We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A Great Beer Selection on Tap” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Tipsy Boar

The Tipsy Boar
Ranked #19 of 567 Restaurants in Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
138 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A Great Beer Selection on Tap”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

If I have a favorite kind of restaurant it would be a gastropub with 30 beers on tap. Bingo. I ordered the French Onion Burger that married the flavors of ground beef with french onion soup. It hit the spot although the meat wasn't terribly seasoned. I think they were going for a subtle French Onion flavor and they didn't want to overpower it. I also ordered a Jai Alai IPA and a Spaten Lager and enjoyed both.

The atmosphere is hip and the place was doing brisk business at 8pm on a Monday night.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ChanceMan00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    41
    17
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ft Lauderdale
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beer Pairing Night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Beer Pairing? Who knew!!! We recently attended the Tipsy Boar and CIgar City first Beer Pairing Event!! AMAZING!!!! I've been to wine pairings and have always been amazed how something could affect the taste of food. Beer is no exception.
This was a 6 course meal, paired with various ales and IPAs. From the first course of prosciutto and pickled cow tongue crostini to the porter braised osso buco on a bed of portobello risotto everything was delicious. Each beer complimented each course. The beers did get heavier as the meal progressed. The dessert was a carmel glazed bread pudding with an apple crumble. The bread pudding I could have done without, very bland. It was paired with a home made apple cider with warm vanilla notes.
Throughout the meal servers would come by and explain what we were tasting. Very informative. Service was prompt and courteous!
We were told these would turn into monthly events. Sign me up!!!
Only down side was having to get up the next morning. Hard to do on a weeknight as the event ended at 9:30.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank brymister1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ladies night function with Woman's Club of Hollywood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Although it was crowded, the service was very good. Good is always good here as well. Would recommend if you like sports, and a very wide ariety of international beers. Reasonsbla Happy Hour pricing and bar bites.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Smidgie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere, food, and beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Found this place by accident and thoroughly enjoyed the visit. Beer selection is pretty good and I enjoyed a few different craft beers. I ordered the steak which was ok. Too much sauce / gravy for my liking which meant you really didn't taste the steak. The bacon wrapped dates were amazing. As you start eating it, the flavors will be unexpected and interesting. As you finish, your taste buds are begging for more. It really was a great explosion of flavors. Atmosphere was great as the place was packed. There were plenty of TVs showing different sports, so that was great. Service was decent.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Katen007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast N Ireland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great fun restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Visited Tipsy Boar with family from Hollywood.
What a fun place - great food, so many beers to choose and the Heat won to go 3-1 up in the
play offs!
Thank you Louisa and Jose for looking after us so well.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JPL93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tipsy Boar also viewed

 
Hollywood, Broward County
Hollywood, Broward County
 

Been to The Tipsy Boar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing