We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Right on the beach!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sheldon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Sheldon
Ranked #23 of 67 Hotels in Hollywood
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Right on the beach!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Spent 2 nights here with a friend. The hotel is right on the beach and the boardwalk. Great location. They provide beach chairs and umbrella to guests for the beach (free). Beds were comfortable. Room came with a mini fridge and wifi. Bathroom was o.k. -paint job was interesting... For the price it was well worth it. Ask for the ocean view room. We got to watch the sunrise.

Room Tip: Get the ocean view room, for an extra $10 well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatA366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    57
    38
    13
    13
See reviews for
38
76
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

The location couldn't be better.We got a recently renovated room-336 and looked out on the beach.The room was very nice.Refrigerator, clock with I phone charger,nice furnishings.The location is literaly at the center of the boardwalk,plenty of places to eat and things to do.Waking up to an ocean view is pretty nice too.I also really liked that they provided us with good substantial beach chairs to take to the beach.I also saw there was a beach umbrella as well.Otherwise it would have cost to rent them.This was a very welcome added touch.The only small thing I found was that the renovated bathroom had not allowed for the bathroom door hitting the toilet.Someone had gouged out a chunck of door so that you could open the door.Not a big deal by any means

Room Tip: get a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mainenewengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

It's cheap and it's literally 20 feet from the beach. It's also on the Hollywood broadwalk, and we ate dinner at one of the dozens of restaurants within a short walk, sitting outside facing the beach. This was a great stay for the night before our cruise.

We were looking for a clean room with two beds, a shower, and air conditioning right on the beach, and the hotel delivered. It even had a working TV. We weren't planning to use it, but did.

It's a no-frills place, though, so if you want high-end pillows (ours were foam), a pool, restaurant, room service, and high-end furnishings, look elsewhere. Just be prepared to be pay MUCH more.

We did have a couple of problems related to the ongoing renovations: the AC didn't initially work, but someone came within two minutes and fixed it. Also, the elevator didn't work one time, but did work all the other times. It's only 3 floors, but if it's critical you have the elevator, consider that.

I would definitely stay here again pre-cruise, and I'd bet with a renovated room, I'd easily give it 5 stars for the price.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room, but note there are only 5 as of March 25, 2013. The front desk lady said...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank levyj413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We spent 4nights at Sheldon hotel in March 2013. My husband love the hollywood boardwalk location. I booked it based on trip advisor reviews. I knew it wasn't a fancy hotel, but we were lucky to get a recently renovated room with ocean view(room 236). The lobby has a small desk and nothing else, but I don't spend any time in the lobby, so that is not important. We had a king size bed which was comfortable. We had a big tv with lots of channels. We had a fridge and microwave. The bathroom was renovated and very nice. It was a bit small but nice shower. The room was clean and the staff was very helpful and accomodating. The view was amazing and you were right on the beach. They even give you beach chairs (which were brand new, not old and rusted like other reviews). The price was very reasonable and included parking. The building is old but they are all old on the boardwalk. It doesn't have a pool but you have the beautiful ocean in front of you.
The only issue is the safe, you must set the code before you shut the safe or else it locks before you set the code, like we found out. They sent a maintenance person very quickly. Overall the hotel was great, but you must get a renovated room. I will definitely come back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room if they have available .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MacFamily35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec city
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

We arrived at this hotel not knowing what to expect. We booked King deluxe ocean view. The room had a great view of the park and the ocean the feeling is that it is clean, free parking
fridge, microwave, beach chairs, umbrella, towels all included
bathroom is dated but had no grime`
great location on the beach
i am very pleased at the way this place is managed it was fine for me.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nic1978bc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Springfield
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

We couldn't have chosen a better hotel on Hollywood Beach.
The recently remodeled hotel has great character, with a southwestern style.
The rooms were clean, nicely furnished, and the beds were comfortable.(Luckily, we brought a hair drier.)
The hotel staff was as nice as Pie! Made every effort to make us feel comfortable.
This hotel owns the parking lots behind the building, made parking very convienient.
The beach is right out the door, and the central location on the Broadwalk, can't be beat!
We loved our 2 day stay on Hollywood Beach, and we will be returning to the Sheldon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank djpatruno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Same price that the Mickey Mouse/honkytonk rest of the hotels near the water front, this is the real deal. Just renovated,clean, room and towels clean every day, all you need and desire unless you are royalty or a lot of new money. For average middle class careful about money, this is it(unless you carry a grudge against middle age Quebecois)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hollywood hotels
0.6 mi away
Riptide Hotel
Riptide Hotel
#5 of 67 in Hollywood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caribbean Resort by the Ocean
0.0 mi away
St Maurice Beach Inn
St Maurice Beach Inn
#17 of 67 in Hollywood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Coral House Hotel
Coral House Hotel
#31 of 67 in Hollywood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.4 mi away
Neptune Hollywood Beach Hotel
0.4 mi away
Casa Pellegrino Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sheldon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sheldon

Property: Hotel Sheldon
Address: 1000 N Surf Rd, Hollywood, FL 33019-1299
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Hollywood
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sheldon 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sheldon has been a fixture on the Hollywood Beach boardwalk for decades. Breathtaking ocean view rooms with private terraces, full bathrooms, and free parking are what Hotel Sheldon offers for any family excursion, pleasure getaway or business trip. Our new management delivers a truly personalized service, while our prime location in the heart of Hollywood Beach allows every guest to enjoy the countless recreational activities, sandy white beaches and the characteristic two mile boardwalk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Sheldon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheldon Hotel Hollywood
Sheldon Ocean Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing