We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Desoto Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Desoto Inn
Ranked #7 of 69 Hotels in Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love it here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

My boyfriend & I are staying here for the week & we love it here. I absolutely adore this place. I cannot stand resort type hotels & wanted to avoid such an experience. The Desoto is quiet, quaint, relaxing, clean, & tranquil. The gardens are beautiful. The birds in the garden are so pretty. I enjoy hearing them chirp as I'm waking up. We've taken two bike rides down to the Hollywood beach boardwalk so far with the bikes that are provided for Desoto guests at no additional cost. There's beach chairs also for guests. It was nice to see beach towels already in our room when we got here. The beach is literally steps from our room which is amazing. It's so refreshing to be on a beach that is basically private & not over crowded like at resort hotels. Our room is cute & comfortable. Nicely decorated. Glad to see a coffee maker in the kitchen! Very nice. We went grocery shopping & stored everything in our fridge so we can cook our own meals for the week. The Desoto is incredible & I highly recommend staying here. I appreciate the personal attention that you will not get at large hotels. I never want to leave!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole_lee7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
extraclean, Manager at The Desoto Inn, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay, and hope the next time you visit us, you'll be able to stay longer. I love it when the guests take the bikes out to explore the area, I just know they will come back refreshed and excitied about their discoveries. Thank you again, and hurry back, Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    12
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
41
95
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
MI
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I have contacted this hotel 2X in the last week via their reservation request on their website, and yesterday via the phone regarding availability. Their website does not indicate whether there is availability or not, so the request is all you can do. I have yet to receive an email back or a call to let me know. I have since booked elsewhere, but I am disappointed that I could not reach this property to book. I don't know if this is typical or not, but it was quite frustrating when trying to solidify vacation plans and being unable to even find out if they have availability.

I am sure their property is great--just wish I would have been able to find out for myself. :(

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NJCARES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
extraclean, Manager at The Desoto Inn, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
I am so sorry that we did not get back to NJCares regarding the possibility of staying with us at the Desoto, however, I am ecstatic that NJCares was able to find accommodations elsewhere. I am just sorry that a communications glitch earned us an overall "terrible" rating for the inn, so many people work so hard to make everything perfect for the guests. I also hope potential guests who read NJCares post will understand it was my fault (Steve, the manager) by somehow missing all those calls and e-mails, I just hope this hasn't happened to too many of our friends looking to stay with us. My apologies to NJCares and anyone else who has had this experience, we really try hard, and we are going to find out why this happened!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vevey, Switzerland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I stayed at the Desoto Oceanview Inn for one week on a business trip, and invited my wife and our 2-month old son along. The Desoto was the perfect place for us as I was busy at the Nova Oceanographic Centre located just up the road, and my wife and baby could make the most of the comfortable apartment and the beach located a mere 100 meters. Our apartment had a small lounge with an open plan kitchen, a bedroom with a comfortable double bed and a bathroom.
The owner welcomed us and was very helpful in our one week stay in the area. The garden offers a number of relaxing and comfortable shaded seating areas to relax, and there are a number of bikes for the guests. I would recommend breakfast at the nearby Grandpa's Bakery and Restaurant (2 miles). The hotel is actually separated on both sides of the small road, with rooms on the one side and apartments on the other.
I can only recommend the Desoto to anyone visiting the area! Great place, and will definitely come back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichaelScholl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We returned for the second winter week-long trip to the Desoto for this wonderful inn with our 11 year old son. This time we stayed in a 1 BR apt. in the building across the street. Again, everything about the Desoto was clean and lovely, from the charming and attentive innkeepers Steve and Josias to the garden. When the garden in front of the second building is mature, that will be really something! Each day we rolled out of bed, walked a ridiculously short distance to the beach -- at 10 am each morning we were the only ones there-- and lolled around. Our eleven year old again made pesto one night with the basil he picked in the garden and equipment from the well-stocked kitchen. I am more and more convinced that small places are the way to go -- well worth trading resort life, swimming pool, and crowds for the DeSoto's warmth, peace and beauty.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank blueberrypa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I have really enjoyed my vacation from December 21,2012 till December 27,2012. Everything was awesome , amazing and appealing in this hotel. I stayed there with my gf and we really felt as we are back home. The owner of this hotel (Steve ) is a very friendly , helpful and courteous man. The hotel is nicely located near the beach. Everything is made available to you from beach seats, umbrellas and bicycles. Internet and parking are available too with a free of charge. Overall, the hotel was trendy, roomy, and worth the price.

I recommend this hotel for everyone who would like to have a fantastic vacation in Miami. Will return back for sure in the near future. With much respect and appreciation to the owner Steve.

Room Tip: Very near to the beach. Everything is available for a free of charge once you have the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mohammad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This being my first trip to the Miami area, I was at first determined to play it safe and stay at a familiar Marriott, or Hilton, or Crowne Plaza. Then I stumbled on this place and the reviews were perfect, so I called the owner (Steve) up directly and made my reservation. This is the first time for me that a hotel has delivered everything as promised, plus more! Every square inch of the property is immaculate, and it seems every detail has been considered and perfected. I have never seen such a well-stocked hotel suite. There are towels, pillows, blankets, and dishes galore, and it is all extremely organized! The furniture is very tasteful and looks like that which you would have in your own home, so definitely not the standard-fare motel/hotel furniture. The Dania Beach area is very quiet to begin with, and this hotel is quiet all day and night. One of my favourite things about this hotel is the payment. You pay the room rate, and that's it. Steve does not fool with additional charges for internet, parking, air, etc. like almost every other hotel I looked at was charging. The beach is like ten feet away, so an extremely easy walk, and it is one beautiful stretch of beach! This place really feels like a home more than a hotel. My only regret is that I have to leave tomorrow!

Room Tip: All of the rooms appear very nice. I had the "studio" room, and it was very generous. All...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JPNev1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trieste, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We spent 4 nights in the Desoto Inns in the beginning of November. Our unit (F) has a king-size bed, a kitchenette very well equipped with everything we might need to prepare our own meals. Everything was in good conditions and very clean; the room had a reasonable price (99 USD/night).
The beach is at literally 30 seconds of walk from the place, it's not crowded at all, a beautiful place.
The garden surrounding the house is lovely and keeps the rooms hidden from the street.
There are bikes (but we did not use them), sunscreen and sunbeds available for free.
The manager Steve was very friendly with us, made us feel confortable during all our stay.
Free parking is available for guests, just out of the hotel.
The negative sides: the bedside window did not close completely - I saw these type of "swinging panels" windows elsewhere in Fort Lauderdale, so it seems they are typical there, but they do not provide noise insulation at all - the surroundings are very quite, but the hotel is at about 6 minutes from the Hollywood Intnl. Airport. Anyway, the flights stop around 11 PM and begin again around 7 AM, so it was not a huge problem. The air con was very noisy. It would have been impossible to keep it on overnight - we were lucky, that these were relatively cool nights, so we did not need it.
It took a bit to get hot water from the shower, but once flowing, it never failed.
Overall, it was a nice stay, I would definitively go again to the Desoto Inns.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BiBi493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
extraclean, Manager at The Desoto Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Desoto, we try very hard to insure your comfort. I am sorry you had difficulties with the window, I have checked it out, the crank is broken, and Bob, our handyman, is replacing it as I write this note. I am not sure what I can do about the air conditioning unit, it is a brand new PTAC unit, it seems relatively quiet to me, but, if you are a light sleeper, I am sure it certainly could be noticeable. Last, but not least, the airport noise - we are just as anxious about it as you are. For the next 18 months, there will be a little more noise with the new runway construction. The alternate North-South runway is being used frequently because of runway closures. I wish we had more control over it. Quite frankly, I wish they would just leave the airport the way it was, it was convenient, human in scale, and easy to access. Progress, I guess. Thanks again for your review, we will work harder to gain a 5 star rating the next time you visit us.
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hollywood hotels
2.0 mi away
Caribbean Resort by the Ocean
1.8 mi away
Casa Pellegrino Boutique Hotel
2.2 mi away
Margaritaville Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hollywood Beach Marriott
Hollywood Beach Marriott
#8 of 69 in Hollywood
4.0 of 5 stars 1,368 reviews
1.7 mi away
Riptide Hotel
Riptide Hotel
#5 of 69 in Hollywood
4.0 of 5 stars 625 reviews
4.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Desoto Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Desoto Inn

Property: The Desoto Inn
Address: 315 Desoto St, Hollywood, FL 33019-4501 (Formerly The Desoto Oceanview Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Hollywood
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Hollywood
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Desoto Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely seaside inn, nestled between beautiful parks, the intracoastal and the azure Atlantic. Footsteps to a very private beach. Minutes from attractions. Extremely clean, award winning studios, efficiencies and one bedroom apartments. Free parking, bikes, beach chairs, umbrellas and towels. Tropical gardens with gazebos and bbq. Many amenities. Warm and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your The Desoto Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Desoto Oceanview Hotel Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing