We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bathroom toilet overflowing from second story.”
Review of Rooftop Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rooftop Resort
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bathroom toilet overflowing from second story.”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on 2/8/13. On the morning of 2/9/13 a leak from upstairs was pouring water in the bathroom. We tried contacting management about the leak and left a message on their voicemail. We could not exit the bathroom without getting the water on us. (Presumably an overflowing toilet). We left and later found they had charge us a $75 damage fee for sheets soiled with blood. This was not possible. If there were any damages it would have been due to the leaking ceiling. There is evidence of patch work to the ceiling from previous water leakage.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    31
    14
    5
    15
See reviews for
2
55
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

The people we have met are respectful and very decent people biggest issue with it is this is not a 20 year old nightclub lot of people in their forties in up play music people can dance to keep the party going remix is not the answer the new bartender Jill is a breath of fresh air she keeps the party going during the slow times of the week on the other hand the other bartenders were very nice but Roller eyes when asked to get you a drink like you're putting them out of there way even with tips seems as though they'd rather be somewhere else many improvements to the building that is very nice not saying not to come but just be ready it just need some more tweaking

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jubelpatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

The Rooftop tries, but it is an older place, fairly clean, but... threadbare is a good way to describe that. Having said that, we didn't go there for the accomodations and I doubt you will either. Here's the #1 downside we've seen - and we've been there three times since 2008. Not only do they rent rooms to whoever, but they also let people in on day passes. No problem in and of itself, but we've never seen a woman come solo, we've seen perhaps 25 men come solo across all three visits. Some of them seemed to be phenomenally creepy, on the prowl, walking room (window) to room to see what they can see from the top floor to the bottom and then back up again. Very creepy. To put it mildly, it took much of the fun out of it.

Room Tip: Go someplace else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank boat-n-sun-lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Spent a number of days here recently and found it overall a satisfactory experience. Despite the negative claims of some previous reviews, we did not see one cockroach and there were only a few single men lurking around that kept to themselves. The property is old, but there have been renovations that bring it to an average status by today's standards - rooms about the same quality as Hedo. The rooftop pool is a great feature, and the location is within 1 block of a great beach and 5 miles of the clothing optional Haulover Beach. The service is ok and the breakfast is no more than advertised. There was a variety of clientle in race, age, and eco-status. The Friday & Saturday night parties were sub-par by lifestyle standards with low attendance and poor food options. Although the DJ was great with the tunes, there was little in the form of emcee or hosting provided to facilitate the mingling desired at these parties. With other options available in the area that offer a much better ambiance and more excitement, these parties do not serve as an attraction to booking a stay here. I admire the owner and management for attempting to develop a lifestlyles "resort", but without investing in a "Hedo-like" recipe of entertainment, meal, and alcohol, I'm afraid they will be unable to compete well enough to succeed long-term.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank slw95756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
117 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

If you are open minded for adult fun and relaxing this is the place. This is a swinger resort hotel but we went there to have an adults only vacation. They have a clothing option pool area on the roof. If nudity and open sex offends you this is not your place. This is a 60 year old hotel that has been remodeled so it only about a 3.5 star resort but people come because its unique. We don't swing but had one of the most romantic times without our kids. The place will help you get your romantic side on. Its has theme rooms to choose from with daily breakfast bar. There are plenty of places to eat and drink in walking distance. They have a B.Y.O.B. bar and pool area with places to buy beer and liquor in walking distance. Some rooms have refrigerators and stove for those who don't want to go out to eat. The staff was great so get to know them. I will give you there names so you can know them when you get there.
Anna(Maid)--Very helpful thru out of trip. Tip her well and she will get you what you need to relax and have fun. Her husband works on days she doesn't so they are always around during the day.
Angela(maid and massage person)---She gives great massages and is very friendly.
Kelly(front desk person)--She will help you with booking your trip and info about the hotel.
Brian(Hotel Manager)--He there most everyday during the day if you have any problems with your stay. Very easy to deal with if your calm and reasonable.
Bob(Handyman)--If you have a problem with your sink to toilet, he can fix it. He also know the area hot spots for foods and drink specials(happy hours). He was a great help on deciding when and where to eat and drink.
Dave(Janitor)--Very friendly and keeps the place clean everyday.
Cindy(Bartender)--Tip her well and she will serve you first. Very friendly to talk to.

The staff is like family. They work well together and will treat you like family. Tell them to say Hi from Tim and Kim. Have a great vacation and relax.

Room Tip: Get a theme room and have fun with the person you love.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank WisconsinGorilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

What a DUMP! We checked into this hotel Friday after paying the deposit at time of reservation. To check in we had to pre pay for the second night. Then we went to the room. OMG! I have been in lots of bad hotels after 30 years of working on the road, but this was the worst. Dirty, moldy, door falling off, broken lock, no bed spread just a blanket, holes in the wall, broken and ripped furniture, and dirty (after play) towels lying around in the play place. Then we went to the roof pool and all that were there were single guys. (No, we are not fresh meet, thank you). We went and got our bags as fast as we could. The person who five minutes ago charged us for the second would not return the payment for the second night after saying we do not want to stay here. We understand the deposit not being refunded but the second night could have been. She said no way. You can call the owner but he is out on medical leave. Another couple walked in on a day pass and left before we did. This place is gross and disgusting. Go stay somewhere else and if you dare to stay don’t pay till you go see the place. We are used to the lifestyle but we don’t want to stick to the floor, bed, walls and seats!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooksville Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We have stayed here several times. It is certainly not the Hilton, but it is a nice place and we enjoyed ourselves. Just a short walk to the boardwalk and some good food. They were/are remodeling the rooms, but each time we stayed we had a very nice room. It was clean and comfortable. They have (or at least did the last time we were there) a continental breakfast now. The pool is very nice and we feel the only thing missing is a hot tub. The night time atmosphere is good. The Single guys we met were all polite, kept to themselves except an occasional "walk by" to see if there was interest. Any we have talked to were very quick to go on about their interest if we said no thanks. Be certain that if you don't draw your curtains, folks will walk by and look in! We enjoy it and recommend it to anyone who is in the lifestyle. It is all about what you make of the place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank DC60BShift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hollywood hotels
0.1 mi away
Margaritaville Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Caribbean Resort by the Ocean
0.5 mi away
Hollywood Beach Marriott
Hollywood Beach Marriott
#6 of 69 in Hollywood
1,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa Pellegrino Boutique Hotel
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sheldon
Hotel Sheldon
#22 of 69 in Hollywood
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rooftop Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rooftop Resort

Property: Rooftop Resort
Address: 1215 N Ocean Dr, Hollywood, FL 33019-3310
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rooftop Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adult only clothing optional Hotel featuring a heated rooftop pool, free wifi, premium tv channels, weekend nightclub, recent renovation of several rooms and common areas 1 block from Hollywood Beach and Boardwalk.15 Minute drive from Ft Lauderdale International Airport and Port Everglades. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Rooftop Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing