We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A dump” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Diane Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Diane Motel
Ranked #48 of 67 Hotels in Hollywood
Tellico Plains, Tennessee
Level Contributor
186 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“A dump”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2007

This place is evidence of terrible hotel laws in Florida. Not only a dump but the owners are thieves. They will lie and cheat you at every opportunity.
Cancelled charges with AMEX.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    13
    15
    12
    19
See reviews for
23
18
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2007

OMG, when I arrived I was in shock with the oldness of the place. Everything that could have gone wrong went wrong.
1- The place is old, nasty
2-The bath tub is painted so when you bathe the old paint is peeling off gets stuck to you
3-The shower only worked on the bottom, so you could not take a shower only a bath
4-The Coffee pot was cracked
Then we had the additional misfortune to have the room next to some Italian that complained about us all weekend long.

AND last but not least the prices are outrageous with all their hidden cost the room came out to 200 a night. They charge you additionally for parking
For phone, even if you do not use it
Maintenance
It was horrible!!!!!!!! Look for another place to say!!!!!

  • Liked — The Beach
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank bgomez4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hollywood hotels

Appleton,WI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2006

I have to say that my family loves the Diane. We stay there every year at least once or twice to escape the brutal Wisconsin winter. The rooms are not five star, but neither are the prices. I found the rooms to be dated but clean. The kitchen area is also a bonus. We go to the local grocery store, get our food and don't need to spend alot of money eating out. The location is the best!! Right on the walk way near all the shops, eating places and of course the beach. Sitting out on the porch area with a cool drink in the sun... The greatestt!!! We are planning another trip to Florida for next month and I'm sure we will stay at the Diane.

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank WI...BRRRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2006

Since the owner died and the wife took over duties, she's running the Diane into the ground. Over charging for everything. Hidden costs and when you arrive they let you know they raises the rate over $40 a night. It used to be a great affordable place with a great view of the ocean. The wife is going to be the demise of this once great motel. The best thing about the place is their great housekeeping staff. If it weren't for Connie, the place would look much worse for wear. She does a great job with customers and works well with what she's given. Stop the price rape and people will return.

  • Liked — view, and great housekeeper
  • Disliked — Prices changed, roaches, hidden costs
  • Tips/Secrets — make sure to get exactly what you're paying for, and go over your check-out bill
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lovethebeach555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2006

It's a hole......but a hole on the beach is all I was looking for. As long as they keep the rates reasonable it should do O.K. However, they have been getting a little greedy lately and that won't fill thier rooms. Temper your expectations and enjoy the beach is my advice.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing to like least
  • Tips/Secrets — keep expectations low as they should thier price
  • Stayed September 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank skyflounder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
109 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 573 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2005

The Diane is NOT NEAR ANY 4 or 5 stars. The first poster was almost correct with the one star rating. (I'll do two...)

The positives......its on the beach, its next to Nicks (I think Nicks thinks thats unfortunate), its on the boardwalk, you get a parking spot, east walk to the free bandstand shows, the rooms are easily found at below $100....usually below $80.....and the catwalk entrance ways look safe and secure.

The culture: many sit out on the cat walks facing the B'Walk yelling at the passerbys they might know or not know. Sometimes the beer spills over onto the grass (I mean weedy area) between the low seawall fence and the concrete walkways leading to the first level rooms. Many leave the doors open to their rooms so they can hear THEIR music...might not like the music next door.

Its a room (or small apt) with a bed, a TV, and A/C. It's possibilities are great. We left after the first night. Spend a little more & try the Tide/Broganvilla/Sea Downs complex, the Sands T/S, the Greenbrier, even the Enchanted Isle-Hollywood Beach Tower Timeshares are a step up, IMO.

Of course...if all you need is a room...and are a heavy sleeper...go for it.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank KenK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2005

I have to uphold the diane. I first went there in 1998 with my fiance at the time. He had been going there every year for the past 15 years. We went the next two years on vacation. Then we got married 11/30/2000.. and immediately went to the diane from where we had moved to Lake Placid, Fl. on our honeymoon. And then on our first anniversary went back to the diane........If I knew i could afford it I would live at the diane year around......... Whoever said they were dissatisfied must not have been happy in their everyday life........The Diane is heaven on earth.......

  • Stayed November 2000
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hollywood hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sheldon
Hotel Sheldon
#23 of 67 in Hollywood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caribbean Resort by the Ocean
0.2 mi away
St Maurice Beach Inn
St Maurice Beach Inn
#17 of 67 in Hollywood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Coral House Hotel
Coral House Hotel
#31 of 67 in Hollywood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.3 mi away
Neptune Hollywood Beach Hotel
0.4 mi away
Riptide Hotel
Riptide Hotel
#5 of 67 in Hollywood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Diane Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Diane Motel

Property: The Diane Motel
Address: 1300 N Broadwalk, Hollywood, FL 33019-3333
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Hollywood
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 67 Hotels in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Diane Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small family owned motel on the broadwalk of Hollywood Beach just steps from the blue waters of the Atlantic Ocean. Walking distance and easy access to all shops, restaurants and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your The Diane Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diane`s Hotel Hollywood
Dianes Hotel Hollywood
Dianes Motel Hollywood
Diane Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing