We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“I will go back again!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taverna Opa

Taverna Opa
Reserve with OpenTable
Taverna Opa is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 574 Restaurants in Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Arizona Street
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
113 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“I will go back again!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

I went with a friend for an early dinner, we were the first ones and they had no problem with the time. We tried the OPA Hot Pikilia Sampler 19, Saganaki 8, no doubt........some hummus 4. They have ballet parking. Last but not least we sat at the terrace, watching the beautiful sunset at the side of the ocean. Not a fancy place but you will definitely enjoy the place and food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SibeA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    164
    81
    40
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plantation, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food but not enough”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Over the last week me, my wife and another couple double dated there. To start off we sat outside and the atmosphere was great. This place has a nice menu of things to choose from. I ordered the smelts for a appetizer which I would not recommend,they were deep fried with no seasoning the just bring out lemon. Now here comes the lamb roast "Delicious" was cooked perfect. The mixed veggies were not my favorite but it was okay and the lemon potatoes are very good. Every one said the same as the side came the same for everyone the only difference was everyone else had the skirt steak and they said it was one of the best steaks they ever had. The service was okay I had to ask for a refill, but it is worth going back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 1986yolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Food and service good. Atmosphere okay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Food good - The hummus was different and unique and tried the zucchini chips with tzatziki sauce. Chips were good, sauce ok. Service was prompt, but the really loud 'club' music on a Sunday night for dinner was a bit odd. Also, there were napkins covering almost the entire floor. Not sure why.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JoiFromTroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
expatwannabe67
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Ended up getting a pizza after dinner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Overpriced, loud, fish was greasy and overcooked, side dish of overcooked beans was stone cold, octopus rubbery and sparse. One of those places you kick yourself for just not leaving when you sat down and get that vibe "this dinner is going to suck and I'm going to pay through the nose for it"

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank expatwannabe67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, New York
Level Contributor
247 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Prepare for a crazy night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

show dancing music all while eating your meal. watch the free flow liqour that they serve while you dance on the table, it adds up quick on the bill. Lam chops are very good. Place is fun and loud, greek food at it's best

Helpful?
Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Opa also viewed

 
Hollywood, Broward County
Hollywood, Broward County
 

Been to Taverna Opa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing