We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Worst Hotel! Managers are horrible!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sheldon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Sheldon
Ranked #26 of 69 Hotels in Hollywood
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worst Hotel! Managers are horrible!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

This hotel was my worst nightmare! The rooms are nasty/not clean! Hair in the bed,hair in the bathroom, bugs under the bed, trash left in the rooms! When we asked why all that stuff was left there. Their response was, "you guys did it". How immature of them, this hotel is a wreck! The ceilings look as if you are in prison! The hallways have multiple different surfaces/very dirty! Walls are paper thin! Lastly, the front desk workers are nice and all and believe you...but there is a Latino manager that blames everything on you and refuses to help! So if you book this hotel, be prepared to sleep in the room...no matter what condition it is in! They will charge you if you ask to leave! Also, huge fee if you have more that two people! Beware!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kkoenig516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    52
    37
    13
    13
See reviews for
36
70
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Livonia, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Sheldon for 4 nights. We stayed in one of the Oceanfront rooms with a balcony, I would highly recommend one of these 2 rooms if available. The hotel is basic, clean, at the location on the boardwalk was great. And we found the staff to be friendly and accomadating. We found a few restaurants nearby that where great, the trolley pickup and drop off stop is right next door, there is a stage on the beach next door as well with concerts every night. There is also a Broward County bike rental station next door which we took advantage of a few times during our stay.
The walls are thin. We did have an issue with noise a couple of the nights, the room across the hall form us was hosting a party, there had to have been at least 20 people. We did call the front desk around 11pm and the noise almost immediately stopped.
There elevator didn't work a couple of the evenings we where there. It wasn't a big deal for us but if there was a handicapped person in your party it would be an issue.
We enjoyed our stay, I would recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Oceanfront with balcony. It's worth the little extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freckledmammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruskin, Florida
Level Contributor
87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

If you stay here, you have to ask for the renovated rooms. They are not the best in the city, but the best if you must stay right on the beach. Comfy, good AC and large shower. All in all , I will return here again.

Room Tip: You must ask for the renovated rooms, or you will be sorry. That place is a work in progress but com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank astayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Location of this resort is perfect..directly on the broad walk and steps from tons of restaurants and bars. You do get what you pay for though, and for such little money directly on the beach, you are paying for location but not necessarily the best room. Our room was not facing the ocean, so very inexpensive, but did feel like you were staying in a penitentiary for the night. Dark, small and felt a little dirty. Location was so good you could overlook a lot, but if you are staying in Hollywood for more than a night or two, it might be better to spend a little more for some added comfort and amenities.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kerjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom Pa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Sheldon on March 26-April1, 2013. It is a older hotel, but it was so clean. There is some remodeling going on. Brenda at the front desk (and it is a desk in the front) was fantastic. Nothing fancy, but very clean. Broadwalk is right outside hotel doors and there are so many neat restaurants right there. The beach is right outside the doors also. Beach was very nice, hotel has towels and beach chairs for guest to use. The only draw back is there was no pool. So if you want a clean, non fancy hotel, this is it. I would go back again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jayandpatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I am an advid Trip Advisor user. At times when I accompany my husband on a business trip, I try to find a reasonable property with a location that provides me with things to busy myself while he is working. While researching hotels in the Hollywood, FL area, I came across the Hotel Sheldon. The reviews were mostly good, however, there were a few that worried me a bit. However, the location and value are what intrigued me the most.
Located directly on the infamous Hollywood boardwalk/beach I thought this would be perfect for me to enjoy.
Let me just say that the hotel, while still under some renovation is a wonderful up and coming property. At the last minute, after re-reading the reviews, I decided to upgrade our room for $ 20 more a night to an oceanfront room. The desk clerk mentioned that it was not a renovated room, but that the view was worth it.
To our surprise, upon arrival, we were given an upgraded corner room (#238). It was immaculately clean and almost brand new. Furnishings, floors and linens were modern, spacious, with a walk-in closet to boot. Although when we arrived it was very late, we could tell that the view would be fantastic in the morning.
And that it was. Most spectacular. In fact, you could see the aqua blue ocean right from sitting on the king bed.
The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet. Although there was airconditioning ,the windows opened to the ocean breezes.
The room was cleaned each day and towels replaced.
As far as the amendities, although few, they were plently enough for a stay at the beach. The hotel provides new beach chairs (they don't recline), umbrella, and towels for their guests.
But you could rent a lounge chair at the beach for $8 a day, $5 more for a cushion. In my opinion, it is well worth it. There is fresh coffee in the lobby all day and a coffee maker, microwave, and new refrigerator in the in the room as well. Free Wi Fi and parking are also provided.
The staff is pleasant and accommodating.
The location is also perfect for walking the beautifully kept boardwalk with reasonable restaurants, shops, all nearby. As well, there is much to see either left or right out the hotel back door along the 3 mile plus walk.
I was unsure whether Hollywood would provide me with enough to do for 4 days, but was pleasantly surprised that there was enough and more. The Hollywood beaches are clean and scenic, lined with palm trees and enhanced by aqua blue waters in the background.
My husband and I will absolutely go back to the Hotel Sheldon, but will request an Oceanfront room.
Check out Le Marche, a brand new bistro left on boardwalk from hotel. Its
a bit of a distance down but well-worth the stroll. Great atmosphere, food, and live entertainment with incredible views of the ocean.
Also there is live entertainment at Nick's Bar and Grill. Fun, lively place just a short walk from hotel.

Room Tip: Request Oceanfront renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pmv16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

It's on the Broadwalk, if that's what you need. Free parking, beach chairs, & beach towels. Room was spacious. Bath is very dated, but functional. Beds were a little soft for me. Food & drink are all easily walkable with the possible exception of breakfast. Cool looking building.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ilikelocaleatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hollywood hotels
0.2 mi away
Caribbean Resort by the Ocean
0.0 mi away
St Maurice Inn
St Maurice Inn
#20 of 69 in Hollywood
4.0 of 5 stars 106 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riptide Hotel
Riptide Hotel
#5 of 69 in Hollywood
4.0 of 5 stars 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hollywood Beach Marriott
Hollywood Beach Marriott
#7 of 69 in Hollywood
4.0 of 5 stars 1,367 reviews
0.7 mi away
WalkAbout Beach Resort
WalkAbout Beach Resort
#11 of 69 in Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 231 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Pellegrino Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sheldon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sheldon

Property: Hotel Sheldon
Address: 1000 N Surf Rd, Hollywood, FL 33019-1299
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Hollywood
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sheldon 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sheldon has been a fixture on the Hollywood Beach boardwalk for decades. Breathtaking ocean view rooms with private terraces, full bathrooms, and free parking are what Hotel Sheldon offers for any family excursion, pleasure getaway or business trip. Our new management delivers a truly personalized service, while our prime location in the heart of Hollywood Beach allows every guest to enjoy the countless recreational activities, sandy white beaches and the characteristic two mile boardwalk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Sheldon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheldon Hotel Hollywood
Sheldon Ocean Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing