We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great location and view!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sheldon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Sheldon
Ranked #23 of 67 Hotels in Hollywood
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great location and view!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We spent 4nights at Sheldon hotel in March 2013. My husband love the hollywood boardwalk location. I booked it based on trip advisor reviews. I knew it wasn't a fancy hotel, but we were lucky to get a recently renovated room with ocean view(room 236). The lobby has a small desk and nothing else, but I don't spend any time in the lobby, so that is not important. We had a king size bed which was comfortable. We had a big tv with lots of channels. We had a fridge and microwave. The bathroom was renovated and very nice. It was a bit small but nice shower. The room was clean and the staff was very helpful and accomodating. The view was amazing and you were right on the beach. They even give you beach chairs (which were brand new, not old and rusted like other reviews). The price was very reasonable and included parking. The building is old but they are all old on the boardwalk. It doesn't have a pool but you have the beautiful ocean in front of you.
The only issue is the safe, you must set the code before you shut the safe or else it locks before you set the code, like we found out. They sent a maintenance person very quickly. Overall the hotel was great, but you must get a renovated room. I will definitely come back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room if they have available .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MacFamily35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    58
    38
    13
    13
See reviews for
39
77
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec city
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

We arrived at this hotel not knowing what to expect. We booked King deluxe ocean view. The room had a great view of the park and the ocean the feeling is that it is clean, free parking
fridge, microwave, beach chairs, umbrella, towels all included
bathroom is dated but had no grime`
great location on the beach
i am very pleased at the way this place is managed it was fine for me.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nic1978bc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Springfield
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

We couldn't have chosen a better hotel on Hollywood Beach.
The recently remodeled hotel has great character, with a southwestern style.
The rooms were clean, nicely furnished, and the beds were comfortable.(Luckily, we brought a hair drier.)
The hotel staff was as nice as Pie! Made every effort to make us feel comfortable.
This hotel owns the parking lots behind the building, made parking very convienient.
The beach is right out the door, and the central location on the Broadwalk, can't be beat!
We loved our 2 day stay on Hollywood Beach, and we will be returning to the Sheldon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank djpatruno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Same price that the Mickey Mouse/honkytonk rest of the hotels near the water front, this is the real deal. Just renovated,clean, room and towels clean every day, all you need and desire unless you are royalty or a lot of new money. For average middle class careful about money, this is it(unless you carry a grudge against middle age Quebecois)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

Stayed in the town view w/king bed yeah it is old but it is cool. The bathroom is not what you snobs are used to but your steps from the ocean, price is great, owners and staff are like family. beach chairs and towels supplied free of charge, coffee always brewing and the yougurt shop next door rocks. eaterys half a block away and the stage where we saw some very good concerts for free.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fredrick f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Our group has stayed here twice now as a pre-cruise night. The lobby is finished, elevator working perfectly, most rooms updated. Manager, Javier, and front desk clerk, Claudia, couldn't be more congenial.
The location is fabulous - as you step out the door, you are right on the broadwalk of Hollywood Beach with numerous restaurants, bars, & shops and the beach! Happy hours and live entertainment in several of the bars in the evening - $2.99 breakfasts in the morning.
Best rooms are oceanview - for the view. You can't go wrong if location is your priority and you don't need a 5-star hotel. No pool or restaurant but you don't need them - you have the ocean, beach, & broadwalk!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CruiserV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

This hotel deserves a big fat ZERO! It is in a great location, but is a nasty hotel. It says it's been remodeled. I would hate to see what it was like before the remodel. Nasty, dirty, loud...couldn't wait to check out the next morning.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rhonda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hollywood hotels
0.6 mi away
Riptide Hotel
Riptide Hotel
#5 of 67 in Hollywood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caribbean Resort by the Ocean
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
St Maurice Beach Inn
#17 of 67 in Hollywood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Coral House Hotel
Coral House Hotel
#31 of 67 in Hollywood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.4 mi away
Neptune Hollywood Beach Hotel
0.4 mi away
Casa Pellegrino Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sheldon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sheldon

Property: Hotel Sheldon
Address: 1000 N Surf Rd, Hollywood, FL 33019-1299
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Hollywood
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sheldon 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sheldon has been a fixture on the Hollywood Beach boardwalk for decades. Breathtaking ocean view rooms with private terraces, full bathrooms, and free parking are what Hotel Sheldon offers for any family excursion, pleasure getaway or business trip. Our new management delivers a truly personalized service, while our prime location in the heart of Hollywood Beach allows every guest to enjoy the countless recreational activities, sandy white beaches and the characteristic two mile boardwalk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Sheldon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheldon Hotel Hollywood
Sheldon Ocean Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing