We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised w/ Crown Plaza”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach
Ranked #5 of 71 Hotels in Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2010

We stayed here on a trip after booking through an opaque booking site. We had hoped to get the 4* that was acrossed the street where we had stayed in the past. We were initially disappinted that our booking was at the Crown Plaza but were pleasantly surprised upon arrival. The hotel has been completley remodeled and is similar to a botique hotel with modern decor and a very chic vibe. The pool area is really special with a great pool that faces the intercoastal. It's really a relaxing atmosphere. The rooms are spacious with great marble showers, a small kitchenette (micro, frige and cabinets) and a great bathroom sink area with vessle sink. They even put a "sleep kit" on your pillow with a sleep mask etc. It's defiintly one the best HI Crowne Plaza's anywhere. I wouldn't say it's a 4* but I'd give it a soild 3.5. The real down fall is the old style balconies with views of neighboring buildings, the parking lot or the A1A.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kat F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mistypfllso, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2010

Dear Datedog,

Thanks for your great comments and we're so glad you were pleasantly surprised with our hotel. The Sleep Kit that you referenced is part of Crowne Plaza's holistic approach to sleep and is one of the main components of our Sleep Advantage Program. Hopefully you will spread the work about our hotel to your friends in New England.

Misty P.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,521)
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,774 - 1,780 of 2,523 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2010

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza in Hollywood, FL about 10 minutes south of the Ft Lauderdale Airport and Cruiseport. We experienced friendly and fast check-in (and check-out) and were in our room by 1:30PM, earlier than the 4:00PM check-in time. The rooms are VERY large, all look to have balcony: ours was modern decor and included a Safe, microwave, bar sink & counter and a large bathroom - the sink is in the bedroom section. There is a Starbuck's cafe open 7:00AM to Noon, a pricey restaurant, and a large infinity pool and patio area with several cabanas and shaded areas, right on the Inland Waterway. The beach is across the street . Guests can self park in the adjoining lot for $15 per 24 hours, or Valet park for $18 per day. The hotel is not within walking distance of the aging "Broadwalk" and there are really no eateries (other than hotel restaurants) nearby.

Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank ken07641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mistypfllso, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2010

Dear Ken 07641,

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel and I'm glad to here that you experienced great accommodations and customer service!
On your next stay with us, perhaps you will find the Hollywood Trolley (with a stop right outside the hotel and cost of $1 per person) useful for transportation to the nearby Broadwalk and downtown Hollywood area.
We hope to see you again soon!

Misty P.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2010

This hotel was wonderful!!! Rooms are huge with microwave and fridge. The beds were extremely comfortable, bedding and room itself was immaculate. No disgusting smells. No chipped painted or "dinged" walls. Very, very curteous people at the front desk. We are plantinum members and several times, in other hotels, we've gotten the worst available rooms, it seems, even when the hotels aren't full, but these guys gave us the most incredible room (614) overlooking the pool and the waterway...with two balconies and patio doors -- we hadn't asked for special treatment and were very happy and surprised to get it! It was cool enough to turn off the air conditioning and open both doors for a couple of hours in the evening and what a beautiful breeze!!!! A Walmart around the corner less than 1/2 mile away. A trolly that picks you up and drops you off in front of the hotel (great food on the "Riverwalk") A great beach across the street ... we didn't have to get in the car at all for almost 3 days! This place was perfect and we will be back again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laa002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mistypfllso, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2010

Dear laa002,

Thank you so much to you, our friends in Houston, for your glowing review of our hotel! When I hear comments like these knowing that our guests have thoroughly enjoyed their stay it reminds me of why I got into the hospitality business. We can't wait to welcome you back to our little paradise on the Intracoastal and hope you will come see us again soon!

Misty P.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2010

Good hotel, we asked a quiet room, and they did get us a quiet room. Beds and pillows were very comfortable. We checked mattress and linens for bed bugs and didn't see any evidence of any. Sheets were clean. Room was nicely-decorated.
Bathroom floor was dirty.
View from north side of the hotel - good view of intracoastal waterway, side view of Atlantic.
Good price for the location.
Dance/Pop music at the pool. Pool has outdoor tiki hut/bar with TVs to watch sports. Bartenders and outdoor staff were very nice.
Front desk staff & valets were nice, very helpful.
Trolley stop is in front of hotel, 7-11 is next to the hotel. You can also walk to a late-night pizza place.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaureenFLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mistypfllso, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2010

Dear Maureen,

Thanks for visiting us over on the other coast of Florida and I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, particularly our beds- they really are fantastic!! When looking to venture from the West Coast again in the future, we hope that you will consider returning to our hotel for another good night's sleep.

Misty P.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2010

South Florida is like a second home to me. I grew up visiting friends and family in and around Hollywood, Aventura, Sunny Isles, etc. I was accustomed to staying with family when traveling to Florida, but last year I stayed at the Crowne Plaza in November for my very first time. Since then, I went back in March, I am returning in a week, and I have already made plans to go again next month.

The hotel's location in my nostalgic stomping grounds is absolutely perfect, and offers everything I need in a hotel. Beautifully appointed rooms, comfortable beds, spacious balconies (I recommend asking for a South-facing room), a beautiful and spacious pool area right on the inter-coastal, free in-room internet (wired), free WIFI at the pool (though reception is a bit dodgy), and just across the street from the beach.

You've got Fort Lauderdale about 20 minutes North, Aventura Mall not even 10 minutes away, and a quick 30 minute drive to South Beach. Places like Starbucks, Panera, Publix, Walmart, around the corner on Hallandale Beach Blvd (walkable, but I recommend taking the car). The $15 self-park / $18 valet per day charge is a bit of a disappointment, but it's a standard fee among many 4+ star hotels. Though, it's a steal compared to the $24 the Westin Diplomat charges you!

On my second visit there in March, I was shocked when one of the pool's towel attendants recognized me from 5 months prior and welcomed me back! Talk about customer service! It's little things like that that stick out in guests' memories. Kudos!

Most of the Tiki Bar staff are really fun to strike up a conversation with, and the drinks and most of the bar food makes for a fun afternoon in the sun.

Looking forward to check-in again next week!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lmnop514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mistypfllso, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2010

Dear lmnop514,

I think we need to offer you a job promoting our hotel in the Montreal area! Thank you SO much for your wonderful comments regarding your recent stays with us at the Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach and we look forward to welcoming you back with us on your future planned stays. If you have a second, please ask for me at the front desk so that I can come down and meet you and put a face with the outstanding reviews.

Thanks and we'll see you soon!

Misty P.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2010

My five year old daughter and I spent three nights at this hotel at the end of July. The room was nice. The decor was modern and updated. There was a mini-kitchen with a microwave, small refrigerator, sink and cabinet space to store groceries. We didn't have a rental car and were able to walk to the nearby Walmart, which was probably about a mile away, to get snacks and breakfast items. The staff was friendly. We both enjoyed the infinity pool. The beach was across the street. The street is busy but easy to cross in the crosswalk. There is a trolley that stops right in front of the hotel that is $1 per ride. The only thing that would have improved the stay would have been complimentary wi-fi in the room rather than just the common areas. When my daughter was sleeping, it would have been nice to be able to do research to plan our itinerary for the day. We enjoyed our visit to the hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SavannahGirl17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mistypfllso, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2010

Dear savannahgirl17,

We are SO glad to hear that you and your daughter had a nice time with us recently and that you were able to enjoy the pool and the beach. While we don't offer wi-fi in the rooms, we do offer complimentary wired high speed internet access in our guest rooms and will be happy to help you connect that on your next stay with us.

Enjoy your beautiful town of Savannah and when you are looking for another escape from home, we hope you consider the Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach!

Misty P.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

This was a very nice hotel especially for the location and the price. The beach was right across the street from the hotel and close to many restaurants and bars. Great pool area where you can watch the speed boats and the bridge rise and close.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caymantraveler04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mistypfllso, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2010

Dear caymantraveler04,

The news in the Houston area must be spreading about our hotel and thank you for noting your positive comments about your recent stay with us. Please continue to tell your friends about us and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Misty P.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hollywood
2.2 mi away
Margaritaville Beach Resort
2.8 mi away
Hollywood Beach Marriott
Hollywood Beach Marriott
#6 of 71 in Hollywood
1,565 reviews
7.3 mi away
Seminole Hard Rock Hotel Hollywood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Caribbean Resort by the Ocean
2.6 mi away
Casa Pellegrino Boutique Hotel
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Hallandale Beach/Aventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach

Address: 4000 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019-3010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hollywood
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#9 Business Hotel in Hollywood
#14 Family Hotel in Hollywood
#15 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range: $121 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reserve a welcoming stay at the Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach Resort, one of the premier Fort Lauderdale hotels. Our ideal location among Hollywood, Florida hotels situates us conveniently between luminous beachfronts and stellar Ft. Lauderdale attractions like Gulfstream Park and Miami Dolphin Stadium. Experience lodging that befits the stunning surroundings. Utilize our state-of-the-art fitness center, taste South Florida hotel cuisine at Elements Bistro or sip a cool cocktail from Lava Tiki Bar & Grille. After a spectacular day of fun in the sun, retire to our richly-appointed guestrooms at one of the leading hotels in Hollywood, FL. Don t miss a gorgeous sunset from your balcony, and take advantage of amenities including complimentary high-speed Internet access, in-room safe, refrigerator, microwave and free premium cable. Upgrade to one of our three elegant suites and enjoy the comfort of a private bedroom and the refreshing feel of modern design. Plan your South Florida travel around a luxurious stay at one of the newest Florida vacation resorts. Discover chic, yet affordable waterfront lodging with one of our Hollywood, Florida vacation packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, IHG, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach Hotel Hollywood
Hollywood Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing