We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Business hotel with lovely leisure pool” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach
Ranked #11 of 66 Hotels in Hollywood
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Business hotel with lovely leisure pool”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2009

We spent three nights here from 13th June 2009. The hotel, just a couple of years old, sits on the edge of Hollywood key / harbour. Parking is $14 a day. There is valet parking if you wish but self-park is very easy. Reception foyer is cool and smart - the main colour used in the hotel is a soft jade green. Free wi-fi internet access. Rooms have balconies and the best ones overlook the pool area. Corridors are well maintained and the carpet is an elegant affair.

Our room, a standard one, had two queen beds - both very comfortable indeed. An excellent desk with plug-in internet access. The wi-fi signal was too weak to be of use, which was a surprise in a business-oriented hotel. The bedroom's shower and toilet were in a separate room, while the washbasin and main mirror (contemporary and chic in style) was in the bedroom. Not perhaps ideal. There was a separate, illuminated make-up mirror. The shower was of a fixed wide head design - fashionable but we'd have preferred a handheld directional one. And in a such a new unit, a decent shelf in the shower would have been helpful!

The room also had a small kutchen area with a good fridge and a microwave.

Hosekeeping was excellent.

The breakfast staff were very friendly (we got to like them all) and the buffet was perfectly adequate with fresh fruit and some tasty hot items. Not fabulous but good. Dinner in the same space - Elements Bistro - proved to be pricey but of good quality. The atmosphere is a little too businesslike to be romantic.

Outdoors, the Tike bar was staffed by the charming and helpful, handsome Nacho who made an excellent frozen daquiri. Light meals - incl. a very good salmon Caesar salad - can be served on the deck by the pool. Happy hours daily. The extremely well-designed pool offered a bit of everything from lanes to a 'beach' area. The clientele are mixed and not totally family-focussed so not over-run with the wee ones...

In sum, a good, professional hotel, with quality bedrooms. It is well-designed and nicely staffed. We did have a few minor quibbles (such as being charged $7 for a couple of pages of printing, the wi-fi issue, etc.) but would happily rate the Crowne Plaza in Hollywood really quite highly.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottishTravelGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,079 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    663
    810
    361
    132
    113
See reviews for
652
698
109
300
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2009

We stayed here for the last 4 nights of our 2 week vacation, 2 nigths using priority club points and 2 nights reserved directly with the hotel

On arrival, the valet was very helpful and friendly as were the desk staff. We were upgraded to the club floor. The room was gorgeous, and looked recently remodelled, with a stunning view of the pool and inland waterway (we could just about see the ocean as well).

The room was quiet and comfortable, and the hotel was in easy reach by car of a Walmart, several restaurants and the huge aventura mall - and I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolCochrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2009

The room was clean and spacious. The furnishings were very nice and modern. Fixtures in the bathroom could use a little tightening with a screwdriver but it wasn't a big deal. Everyone I encountered was very nice and helpful. I would love to stay here again! If they would only get rid of the Starbuck's coffee, it would be perfect.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RDmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2009

We were so happy with this choice of Hotel since we got a terrific price through Priceline!
We looked at pictures and read reviews of this Hotel after booking it through Priceline, and what you see is pretty accurate. The rooms are very spacious, great bed, and large bathroom. The balcony was also really big, and we had a great view of the ocean, and the intercoastal. We loved the pool area, and it was just in a great spot. We watched all of the boats and yahts go by on a gorgeous sunny day. We were impressed with the Service of the Front Desk, we asked for late-day check-out because we were leaving at 6:00p.m., the next day. The women told us to check back with her in the morning, and that it should not be a problem. We checked with her, and for a small fee, we were able to enjoy the beach and the pool all day!!! It was a great place to stay after coming back up the coast from spending a couple of nights in Key West!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonSunshine16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, ON
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2009

We stayed for four nights - got a great rate on Hotwire.

Awesome heated pool, right on the intercoastal. Great spot to watch the yachts go by. Right across the street from the beach. Hotel is new and gorgeous.

Walmart is right across the bridge from hotel, and downtown Hollywood with lots of amazing restaurants is just a short trolley ride away. You are a bit isolated from the hotspots, but fine for those with kids or wanting to just chill by the pool.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 3zigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jevnaker, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2009

This hotel is kinda like a conference hotel. The bar wasn't open, but we asked, and someone came down to make us some drinks. The pool area is great, and breakfast was okay. The rooms are really beautiful, and we had a nice balcony.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cenedraNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
98 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2009

This hotel was exactly what we expected, based on the descriptions within the reviews on this site. The room was large, recently nicely decorated and very clean.

The only negative was that after a day of travelling we arrived at the front desk at 3:30pm and we were told the hotel's policy is that check-in begins only at 4pm. Even after asking nicely a second time if they had a room available 30 minutes before the stated check-in time, the woman made it clear that we would have to return at 4pm. There were not that many people waiting to check-in at 4pm and we were attended to promptly---which made it even more absurd that they couldn't accomodate us when we first arrived. (I've been able to check-in at 10am in other hotels if a room was available.)

Cuban Restaurant nearby: PLEASE do yourself a favor and listen to the reviewers before me that recommended this place. We made a point of having dinner there on the second night of our stay and wish we had dined there both nights! It is awesome and one of the best values for the money you will find. My wife and I shared the appetizer sampler plate, she had the double pork chop plate (which was actually large hunks of succulent pork and better than you expect) and I had a Cubano sandwich; with an iced tea and a mojito for $36!!! We were so full we didn't have room for dessert. Staff was very nice too.

The beach is across the road (another review complained it was a 10 minute walk), but there is a crossing signal right in front of the hotel and it's less than a 5 minute walk door-to-sand. The pool was very nice and there were more than enough sun loungers for everyone.

As others stated, there's not much nearby to walk to, so you need your car to get almost anywhere but the beach. Actually, while the cuban restaurant and a few nearby strip malls are within walking distance, the walk is under, around and over some freeway ramps which while safe makes for a very ugly walk, hence the recommendation that you save your walking for the beach.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave_Shutterbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hollywood
2.2 mi away
Margaritaville Beach Resort
2.8 mi away
Hollywood Beach Marriott
Hollywood Beach Marriott
#6 of 66 in Hollywood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,436 reviews
7.3 mi away
Seminole Hard Rock Hotel Hollywood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Caribbean Resort by the Ocean
2.6 mi away
Casa Pellegrino Boutique Hotel
2.6 mi away
Marenas Beach Resort
Marenas Beach Resort
#2 of 10 in Sunny Isles Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach

Property: Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach
Address: 4000 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hollywood
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#9 Business Hotel in Hollywood
#14 Family Hotel in Hollywood
#15 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reserve a welcoming stay at the Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach Resort, one of the premier Fort Lauderdale hotels. Our ideal location among Hollywood, Florida hotels situates us conveniently between luminous beachfronts and stellar Ft. Lauderdale attractions like Gulfstream Park and Miami Dolphin Stadium. Experience lodging that befits the stunning surroundings. Utilize our state-of-the-art fitness center, taste South Florida hotel cuisine at Elements Bistro or sip a cool cocktail from Lava Tiki Bar & Grille. After a spectacular day of fun in the sun, retire to our richly-appointed guestrooms at one of the leading hotels in Hollywood, FL. Don t miss a gorgeous sunset from your balcony, and take advantage of amenities including complimentary high-speed Internet access, in-room safe, refrigerator, microwave and free premium cable. Upgrade to one of our three elegant suites and enjoy the comfort of a private bedroom and the refreshing feel of modern design. Plan your South Florida travel around a luxurious stay at one of the newest Florida vacation resorts. Discover chic, yet affordable waterfront lodging with one of our Hollywood, Florida vacation packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach Hotel Hollywood
Hollywood Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing