soon, we'll recruit you to help in the gardens. Have a wonderful summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

So many rave reviews I guess I will give another. My first thought is to keep this a secret and have the place all to myself...myself and my wife. But it's way too late for that. Wherever you look or to whom you speak; anyone who has experienced this little gem will tell you the same things: this a quiet, tucked away, stone's throw from the beach, perfect hospitality, super clean, quiet, totally welcoming, balm of an escape. The innkeepers, Steve and Josias treated us like old friends and made our stay a breeze from the very first moment and until we departed. They gave us numerous suggestions on what to do, what to see, where to eat, and where to rent a car from a place that provided the same superb service. This is an old school (friendly) , unpretentious, little hideaway where you can unwind and escape the glitz and hustle of the so-called fancy joints. This is not an upscale hotel with white glove room service and a spa, but that is exactly what I DON'T. What they have is peace and quiet, a personal atmosphere,and quite sufficient kitchens and amenities so you can sit around in your bathing suit all day and REALLY relax. A couple of trips to the supermarket...by bicycle...and we were basically set for the week. (There are bikes for the using right on the site.) We prefer cooking so that we are not always "experimenting" with quality and service, nor do we have to be driving around too much.( Some "friends" we met at the place very generously drove us to a few places to eat.) Go to the farmer's market and to the food truck night in Hollywood!
I could go on and on....if you like it simple and quiet,this is the place.
Oh, during the summer they have yoga on the beach and health-food breakfasts!

Room Tip: Our room was close to the street, but seemed to be the sunniest and breeziest. And it was quiet.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Micycle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

My week-long stay at The Desoto was just the retreat I needed after 8 long months of working 70-hour weeks. My gal pal and I stayed in a loft-style apartment with a kitchenette. The decor was soothing and made me feel like I was a real Floridian living in a Oceanside Hideaway. The hotel is literally next to the ocean, along a quiet stretch of the beach, 2 miles away from the main boardwalk. Close but not too close to the boardwalk strip. It was so relaxing. The owner and host extraordinaire, Steve, was so hospitable. He went above and beyond to make us feel welcomed and to help us find fun things to do around Hollywood. We so enjoyed spending time with them! The vegan breakfasts are amazing!!!!! You will love vegan eats after your stay at The Desoto! The gardens were exotically beautiful and alluring. We sat in the gardens every night and soaked in their refreshing beauty. The city of Hollywood, Florida has a fun beach strip, a metropolitan downtown area, and an upscale suburban area-- the best of multi-worlds! Altogether it was a WONDERFUL trip and I would do it again!!
~Amanda (and Ashley)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Great cozy rooms with all the ameneties you will need. The breakfast daily is delicious and all organic. The hotel offers guest umbrellas and beach chairs, along with bikes you can explore the board walk in. Definitely will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rsauleda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
extraclean, Manager at The Desoto Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

With our breakfast service just getting ready to begin again for the summer season, it's great to hear our guests talking about how good the breakfasts are. My favorite is pancake Tuesdays and blueberry muffin day, although Radically Raw Fridays is also great, you know, there's simply not a bad day is there!. Come on back soon for some more great food and enjoyment at the Desoto, and thank you so much for your lovely review. Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews