We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Best place "On the beach"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sheldon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sheldon to your Saves list
Hotel Sheldon
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 North Surf Road, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 20% on Weekdays
Ranked #29 of 69 Hotels in Hollywood
Ruskin, Florida
Level Contributor
88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best place "On the beach"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

If you stay here, you have to ask for the renovated rooms. They are not the best in the city, but the best if you must stay right on the beach. Comfy, good AC and large shower. All in all , I will return here again.

Room Tip: You must ask for the renovated rooms, or you will be sorry. That place is a work in progress but com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank astayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    48
    36
    13
    13
See reviews for
35
67
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Location of this resort is perfect..directly on the broad walk and steps from tons of restaurants and bars. You do get what you pay for though, and for such little money directly on the beach, you are paying for location but not necessarily the best room. Our room was not facing the ocean, so very inexpensive, but did feel like you were staying in a penitentiary for the night. Dark, small and felt a little dirty. Location was so good you could overlook a lot, but if you are staying in Hollywood for more than a night or two, it might be better to spend a little more for some added comfort and amenities.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kerjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom Pa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Sheldon on March 26-April1, 2013. It is a older hotel, but it was so clean. There is some remodeling going on. Brenda at the front desk (and it is a desk in the front) was fantastic. Nothing fancy, but very clean. Broadwalk is right outside hotel doors and there are so many neat restaurants right there. The beach is right outside the doors also. Beach was very nice, hotel has towels and beach chairs for guest to use. The only draw back is there was no pool. So if you want a clean, non fancy hotel, this is it. I would go back again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jayandpatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I am an advid Trip Advisor user. At times when I accompany my husband on a business trip, I try to find a reasonable property with a location that provides me with things to busy myself while he is working. While researching hotels in the Hollywood, FL area, I came across the Hotel Sheldon. The reviews were mostly good, however, there were a few that worried me a bit. However, the location and value are what intrigued me the most.
Located directly on the infamous Hollywood boardwalk/beach I thought this would be perfect for me to enjoy.
Let me just say that the hotel, while still under some renovation is a wonderful up and coming property. At the last minute, after re-reading the reviews, I decided to upgrade our room for $ 20 more a night to an oceanfront room. The desk clerk mentioned that it was not a renovated room, but that the view was worth it.
To our surprise, upon arrival, we were given an upgraded corner room (#238). It was immaculately clean and almost brand new. Furnishings, floors and linens were modern, spacious, with a walk-in closet to boot. Although when we arrived it was very late, we could tell that the view would be fantastic in the morning.
And that it was. Most spectacular. In fact, you could see the aqua blue ocean right from sitting on the king bed.
The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet. Although there was airconditioning ,the windows opened to the ocean breezes.
The room was cleaned each day and towels replaced.
As far as the amendities, although few, they were plently enough for a stay at the beach. The hotel provides new beach chairs (they don't recline), umbrella, and towels for their guests.
But you could rent a lounge chair at the beach for $8 a day, $5 more for a cushion. In my opinion, it is well worth it. There is fresh coffee in the lobby all day and a coffee maker, microwave, and new refrigerator in the in the room as well. Free Wi Fi and parking are also provided.
The staff is pleasant and accommodating.
The location is also perfect for walking the beautifully kept boardwalk with reasonable restaurants, shops, all nearby. As well, there is much to see either left or right out the hotel back door along the 3 mile plus walk.
I was unsure whether Hollywood would provide me with enough to do for 4 days, but was pleasantly surprised that there was enough and more. The Hollywood beaches are clean and scenic, lined with palm trees and enhanced by aqua blue waters in the background.
My husband and I will absolutely go back to the Hotel Sheldon, but will request an Oceanfront room.
Check out Le Marche, a brand new bistro left on boardwalk from hotel. Its
a bit of a distance down but well-worth the stroll. Great atmosphere, food, and live entertainment with incredible views of the ocean.
Also there is live entertainment at Nick's Bar and Grill. Fun, lively place just a short walk from hotel.

Room Tip: Request Oceanfront renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pmv16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

It's on the Broadwalk, if that's what you need. Free parking, beach chairs, & beach towels. Room was spacious. Bath is very dated, but functional. Beds were a little soft for me. Food & drink are all easily walkable with the possible exception of breakfast. Cool looking building.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ilikelocaleatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Spent 2 nights here with a friend. The hotel is right on the beach and the boardwalk. Great location. They provide beach chairs and umbrella to guests for the beach (free). Beds were comfortable. Room came with a mini fridge and wifi. Bathroom was o.k. -paint job was interesting... For the price it was well worth it. Ask for the ocean view room. We got to watch the sunrise.

Room Tip: Get the ocean view room, for an extra $10 well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatA366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The location couldn't be better.We got a recently renovated room-336 and looked out on the beach.The room was very nice.Refrigerator, clock with I phone charger,nice furnishings.The location is literaly at the center of the boardwalk,plenty of places to eat and things to do.Waking up to an ocean view is pretty nice too.I also really liked that they provided us with good substantial beach chairs to take to the beach.I also saw there was a beach umbrella as well.Otherwise it would have cost to rent them.This was a very welcome added touch.The only small thing I found was that the renovated bathroom had not allowed for the bathroom door hitting the toilet.Someone had gouged out a chunck of door so that you could open the door.Not a big deal by any means

Room Tip: get a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mainenewengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hollywood hotels
0.2 mi away
Caribbean Resort by the Ocean
0.6 mi away
Riptide Hotel
Riptide Hotel
#5 of 69 in Hollywood
4.0 of 5 stars 591 reviews
0.0 mi away
St Maurice Inn
St Maurice Inn
#37 of 69 in Hollywood
3.5 of 5 stars 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hollywood Beach Marriott
Hollywood Beach Marriott
#7 of 69 in Hollywood
4.0 of 5 stars 1,325 reviews
0.4 mi away
Neptune Hollywood Beach Hotel
1.0 mi away
Ocean Inn
Ocean Inn
#20 of 69 in Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sheldon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sheldon

Property: Hotel Sheldon
Address: 1000 North Surf Road, Hollywood, FL 33019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Hollywood
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sheldon 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sheldon has been a fixture on the Hollywood Beach boardwalk for decades. Breathtaking ocean view rooms with private terraces, full bathrooms, and free parking are what Hotel Sheldon offers for any family excursion, pleasure getaway or business trip. Our new management delivers a truly personalized service, while our prime location in the heart of Hollywood Beach allows every guest to enjoy the countless recreational activities, sandy white beaches and the characteristic two mile boardwalk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Sheldon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheldon Hotel Hollywood
Sheldon Ocean Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing