We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good accomodations, helpful staff and just a lot of fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rooftop Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rooftop Resort
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good accomodations, helpful staff and just a lot of fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We were there for the weekend after Thanksgiving, it was a little slow and we had rain both Saturday and Sunday. But that didn't stop the fun and the parties, everything moved indoors under the awning. The staff was especially nice and helpful. It's an older hotel and the accommodations are basic, but adequate, the water was hot and the place was clean. We will definitely go again.

Room Tip: Parties on weekends go on until 1-2am, plan to stay up late and enjoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mdwpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    25
    14
    3
    14
See reviews for
1
46
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh NC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I travel on business often, frugally when able, so while I consider price first, location and amenities usually can be equally as important. If the lodging is near my intended purpose, I can save on gas or even a rental by catching a cab; if there is a gym (with minimally dumbbells for strength training) and a heated pool, entertainment is free; and if the is a refrigerator in the room, I can save on eats. So on my recent trip to Miami, where I also had business in Pompano Beach, Hollywood seemed to be the right midway locale.

Searching, I came upon arguably the best choice for my criteria: economical with fridge, microwave, stove and heated saltwater poolThe hotel was the Rooftop Resort, advertised as "nudist" catering to "swingers. Definitely not a swinger and Catholic-Shy of public nudity (although I had the opportunity to feel uncomfortable with my wife at Black's Beach in San Diego), I admit trepidation when I made the reservation (by phone - their website is lacking) but figured it a YOLO experience and with the price/location, reasoned that I would not actually be at the hotel long enough to feel too uneasy.

I arrived Sunday afternoon and check-in was pleasant and uneventful. Robert (?) was efficient, affable, helpful, explained their policies (nudity not required; key to outer door provided for re entry after 6pm after the office closed; free breakfast, wireless, etc.) and apparently, either he or someone else had upgraded my room. It was a corner on the fifth floor (#535) and while a bit dated (think Dexter's apartment) was perfect and well-appointed.

After I unpacked, I assessed my surroundings. Unless you are into it, on first passing, the second floor looked ominous. Red and black decor, dancer pole, a room with swings (not the kiddie type lol) and another with a big round bed (not for sleeping) and "observation" seating. The 6 story hotel is set-up where it is open - no roof - from the 2nd to the roof where is the pool and sunning. Save for the conspicuous picture windows with drapes drawn on all floors and the second floor in its entirety, the hotel was "normal."

So vowing to stay away from the 2nd floor, I unpacked and went up to the pool in my Speedo. Wow - was I over dressed! Being a Sunday where they offer free BBQ and day passes, it was busy with people of all shapes, sizes, ages and colors. Beautiful people they were not - as neither am I. I admit that I felt self-conscious on disrobing but would have felt worse had I not and after seeing everyone else in their glory, fit in with the top 10%. Obesity is endemic throughout the US but these people did not care. I had often commented to my wife on observation that larger people probably should not wear stretch pants. This confirmed my assertion. However, they were comfortable in their skin so judging would be inappropriate.

I picked the lounger farthest from the crowd which was ripped (they need to replace these) and was able to clandestinely observe through my Ray-Bans the goings on. Essentially, this was in no way a bacchanalian feast but simply a bunch of locals that were mainly normal people that wanted to sunbathe nude. While some were clearly and simply nudists, which in retrospect now with experience, was actually okay - it just seemed the right thing to do at the time - there were some who strutted like they were all of that: a few women in (uncommonly gold colored) uncomfortable stilettos and a few guys with manscaping that should just be outlawed. In general though, overweight older people - average age of sixty (? - I am guessing). The newcomers were those with the tan lines.

So I laid out for a few hours, ate some BBQ (burgers were good), swam a bit a struck up conversations in the pool with people that were just in general friendly - not sleazy, obnoxious or for the most part, self-centered. It was not uncomfortable.

After the pool, I had dinner with a business associate and when I returned, the hotel for the most part was empty. The was some mulling about on the 2nd floor that I could observe from my room but nothing of note - no swinging, innocuous sex or activity for that matter. I drew my curtains (as apparently did anyone else that was staying there) and went to bed.

Up at 6, swim in an empty pool, free breakfast (simple:breads, cheese, cereal, fruit, milk, Juice, coffee) and then meetings all day, I returned at 8pm to an empty hotel - literally. There was only one couple staying the night that I spied but they left the following morning - leaving me as the only guest in the hotel. Really.

So if you can get past the idea of a nude pool area (you could just not swim), for the price, locale, amenities and service, while not a 5-star, comparable and with the wireless and printers, definitely business friendly.

It's definitely not for families (I believe 21 is the age limit) or the feint at heart but I will certainly include this on the short list whenever in the area.

A few final thoughts: stay away from Joe's Tiki Bar across the street (I do not understand how you can screw up sashimi) but Pachamamma Peruvian is right around the corner and whatever you do, Think sunscreen. There are just some areas of your body that should not be exposed to direct sunlight - ouch!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank PaulBRaleighNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonia, New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This is a place that offers nude roof top sun bathing. It has a pool. It is a BYOB, thatched umbrellas, and on weekends, offer specials on rooms and also have a BBQ on sunday afternoons. Disappointments: lounge chairs definitely need to be replaced, they are ripped or frames are bent. Patio is riddled with cigarette buts obviously from the night before. Tip: The WINGS store, a block down, sells alcohol. You cannot park at the hotel lot if you are only getting a day pass, so you have to look for parking. All in all, we had a good time. Just enjoy the freedom of being nude in the sun!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Kathleen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

With mix reviews I didn’t know what to expect from this resort and granted I live in South Florida I wanted a getaway and this place is just what I needed. I arrived and purchased a day pass, on Saturday in the afternoon. After one afternoon I knew this is a place I would not have mind spending a few days. I walked in to Robert working the front desk; he was extremely knowledgeable, very helpful, and very nice and made me feel ok that unfortunately I had to travel alone. I was instructed where the locker room was, even offered a lock which I had my own, and proceeded to the 2 floor. Everything was clean and empty as everyone was on the pool desk taking in the sunny day. I not sure what the negative reviews are about, I had a decent time, wish it didn’t start raining but I know that I would love to go back, tour the rooms and really enjoy time well spent. I would DEFINITLY and HIGHLY RECOMMEND Rooftop Resort to anyone looking for a GREAT escape any time of the year.

Room Tip: Bring sunblock Bring an open mind Bring a positive attitude Have Fun
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank MrNiceGuy305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon Park, Florida, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

On the fourth of July this year, my wife and I and two friends, all celebrating our anniversaries,stayed 4 days at the Rooftop Resort. The location is great, the room was adequate, the playrooms were fun. The cleanliness was disappointing. My wife spent every morning cleaning the pool area to the point other guests thought she was staff.
The DJ was disappointing as well,the dance floor remained empty despite a full house of guests. I am stunned he never got a clue. We rented one of the cabanas on the pool deck for the day at a cost of $25.00. We were told it was ours all day and night. We left for supper and returned to find our clothes on the pool deck and our sheets soiled, and a used condom left behind as well.
The single guys there were like cockroaches, as soon as someone started petting or touching their spouse there they were ,stroking themselves and even touching the women. They were way too much in our personal space. We had to be verbally aggressive a few times to get them to back off. On a final note, some modern porn should be available.
This hotel has great potential,but unless it is utilized by better management and staff, I fear a short future here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
21 Thank Chet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebring, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We had read prior reviews and therefore we were not expecting a 5 star resort. The rooms are older but overall pretty average for an older resort. The room staff were fairly good with providing towels and such for our needs. I must say the worst thing is the sever lack of cleanliness in the public areas! Each morning after the staff had already "so called" cleaned up from the night before I would go around with a broom and dustpan and sweep up "used" condoms. After the second day other guest thought I was staff and would point out other areas that need attention and request I clean them up. The staff was totally aware of this they even commented to me and asked where I found the broom and he was the manager! The lack of everyday cleanliness is what will be their downfall if something is not corrected with the staff. And the staff really needs to clean the swings and other such items each and every day! This is not done at all!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Nuggetcog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brevard, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Me and the wifey stopped here for the evening party after the front desk clerk allowed us to walk through the night before and I will say that it was because it was a very slow night. It looked just like the pictures we saw. We came back for Saturday night and this place was a lot livelier with an active crowd that for the most part was respectful of our wishes to watch but not really interested in everything and this place gave us a good experience. We thought it was worth the $40 evening pass and the dj was good with naked dancing and some not so nice people along with some smoking hot people. Reality at its best. We will be back.

Room Tip: the rooms all have a massive front window for all you exhibitionists and voyeurs. Have fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hollywood hotels
0.1 mi away
Margaritaville Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Caribbean Resort by the Ocean
0.5 mi away
Hollywood Beach Marriott
Hollywood Beach Marriott
#8 of 69 in Hollywood
4.0 of 5 stars 1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa Pellegrino Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sheldon
Hotel Sheldon
#28 of 69 in Hollywood
3.5 of 5 stars 148 reviews
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rooftop Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rooftop Resort

Property: Rooftop Resort
Address: 1215 N Ocean Dr, Hollywood, FL 33019-3310
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rooftop Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adult only clothing optional Hotel featuring a heated rooftop pool, free wifi, premium tv channels, weekend nightclub, recent renovation of several rooms and common areas 1 block from Hollywood Beach and Boardwalk.15 Minute drive from Ft Lauderdale International Airport and Port Everglades. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Rooftop Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing