We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A Real Disappointment” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Spray Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Silver Spray Motel
Ranked #24 of 69 Hotels in Hollywood
Greer, South Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Real Disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Let me start by saying that I had fairly limited expectations. We had to fly into FLL on the Saturday Morning after Thanksgiving, but since we are big College Football fans, and that is a huge College Football day, we just wanted a place near the beach, where we could spend the day and evening watching college football. We weren't picking up our rental car to drive to the Keys until the next morning, so we took a cab to the hotel.

We arrived about Noon, and our room was ready. The room was considerably less than I expected but we dropped our stuff and turned on the TV - it appeared to be satelite, but we couldn't get any channels to come in. Back down to the desk, the guy said that someone checking out mentioned there was some kind of problem and he would call the cable company. In the lobby he had something from Netflix playing. This should have been a hint.

We told him that we really wanted to watch football and we'd go get some lunch and come back. We returned a couple of hours later and he said that the cable company wouldn't be out until Monday. I had prepaid through Hotels.com, so I requested my money back. He said I would have to talk to "Her" on Monday and gave me a phone number to call.

We gathered up our stuff and started walking, to find another hotel. Fortunately, we found Grenier's on the Beach, right next door closer to the beach. It was a much nicer room, had a good sized TV with cable and was pretty much everything we wanted for roughly the same price.

On Monday, I started calling the number I had been given. I left several messages, but never got any response. I finally called Hotels.com and they gave me my money back. Not how I wanted to spend time on my vacation!

All in all, a very unsatisfactory experience!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JTfromSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    19
    11
    5
    5
See reviews for
23
22
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, Alabama
Level Contributor
80 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Room dirty. Tv would not work could not change channels or turn off. 2d day they changed dish remote and it would work. Office only manned between 10 am and maybe 3.. Leisure chair in room badly stained and torn. I had a 2 day res..no room check to dump garbage, change out towels..NOTHING. Only a 1/2 block from Hollywood beach boardwalk but that was the only positive. Overpriced for such poor service and quality.

Room Tip: Somewhere else. Plenty of rooms for same rate or even less..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HappyTravelerRoatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Not sure why anyone would give this hotel a bad rating because we had a very nice time....Room was clean and comfortable. Steps away from the beach and boardwalk....all hotels in this area are like the Silver Spray...unless you want to pay $300-$400 a night at a high rise which puts you away from the quaintness of the Boardwalk. We will stay here again anytime!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank feldhausenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

The Silver Spray Motel is a great place to stay for a beach vacation. Free and ample parking is a nice perk and being one block to the beach makes for a carefree experience. If you want frills and the higher expense of other local full service hotels-then go elsewhere. This facility delivers a reasonable experience at a value price. Special thanks to the housekeeper Jenny! And free WIFI and shuffleboard too! We will come back.

Room Tip: Various sized rooms with a variety of set ups.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElForch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This is a bare bones Mom & Pop hotel. It was very clean and Romina could not be nicer. Very no frills. If you are looking for granite counters and new fixtures, this is not the place. If you are looking for a clean place to sleep within walking distance to the beach, this is your place!! The walls are very thin but this is common with older places. They also allow dogs, which is hard to find on Hollywood Beach. They had a very nice courtyard, close to everything, clean. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: I stayed in room #4, which was a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GoldensForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evans City, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Good location to a lot of places. The beach was really close. We went to Gulf Stream race track which was excellent ! The room was small but very clean. The beds were okay for a couple of nites. Paper thin walls. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schuffay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
western New York state
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I can't even give this place a single circle. Picture motels featured in seedy film noir movies and you have an idea of this place. Rusty sink, grit and sand on the floor, holes in the sheets, dangerous wire sticking through the wall heater in the bathroom. Two double beds, one of which sounded as though it was stuffed with straw or cellophane bags. Inflexible, impolite staff (office doesn't open until 10am, closes at 8pm) and no way to cancel our second night. We booked it at $100 through Priceline (also, never again) but found the posted rate for the room was $85. We were lucky they took $100 for it (please read with dripping sarcasm). I suppose if you were looking for a cheap room close to the beach and had no qualms about insects (we did not see any) or gritty floors, this could be a lifesaver. Personally, it wasn't what was represented. The only saving grace was that it smelled of bleach and appeared to be clean. Otherwise, ugh.

Room Tip: Find another place to stay. Prices are high in this area and all we wanted was a room for one night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chimba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hollywood hotels
0.5 mi away
St Maurice Inn
St Maurice Inn
#20 of 69 in Hollywood
4.0 of 5 stars 106 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caribbean Resort by the Ocean
0.1 mi away
Hollywood Beach Hotels
Hollywood Beach Hotels
#25 of 69 in Hollywood
3.5 of 5 stars 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ocean Inn
Ocean Inn
#21 of 69 in Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 485 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sheldon
Hotel Sheldon
#26 of 69 in Hollywood
3.5 of 5 stars 151 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riptide Hotel
Riptide Hotel
#5 of 69 in Hollywood
4.0 of 5 stars 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Spray Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Spray Motel

Property: Silver Spray Motel
Address: 2115 N Ocean Dr, Hollywood, FL 33019-3504
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Hollywood
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 69 Hotels in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Silver Spray Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Silver Spray Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Spray Hotel Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing