We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4000 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct and Save
Ranked #16 of 69 Hotels in Hollywood
Miami
Level Contributor
99 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2009

We stayed at the Hollywood Beach Crowne Plaza during the last weekend of March.

Pros:
Exterior-The hotel is nicely designed-very modern and trendy.

Lobby/Service-The front lobby is nicely furnished and check in went smoothly . The front desk clerk was friendly and helpful, allowing me to change our room from a double to king without a problem.

Rooms- Our room was large, clean, relatively new and had a beautiful view of the water . All appliances and furniture appeared to be the latest designs and were very appealing to the eye.

Pool and Other Amenities- The hotel also has a wonderful pool which looks right into the Intercoastal. Although we didn't try the restaurant, it seemed very busy constantly throughout the weekend. There was also a fitness center and a business center as well.

Cons:

Parking- Self parking is $14/day and valet is $16/day. You are able to go in and out, but it's still pricey compared to other hotels that offer free parking.

Location- While the hotel is close to several other higher end hotels (The Westin Diplomat, etc..) , it is not really within walking distance to the beach or other major hot spots. There are only very few or limited places to eat nearby.

Overall, the Crowne Plaza lives up to its name. It was a perfect getaway with most of the frills of a higher end hotel!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaDoubleJs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,881 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    583
    743
    333
    118
    104
See reviews for
580
633
101
270
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2009

I enjoyed my 5 day stay at this hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the rooms were nice and always cleaned. The tiki bar by the pool had AMAZING drinks, and the food was delicious too. I will continue to stay at this hotel, and this hotel only for future travels to the area.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kelliejean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2009

A group of 8 of us stayed one night prior to cruising and 1 night after the cruise. Everyone arrived from diffferent cities and the check in staff was very accomodating finding rooms together. My wife and I wer first to arrive just after noon and we were allowed to get a room right away. Very nice not to have to store bags etc. Pool area was quite nice, food and drinks are reasonably priced. We hit the 7-11 right next door for extra beer, snacks, and slushes. Beach is less than a city block away. Walmart is just over the bridge, about a 10 min walk. Everything was perfect to prepare for our week long cruise. No complaints on the first night. When we arrived back we were given a handicap room, so water was everywhere from the shower. Poor design of a shower. Otherwise we were very satisfied with our stay.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oilfan4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celebration
Level Contributor
97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2009

We checked in to the Crowne Plaza for a pre-cruise stay. It was a $35.00 taxi ride from FLL airport for two of us. We checked in late, but the service was very prompt. The decor of the hotel is in a nice brown and aqua blue color scheme, attempting to fit in with the boutique and upscale hotels located nearby. Though it didn't feel like an expensive hotel, I appreciated the effort the Plaza put forth in making the lobby and rooms look nice.

The location is close to the beach, airport and Port Everglades, and sits right on front of the Intercoastal Waterway. The rooms were well-appointed, with a coffeemaker, fridge, bar sink, chaise, desk, robes, and a sleeping kit that included a sleep mask, lavender bed spray and earplugs. The beds were comfortable and the bedding was fluffy and new. The shower was double-size (no tub though), and the sink was located outside of the room to allow more that one person to get ready simultaneously.

The only negative I found in this hotel was the available food options. Their restaurant is tasty, but very overpriced. We ordered one caesar salad entree and one steak entree with two sodas for $90.00! The room service offers similar things to the restaurant, with an 18% service charge added. Way overpriced for this type of hotel. There is no quick-service or cheaper option on-site. There is a mini coffee bar that offers Starbucks coffee and a limited selection of pastries. When we asked about food options open past 10:00PM they told us to go next door to the 7-11, open 24h! While the service and selection at the 7-11 was expansive (the same girl was there and helped us find some great local eateries), it was a little off-putting. Had we rented a car we just would have gone elsewhere nearby, but taking a taxi would have cost more overall.

We booked this hotel through hotels.com and didn't have any trouble, we got a great deal at $100/night + tax and felt it was well worth it.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ehan31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterloo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2009

Very nice rooms and pool area, as well as right across the street from the beach. The room had a fridge and microwave which helped when on a longer vacation to be able to keep the cost of eating out down. The bed was very nice, and there was a balcony that although had a view of the parking garage, also had a very nice view of the ocean. There is a 7 eleven store on the corner for any late night snacks you may need, and Wal Mart and several grocery stores are just over the bridge. The only complaint I have about this hotel is the service. The ice machine on our floor did not work for the entire week we were at the hotel which is not a big deal in itself, but not the only problem. Front desk was not a great help for anything and as a great example during our stay the fire alarm went off and we had to leave the building. Once the alarm stopped no member of the staff came to say it was safe to go back in and people stood on the street in confusion if they should go back in or not. There was no one waiting in the lobby to let guests know what had taken place, or if it was indeed safe to return, and I would not like to see the results if a real emergency had taken place. I would return to this hotel anytime as the area is great, and if you have a car is a great location to see Miami, or the everglades. Just don't expect great service from anyone but the valet.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesmck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2009

My husband and I stayed two nights here for Valentine's Day Weekend. It's close to the beach (across a very busy road from beach) and was clean. The rooms were large and stocked. Swimming pool was cool but fine. Hot tub, not quite hot enough for evening soaks. Overall the hotel itself was fine, but the staff was very rude. I called when we got into the airport, around 11:30 am to see if we could check in early. I was told very abruptly that the best time for check in would be between 3-4 pm. Fine, we came at 4:30 and were told the room was not ready, would we come back in a little while? Came back just before we went to dinner, around 8:00 pm, room still not ready. After dinner we were finally able to check in around 9:00 pm. That is ridiculous!!!! The next evening, we asked if we could have a late check out, since we didn't get to check in until so late. We were told we couldn't check in becaused they "have over 300 rooms and it takes the maids all day to get to all the rooms. And they were totally booked." Maybe this means you hire more people???? And they were not totally booked, there were 20 cars in the self-park area. By the way, you pay 14$ day to park and more to valet park. Any way, we checked at the front desk again the next morning, and the gal let us have an extra hour. Wow! Overall, I felt the staff very unfriendly, I can't think of one person who smiled. They were abrupt in answers and rude, yet we were the ones being put our by not being able to check in until 9 pm! I would not stay here again. There are plenty of other nicer hotels along Ocean Dr.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WashingtonAmyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2009

Beautiful pool, felt much more exotic than the Hallendale address. Only 2 miles to Gulfstream Park. The desk and pool staff was very helpful and attentive.

Microwave, good size fridge and wet bar made it easy for breakfast and snacks in the room.

Thought the parking fee of $14/night for self park, $16 for valet was a bit high.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Almost50Connecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hollywood
2.2 mi away
Margaritaville Beach Resort
2.8 mi away
Hollywood Beach Marriott
Hollywood Beach Marriott
#7 of 69 in Hollywood
4.0 of 5 stars 1,324 reviews
2.4 mi away
Caribbean Resort by the Ocean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Seminole Hard Rock Hotel Hollywood
2.6 mi away
Casa Pellegrino Boutique Hotel
2.7 mi away
Riptide Hotel
Riptide Hotel
#5 of 69 in Hollywood
4.0 of 5 stars 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach

Property: Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach
Address: 4000 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hollywood
#9 Business Hotel in Hollywood
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#15 Family Hotel in Hollywood
#16 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reserve a welcoming stay at the Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach Resort, one of the premier Fort Lauderdale hotels. Our ideal location among Hollywood, Florida hotels situates us conveniently between luminous beachfronts and stellar Ft. Lauderdale attractions like Gulfstream Park and Miami Dolphin Stadium. Experience lodging that befits the stunning surroundings. Utilize our state-of-the-art fitness center, taste South Florida hotel cuisine at Elements Bistro or sip a cool cocktail from Lava Tiki Bar & Grille. After a spectacular day of fun in the sun, retire to our richly-appointed guestrooms at one of the leading hotels in Hollywood, FL. Don t miss a gorgeous sunset from your balcony, and take advantage of amenities including complimentary high-speed Internet access, in-room safe, refrigerator, microwave and free premium cable. Upgrade to one of our three elegant suites and enjoy the comfort of a private bedroom and the refreshing feel of modern design. Plan your South Florida travel around a luxurious stay at one of the newest Florida vacation resorts. Discover chic, yet affordable waterfront lodging with one of our Hollywood, Florida vacation packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach Hotel Hollywood
Hollywood Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing