We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A little taste of Old Florida” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Atlantic Sands Beach Suites

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hollywood
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Atlantic Sands Beach Suites
Ranked #9 of 67 Hotels in Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Orillia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little taste of Old Florida”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Atlantic Sands Beach Suites for a two day, post-cruise stay. I have previously visited Hollywood Beach, but had stayed at a different place. I chose this property for it's location and these reviews. We were not disappointed!!

We were in a lovely unit that faced onto N.Surf Road. Nicely furnished and a really comfortable queen bed to lay our weary bones on! There were no problems with noise, traffic etc. The property is so cute and the interior courtyard is lovely. Clean, well stocked, steps from the broadwalk and the beach and very, very central.

Best of all was the attentive care from the staff and Dori, the owner. We arrived much earlier then we were scheduled to, after getting off our ship in Miami at 08:00 am. A staff member was called at home, by Dori, and she was waiting for us when we arrived at 08:30 am. and she couldn't have been more welcoming! Fresh flowers and a nice note, sitting on the coffe table, welcomed us both to the Atlantic Sands Beach Suites. Everyone was very nice and made great recommendations about where to eat and what to see.

We will be back to the Atlantic Sands for future visits, both pre and post cruise!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    42
    7
    5
    2
See reviews for
95
77
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
103 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

This property has a fabulous location - technically just a block from the beach but it's really closer than that as the street between the hotel & the Broadwalk is little more than an alley.

It's an older property and our unit had been retrofitted with two a/c units; one in the bedroom and one in the living area as well as ceiling fans in those rooms. The a/c worked so well during the day that we were often a bit cool as we sat & talked or watched TV but at night the units couldn't seem to cool down the room enough, no matter how low we set the thermostats. As we were visiting in late spring I'd think that during warmer months it would be very uncomfortable during the night if you like a cool (< 72F) room as we do. If someone is sleeping on the pull-out sofa, be aware that the outside lights are quite powerful and the living area is well-lit all night long.

There was a flat-screen TV and free wi-fi - though a boost to the wi-fi would be welcome. The best reception was in the bedroom where it wasn't terribly fast and it was very difficult to get reliable service in the living area - especially when there were three people trying to use the signal.

There was a very small but perfectly adequate kitchenette. Just don't try to have two people in there at once! :) Full-sized refrigerator and stove/oven, plenty of silverware & bowls/plates/glasses for the three of us.

The living area was very nicely sized. We had a couple of visitors and there was plenty of room for the five of us to sit and talk without sitting on top of each other.

The bathroom was small with a shower (no tub), sink & toilet. An extra shelf had been added for storage in addition to the medicine cabinet and the cabinet under the sink. Extra hooks below the shelf were a nice touch as there was only one towel rack. Soap and a hair dryer were provided but no other toiletries.

We did not have maid service over our long weekend but were able to turn our towels in at the office and clean ones were happily provided. Beach chairs and a beach umbrella was provided in the room though we were able to get an additional chair and beach towels at the office, free of charge.

Our room's location was just across the street from the businesses that face the Broadwalk (meaning we faced their rear entrances) and found that Monday mornings kick off with trash removal. While it's certainly not the hotel's "fault" a room on the other side of the complex might be quieter even if it's a few steps farther from the beach.

The rooms here are very reasonably-priced but certainly not luxurious. You're paying for proximity to the beach with a few niceties thrown in. I'd rate this property 3.5 stars.

Room Tip: If staying over a Monday or Thursday morning, a room away from the street will be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cards-Preds-Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centereach, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

We always enjoy our stay at Atlantic Sands because we are treated like part of the family. Everyone is very helpful and we have met the nicest people while staying there. We also like it because we are close to the beach and the broad walk.

Room Tip: We like the the southeast room because we can see the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank angus j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Loved my stay in this retro cute apt steps from boardwalk and beach. Wonderful personal service.Staff is so accommodating and you can walk everywhere. Very nice courtyard to relax. Location is prime for walking and biking

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GLMDesigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

My girl friend and I loved staying at the Atlantic Sands. We were looking for a place where we could get to shopping and restaurants without having to rent a car. This was perfect. We were steps from the beach and restaurants. A water taxi ride or trolley ride and we were in excellent shopping areas. Dori and her family could not have been any friendlier or more accommodating to us. We had everything we needed and the suite we had was clean and comfortable for the two of us. We hope to be back next year.

Janet and Patty

Room Tip: Suite 2 ---- we could see the ocean from the living room window
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janet h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtlanticSands, Owner at Atlantic Sands Beach Suites, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so glad that you choose to stay with us at the Atlantic Sands. It is always heartwarming to hear that guests truly enjoyed their visit. We are happy that you mentioned the trolley and water taxi as they are fun ways to get around the area. We look forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Very nice people run these small suites. the property is about 50 ft from the 'Broadwalk', so there is no ocean view but it is close to many eateries, the Bandshell and bike paths. Due to its location there is a thru street that has car traffic, truck deliveries and garbage pick-ups. The accommodations are ideal for a couple but a squeeze for 4, although there is a queen size sofa in living room. Consistent hot water was problematic for 4. The price was reasonable for the season (holiday) and the staff accommodating.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gailpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

The location is great; very close to the broadwalk, paddleball court, play park, bike rental, the beach, and several restaurants. If your are a beach bum, then this is perhaps the ideal location. The one-bed room suite was only $1025 for a week during high season, which we thought was a steal. Most units are one bedroom, ideal for small families and groups. There are beach toys, books, games, beach umbrellas, and chairs for guests to use and return at no cost. The owners are very friendly, take pride in their work, and go out of the way to satisfy the guests. The units are well maintained even though the property is old. Once inside the unit, we didn't feel that it was just a hotel suite. It felt very comfortable and safe like a home. If you can put up with a few minor inconveniences (no swimming pool, parking on the street or in a nearby public garage), you will be very pleased with the value. If we visit the Miami-Ft Lauderdale area again, no doubt, we will only be staying at this location.

Room Tip: Suites 5 thru 8 are better. Also the 2-bedroom suite is very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manekshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hollywood hotels
0.2 mi away
Margaritaville Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Caribbean Resort by the Ocean
0.2 mi away
Casa Pellegrino Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riptide Hotel
Riptide Hotel
#5 of 67 in Hollywood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hollywood Beach Marriott
Hollywood Beach Marriott
#7 of 67 in Hollywood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
0.2 mi away
Neptune Hollywood Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Sands Beach Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Sands Beach Suites

Property: Atlantic Sands Beach Suites
Address: 310 Hayes St # 318, Hollywood, FL 33019-3347
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Hollywood
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hollywood
#3 Best Value Hotel in Hollywood
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlantic Sands is a small, family-owned and operated vacation rental property located just 100 feet from Hollywood's beach and boardwalk and just a few blocks from an outdoor theater where there are free concerts five nights a week. We feature non-smoking, one-bedroom suites that have everything you will need for a short vacation or an extended stay. We have a beautiful, tropical courtyard area perfect for family gatherings. Easily accessible for both airports and cruise ports. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Atlantic Sands Beach Hotel Hollywood
Atlantic Sands Beach Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing