We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SUPERB HOTEL WITH GREAT LOCATION AND STAFF”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hollywood Beach
Ranked #5 of 72 Hotels in Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2011

I have recently stayed in crowne plaza hollywood beach and want to say it was a pleasure to be there great employees front desk agents super friendly rooms are clean and up to date pool is superb we will see you again thank you from Toronto...

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank epianoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mistypfllso, Director of Sales at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hollywood Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2011

Dear epianoe,

I am so glad to hear that you had a great stay with us and particularly enjoyed the staff and our fantastic pool on the Intracoastal Waterway. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the future- please tell Toronto all about us!

Thanks and Happy New Year!

Misty P.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,602)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,823 - 1,829 of 2,603 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2011

I have to say i knew about this hotel because i lived across the street several years before and i knew that it was renovated. They are pretty from the pictures, but when we arrived i found it odd that the room temperature was at about 50 degrees.

We turned the heat on so that it wasnt so cold. The next day we came in and someone put the air on cold again so we heated up the room again and went out to get some food. We returned at about 12 midnight. Thats when everything fell apart.

She noticed a bedbug on a pillow, then one running across the wall, then another one running across the floor! we counted 8 in less than 30 minutes. Large and small. Thats when we figured out what the bite marks on my wifes hip were. We took a video of the bugs when we collected a couple to show management. They didnt refund our stay, but they cleared our breakfast and parking fees, but what i had to pay to boil my clothes when i returned was much more. Not to mention being transfered to another room which took 2 hours to take care of in the middle of the night. The next day of my vacation was ruined, completely wiped out and hard for us to sleep thinking about bed bugs!

The managment said they were going to ship me a free coupon for a couple days, well that never came, but i would never want to stay there again. To me it seems like they are covering up a severe infestation.

Its obviously a disaster for hotels, but what can i say i have to be honest, it was terrible, and those bugs were everywhere in that room, they multiply like crazy and can go weeks without food. They cant be killed with traditional pesticides. Florida hotels obviously have problems with these bugs, and normally they wait to come out, but i think heating the room when florida was experiencing a cold spell just drove them out early.

FIND ANOTHER HOTEL. BED BUG EGGS SPREAD ON LINENS SO I WOULDNT TRUST ANY ROOM HERE, although the handicapt room they moved us to seemed ok, we were not there long enough and we didnt turn the heat on that night. Mind you florida had one of its cold spells breaking records that week.

Search Hollywood Crowne Plaza Bed Bugs on You Tub to see the bugs we handed over to management.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FlorisitaMedellin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mistypfllso, Director of Sales at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hollywood Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2011

Dear FlorisitaMedellin,

We appreciate you bringing this to our attention while on property and we did address your concerns with the room immediately by having our pest control company come out to the hotel to perform an inspection. While they did acknowledge that there were bugs present in the room, they did not find evidence of bedbugs. In South Florida, it is typical for bugs to find their way into sleeping rooms and when this happens, we treat it agressively and immediately.

With the frequency of international travelers in our area, we know that bedbugs are a concern and have taken proactive measures here at the hotel to mitigate that issue. This includes using a reputable pest control company to do regular inspections and treatment of all guestrooms, as well as detailed training for all of our housekeeping staff to recognize and report any suspicious signs so that they can be dealt with immediately.

For any further questions, or comments, you can contact me directly at the hotel.

Misty Polihronakis
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2011

While this hotel is located on the Intracoastal, it is also on a busy intersection with Ocean Drive and the drawbridge that crosses to the mainland. It is very noisy. The lobby is small with virtually nothing but a front desk. There is no gift shop in which to buy a newspaper or a cup of coffee (perhaps because there is a 7/11 right next door. There appeared to be a Starbucks coffee alcove in the lobby but we never saw it open.

The rooms were dated. The bedding was not comfortable. There is a mini fridge and a microwave inthe room which can be helpful for families. The pool is much smaller than it appears on the hotel website. There were few chairs available even on chilly days. The pool water was also quite cold. When they say the beach is right across the street, what they mean is that it is across a very busy street and access is not clearly marked. We saw few people making their way toward the ocean. It simply is not convenient.

We ate at the Tiki Bar. The experience was diminished by the chainsmokers a few meters away. The restaurant menu was unappealing given all of the options across the street.

Valet parking fees were on par with other hotels in the area, but the service was not prompt.

We chose the property based on TA reviews. While an upgrade from a Holiday Inn, this hotel is not in any way a 4* experience. We would not stay at this property again. If you are going to spend money going to the beach, spend a little bit more to stay on the beach.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 500Mirrors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mistypfllso, Director of Sales at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hollywood Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2011

Dear 500 mirrors,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay with us and I'm sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your visit with us.
Our hotel was completely renovated and opened as a Crowne Plaza in October 2007 featuring our Sleep Advantage Bedding program; while not everyone finds our bedding to meet their needs, we do receive an overwhelming amount of positive comments on how comfortable the Crowne Plaza bedding is for our guests.
During your recent visit, we did experience a problem with our pool heater during the cold snap in South Florida but this has since been remedied.
We would welcome the opportunity to have you stay with us again if in the area from Atlanta as our service mission is to provide only the best in accommodations and service for our guests.

Misty P.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2010

I've stayed at this location several times. This is the only time I noticed the room not up to par...floor needed good mopping, some wiping down in kitchen, etc. A bit disappointed for the price.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spot28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mistypfllso, Director of Sales at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hollywood Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2011

Dear spot28,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us again for your recent trip to Florida over the holiday season- we appreciate your loyalty.
I was, however, unhappy to see that your room did not meet our usual standards and I have forwarded your comments on to our General Manager and Housekeeping Team. We do appreciate you taking the time to share these comments with us and hope that you will continue to stay with us so that we can exceed your expectations in the future.

Misty P.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2010

The room was immaculate and large... there was a kitchenette with a microwave, sink, and refrigerator, which was super-convenient. Bed was very very comfortable and linens, towels were high quality. Very clean overall and every detail was taken care of.

All of the employees were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wazzy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mistypfllso, Director of Sales at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hollywood Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2010

Dear Wazzy22,

Thanks for sharing your comments with others regarding your recent stay with us and I'm glad to hear that all aspects of the hotel exceeded your expectations. As with all of our fans, we ask that you spread the word to your friends in the upstate NY area that Hollywood is a great destination and our hotel is the perfect place to relax and enjoy all that South Florida has to offer.

Looking forward to your next visit!

Misty P.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2010

My wife and i stayed there for the first time Dec.4th 2010 for 2 nights and loved it ! Great room, beautiful view on the intra-coastal, great service, great location, you cross s.ocean drive and your are on a the very nice Hallendale beach. The pool set up is great looks like a resort in Cuba or Dominican Republic. Staff is very nice, the room was done when we came back the next day. Only great things to say about this Hotel. We will definitely go back. If you want more info just PM me.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buzz638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mistypfllso, Director of Sales at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hollywood Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2010

Dear Buzz638,

We are so glad that you chose to stay with us and that your first time at the hotel was enjoyable. We love our guests from Quebec and hope that you will tell all of your friends to come and see us as well. Should you be traveling back to Hollywood area soon, we hope that you will stay with us again.

Merci beaucoup!

Misty P.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2010

I have stayed at this hotel many times and every time it seems to get even better! The staff is as attentive as the Ritz Carlton and always surpass my expectations! The property is beautifully situated on the Intracoastal but close enough to walk to the ocean across the street. When I need to relax and recharge, I always know I can count on this hotel to make that happen! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mistypfllso, Director of Sales at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hollywood Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2010

Dear DrQueenie,

Thank you for being such a LOYAL guest at the Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach and we appreciate being compared to one of the leaders in accommodations and service in the hospitality industry. As the snow continues to fall and the temperature heads towards single digits, we hope you will come back to rest and relax among the palms on the Intracoastal.

See you soon!

Misty P.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hollywood
2.2 mi away
Margaritaville Beach Resort
2.7 mi away
Hollywood Beach Marriott
Hollywood Beach Marriott
#6 of 72 in Hollywood
1,580 reviews
7.3 mi away
Seminole Hard Rock Hotel Hollywood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Caribbean Resort by the Ocean
2.6 mi away
Casa Pellegrino Boutique Hotel
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Hallandale Beach/Aventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hollywood Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hollywood Beach

Address: 4000 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019-3010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hollywood
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#9 Business Hotel in Hollywood
#14 Family Hotel in Hollywood
#15 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range: $147 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hollywood Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reserve a welcoming stay at the Doubletree Resort Hollywood Beach, one of the premier Fort Lauderdale hotels. Our ideal location among Hollywood, Florida hotels situates us conveniently between luminous beachfronts and stellar Ft. Lauderdale attractions like Gulfstream Park and Miami Dolphin Stadium. Experience lodging that befits the stunning surroundings. Utilize our state-of-the-art fitness center, taste South Florida hotel cuisine at Port South Bar & Grille or sip a cool cocktail from Lava Tiki Bar & Grille. After a spectacular day of fun in the sun, retire to our richly-appointed guestrooms at one of the leading hotels in Hollywood, FL. Don t miss a gorgeous sunset from your balcony, and take advantage of amenities including complimentary high-speed Internet access, in-room safe, refrigerator, microwave and free premium cable. Plan your South Florida travel around a luxurious stay at one of the newest Florida vacation resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hollywood Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach Hotel Hollywood
Hollywood Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing