We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hollywood Beach
Ranked #5 of 72 Hotels in Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 26, 2012

I stayed for one night only at the crowne plaza with 3 other friends after a business trip. The hotel is well situated for trips to downtown as well as south beach. Rooms are very spatious and clean. The pool and fitness center looked very good, even though we could not makur use of it. Staff was very friendly and helpful. I can recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gmarsolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mistypfllso, Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hollywood Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2012

Dear Gmarsolo,

Hopefully your next visit with us will be longer so you can enjoy all of the amenities in the hotel! Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We truly appreciate your recommendation of us to others.
See you soon!

Tana F.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,647)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,682 - 1,688 of 2,646 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2012

May I ask you HOW on earth this hotel can be considered as a 4 stars hotel?

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights and 3 nights at the Westin Diplomat hotel (se my separate review on TripAdvisor).

I say honestly that it is UNFAIR to even put those to hotels in the same category!!!!!

The Crowne Plaza is defiantly NOT a four stars hotel...but it´s a good 3 stars hotel at tops!!!

The room was spacious and clean with a hand sink beside the sleeping bed! Very weird design!!!

The lobby was pretty small and plain but the staff were nice. There is NOTHING luxurious about this hotel and comparing to the price we paid I can say it was overpraised.

There is a small kitchen area with a microwave, a small fridge and a sink but NO dishes or knifes/spoons. The hotel is located near Wall-Mart just a 5 minutes walk to the super market to shop some food and snacks. We had our breakfast in our room every morning and also our late night snacks.

The pool was heated, big and it´s the ONLY nice facility of this hotel.

At some time my husband and I started a joke by calling the Crowne Plaza for the "Crow" Plaza. I Never seen so many birds (crows) resting on the hotel signs and on the edge of the high floor balcony. I counted them to be at least 36 birds.... someone is feeding them!!!! they were flying around the pool area.

If we wanted a taxi we would walk 2 mintes over to the Westin Diplomat taxi stand to grab a cabe.

I hate it when hotel management and unexperienced travelers promote FALSE image about hotels and room standards.

So if you want luxury and your money´s worth try the Westin Diplomat Resort insted if you are looking for hotels in the Hollywood area. The Plaza is just a standard hotel with standard rooms!

It was indeed a very disappointing stay.... definitely will not book here again at the "Crow" Plaza...

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MunterDam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mistypfllso, Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hollywood Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2012

Dear MunterDam,

We truly appreciate your feedback. It's unfortunate that you were not satisfied with the hotel and facilities. We strive to exceed all of our guests expectations so it's a bit disappointing to hear that you were not thrilled with their vacation with us.
Please feel free to contact us at sales@cphollywoodbeach.com to discuss further.
Thank you,

Tana F.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Stayed for one night. One of nicest pool in Hollywood. Large rooms with balcony with intercoastal view. would come back.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tibimarco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mistypfllso, Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hollywood Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2012

Dear Tibimarco,

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hollywood soon!
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Hopefully your next stay will be a bit longer so you can enjoy all of the amenities in the hotel.
See you soon!

Tana F.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Our first visit to this area or Florida in 15 years and an excellent choice in hotel. The room was spacious and very comfortable with a excellent bed. The bathroom was good with a real shower rather than the 'over the bath variety' and big enough to share!
The staff, particularly the valet 'Parkers' were friendly and efficient and at only $3 per day over the self park charge that was good value for money. The pool was great and very clean and not that busy whilst we were there. The only meal we had in the hotel was one breakfast and that was fine without being anything special.
Although not on the beach that can be reached very easily in less than five minutes and when we went on the beach it was much less crowded than the main Hollywood beach about 3 miles up the coast.
Like most hotels in the area the use of a car is essential and there is easy access both to the North and South of the A1A and attractions further afield via the SR1 or the I95.
All in all a very worthwhile stay.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have two balconies and the higher the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jazzjerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mistypfllso, Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hollywood Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2012

Dear Jazzjerry,

It's great to hear that you had such a great stay with us. We really appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback and complimenting our hotel rooms and our services, especially for mentioning the valet gentleman whose services are constantly commended.
Hopefully you will visit us in the States soon! We'll save you a corner room :)

Tana F.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Our plane arrived at the airport in the we hours of the morning.So we got a taxi down to the Crown Plaza and arrived at the front desk at 5.30 AM checkin not being till 3-ro 4 that afternoon.
We went in to talk to the front desk to see if it was ok to use the pool while waiting ,The lassie on front desk was amazing, (her name was Sascheen, she is a real credit to the hotel) she found us a room right away on a high floor that had a view of the beach and canal so we where able to crash for a few hours before meeting the day---- as we were only staying one night,this made all the difference.
The rooms are clean and big with a fridge and Microwave and a very comfortable bed. The pool area is very relaxing ,it's also easy to get to the beach,latter in the daywe walked up to Wall-Mart about 1/3 of a mile.(across the bridge).Then we went across the road to a little Cubin Restraunt the food was great and way to much for one sitting about $15.00 a person you really should try it ,it's called Padrino's .
All in all a great stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GaryO525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mistypfllso, Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hollywood Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2012

Dear GaryO525,

Thank you very much for such a great review. We are so happy we were able to accommodate you so early in the morning and everything worked out perfectly. Also, we appreciate you mentioning one of our star employees, Sascheen. She will certainly be commended for the memorable service she's provided you. Hopefully, we will see you again the next time you are in town from Ktichener. Thank you again!

Tana F.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

The hotel is on the intercoastal waterway, not on the beach. To get to the beach you have to walk on the sidewalk, get to the light, cross the street, walk a few hundred yards through a narrow lane, to finally arrive at the (quite narrow) beach. Towels? Get them, under written receipt, at the pool. No hotel towels provided at the beach. Chairs, umbrellas? Rent them from someone at the beach. Is this really a beach hotel?

The pool was crowded, packed with screeching kids, oversized ladies and other occupants. The food at the Cabanna is mediocre.

Rooms (booked a corner room with 2 balconies) was large, quiet (far away from elevators), and clean. The TV is microscopic - looks like an old computer monitor. Air conditioning was a little noisy. Kitchen-like area seems funny in this type of hotel. House maids seemed eager to discuss work schedules with guests, and try to determine times to clean rooms.

Valet parking was OK, albeit costly (US$19 per day).

Breakfast at the Elements Bistro was standard, with basic staples (some fruit, eggs, oatmeal, sausages, cereals, bread). Convenient price if you buy it with your room rate (around $8).

Overall: Nice property, if you can do without the beach, and can live with hordes of people around you in the pool.

Would stay elsewhere, probably the Diplomat on the beach

Room Tip: Higher rooms have a nicer view - specially over the 7th floor. Pricier corner rooms have windows on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Birotteau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mistypfllso, Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hollywood Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2012

Dear Birotteau,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us.
Our apologies if you thought our hotel was on the beach. We always clarifying with the guests that we are on the Intracoastal waterway just across the street form the beach. Thank you for all of your feedback and our management will address all of concerns you have mentioned. Please feel free to contact us at sales@cphollywoodbeach.com to discuss your stay further.

Tana F.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

In my previous review I had just checked in for a six night stay and had to comment on the condition of my room balcony. Beautiful room, but balcony had bird droppings everywhere and was generally kind of dirty including glass and railing. The next morning when housekeeping came by I reminded them about the balcony and was told someone was coming up to clean it. I expected a steam cleaner, but a fellow with a small broom showed up. On our return I found the obvious bird droppings cleaned up, but nothing else. I realize that this is a outside balcony in a salt water environment, but it wouldn't take much to make it nearly as spotless as the room. I did not complain further, as the balcony was acceptable to sit out on now, which we did every morning and evening. On day two, one of the two toilet paper holders fell off the wall. I assumed that Housekeeping would report this, but two days later it is still unrepaired, and Housekeeping has helpfully stacked the extra roll on top of the other holder. No big deal, but again, lack of attention to detail. Last minor complaint. A full-time attendant to sign pool towels out and again back in, complete with a paper form to fill out? Really? I've stay at thousands of hotels as a Airline Pilot and have never seen this. Okay, enough of that. Would I return? Yes, especially at the great rate that I got from Hotwire. The fabulous pool and rooms are beautiful, the food at the pool tasty and reasonably priced especially considering the location and ambiance, and the staff helpful and friendly. Reading the responses from the Manager concerning others complaints shows someone who cares and I expect my complaints are something the management team would want to hear about, and probably should not discourage anyone from staying here.

Room Tip: Our south side room had both a small view of the beach as well as the drawbridge and inland waterway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Utahrpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hollywood
2.2 mi away
Margaritaville Beach Resort
2.7 mi away
Hollywood Beach Marriott
Hollywood Beach Marriott
#6 of 72 in Hollywood
1,591 reviews
7.3 mi away
Seminole Hard Rock Hotel Hollywood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Casa Pellegrino Boutique Hotel
2.4 mi away
Caribbean Resort by the Ocean
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Hallandale Beach/Aventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hollywood Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hollywood Beach

Address: 4000 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019-3010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hollywood
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#9 Business Hotel in Hollywood
#14 Family Hotel in Hollywood
#15 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range: $145 - $396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hollywood Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reserve a welcoming stay at the Doubletree Resort Hollywood Beach, one of the premier Fort Lauderdale hotels. Our ideal location among Hollywood, Florida hotels situates us conveniently between luminous beachfronts and stellar Ft. Lauderdale attractions like Gulfstream Park and Miami Dolphin Stadium. Experience lodging that befits the stunning surroundings. Utilize our state-of-the-art fitness center, taste South Florida hotel cuisine at Port South Bar & Grille or sip a cool cocktail from Lava Tiki Bar & Grille. After a spectacular day of fun in the sun, retire to our richly-appointed guestrooms at one of the leading hotels in Hollywood, FL. Don t miss a gorgeous sunset from your balcony, and take advantage of amenities including complimentary high-speed Internet access, in-room safe, refrigerator, microwave and free premium cable. Plan your South Florida travel around a luxurious stay at one of the newest Florida vacation resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hollywood Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach Hotel Hollywood
Hollywood Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing