We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location. A little below average accommodations.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of St Maurice Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St Maurice Inn
Ranked #35 of 69 Hotels in Hollywood
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Location. A little below average accommodations.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

The rooms look way better in pictures than they do in person. Because I was traveling with children, we had to rent 2 rooms because each room had only 1 bed in it. One of the rooms, the AC was not working very well.

However, the owner lets you pretty much do as you wish. If you want to be in the courtyard hanging out until 3 a.m., no one in the hotel will complain. If you are looking to stay on the beach (within 150 ft from the sand) and you just need a room to sleep and shower in, this is the spot!!

Owner ever supplies you with tables in the courtyard as well as a Bar-B-Que Grill for patrons to use.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hondureyna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    8
    6
    6
    14
See reviews for
14
21
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Washington,DC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Door knob needed screwed back in but no big deal. Room was clean. Sheets were clean. Small flat screen tv did the job with cable. Bed was comfortable. I slept very well. The room also has a futon in it that is comfortable. A/C worked fine. Clean towels, toilet paper, shower worked fine. Refrigerator and microwave worked fine. Not noisy. Excellent location. Your on the beach. Also, Rocco's pizza crossed the street is pretty good and on Mondays,Tues,Wed they have free concerts at the Hollywood outdoor Theater.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bendernet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

This is not the most fancy place But for the price and convenient of being next to the beach is great, I usually travel with my own sheets and pillows, so for us we love it. If people want a super impeccable room the they need to pay the price for it, the Marriott few blocks away is excellent but the prices range from $200 to $300 per night. so for $60 to $70 per night is great.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsey, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

Our trip got extended one night due to snow and we were in the need of a place to stay on short notice. They had a room open and we were happy to take it. The St Maurice is older but was clean and had very friendly owners. Yes not a Marriot but also not paying for it either. We had a nice night stay, a block from the beach, free parking and lots to do around the area. We would be happy to stay again if ever go back that way. Cheap and easy to get around location..can save money on the hotel and spend it other places...what more do you need than a clean friendly place to sleep. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shany k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

I know they say "you get what you pay for" but even for the cheap price I would expect to get a room I was not afraid to take my shoes off in. I really don't think it was cleaned before we got here. There was popcorn on the floor & 2 hair balls the size of a dime in the shower. Speaking of the bathroom, there is black mold on the side of the sink. The shower faucets have so much rust on them that they are not fixed to the wall. You constantly were having to go to the office to get a roll of TP. The pictures on the wall have something splattered all over them. The TV was messed up, main light did not work after 1st day... The list could go on and on.. Lesson learned: pay a little more to get a decent room OR check out the room BEFORE you give them your money! Stay away!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimberschwab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

This is a long overdue review, but one that needs to be written. We stayed at this place in June 2011 and I have to agree with the previous reviewer who said this place is a joke. The only good thing about this place is the owner, who is indeed a pretty friendly guy. But a friendly hotel owner can't make up for the disaster that is this place. It's dirty, the A/C is useless, and even the location isn't that enticing. Plus, there's this central area where people conglomerate at early in the morning, making it noisy as hell and impossible to sleep past 7am. All in all, this place has nothing going for it. They'd need to fully renovate for it to be any good, which I'm assuming they haven't done based on more recent reviews. Seriously, this is not a review coming from a picky traveler, I stay at hostels all the time and this place is just about at dump status as far as I'm concerned. And it doesn't charge hostel prices either, so... Bottom line, stay away.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

I feel terrible writing a bad review, but this place defies all common sense and should NOT be in vacation packages on major websites. We went to FL for a vacation and to save some money, we decided [unwisely] not to overspend on a hotel. My friend booked a vacation package via Hotwire and this hotel was part of the Hotwire deal. To stay together, we booked the St. Maurice Inn for $60/night directly through the property. Upon arrival, the experience was a disaster. The office had a sticky hand written note t call a cell ph # for registration... Rooms were dingy, worn-out, unsanitary... you name it. They were most likely put together about 40 years ago with yard sale furniture, appliances and scary bed linens.

Bed sheets were of three different colors (white fitted, blue flat and striped "prison-style" pillow cases). Dark stains on towels that also came in red, beige and off-white colors. A joke. The owner stated that yes, they are stained, but they are clean. How reassuaring. When hair was found on the sheets, we were told hair gets on the sheets in the laundry, but the sheets are clean (they did replace the sheets upon request, so thank you and we appreciated that). We bought our own towels and we showered in flip-flops to avoid stepping on the floor barefoot. The sidewalk outside was cleaner than the rug on the floor in the room. Everything felt dirty to the touch and disgusting to look at, I had to use Lysol just to have peace of mind for the night. Holes between the entrance door and the floor... AC so loud, a small airplane's back seat is quiter. Beach chairs were rusted and duct-taped over and over... It was like we were ended up in the middle of a comedy shoot.

Needless to say, we were gone after 1 night. At check-out (after the 1st nighht!!!) we agreed to pay the $60 for the first night - we stayed, we paid, no matter how much we disliked it, it was our decision to sleep the night there. BUT... at check out the next morning the owner refused to refund the rest of the 4-night stay (Policy: "No refunds after you check in"). Are you kidding? Self-written policies can only go so far and they need to abide by at least common sense! (A full payment was required upon check in... obviously.)

Any hotel operator in his right mind would not only refund the money for the unused time, but would also give the money back for the only night we stayed. No, we did not expect that, and neither should you. Expect nothing. Expect a crack-head street-walker to offer you sex right outside the motel (it's the trashy area, not the motel's fault, of course, but you should still know).

The owner was nice overall. I am pleased to acknowledge that. It's his refusal to refund the unused night was frustrating. The owner offered to correct any issues, but no refund. What can you correct?!? Refurnish the entire room, repaint every wall, replace AC... Re-invest into the property. It's a good location, but honestly the whole area is run down, so it does seem not worth of investing any money into at all. Maybe that's why it is what it is.

The owner said we had Marriott expectations. Not really. We drove to Miami and we found a clean hotel with the same amenities for $85/night. The extra $15/night provided for a great experience and the trip was very well worth it.

Room Tip: book another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rivieraboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hollywood hotels
0.4 mi away
Hollywood Beach Hotels
Hollywood Beach Hotels
#25 of 69 in Hollywood
3.5 of 5 stars 238 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sheldon
Hotel Sheldon
#30 of 69 in Hollywood
3.5 of 5 stars 142 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caribbean Resort by the Ocean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ocean Inn
Ocean Inn
#20 of 69 in Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 482 reviews
0.5 mi away
Neptune Hollywood Beach Hotel
0.2 mi away
La Terrace 600 Plaza Motel
La Terrace 600 Plaza Motel
#32 of 69 in Hollywood
3.5 of 5 stars 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Maurice Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Maurice Inn

Property: St Maurice Inn
Address: 310 Michigan St, Hollywood, FL 33019-1205
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Hollywood
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — St Maurice Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your St Maurice Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Maurice Hotel Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing