We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and right by the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St Maurice Beach Inn
Ranked #16 of 72 Hotels in Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2011

I wasn't very impressed with this hotel ... The bathrooms are way too tiny and the furnishings look like they were found at a garage sale .. I was a little uncomfortable sleeping and had thoughts of bugs on me... I found 1 roach and it was dead but I wouldn't be surprised if there were more. We had two rooms that connected so that was nice.. It appears as if some people rent them to live there ...No room service, no daily cleaning, no pool, no onsite resturaunt but plenty around you.
With all the sand from the beach the room gets dirty (sandy) really quick ..
If your expecting high end ... don't stay here ... If your looking for something close to the beach this would be ok but there are alot of hotels by the beach (No room will have an ocean view) ... this one is just really cheap and you get what you pay for. The owners are pretty nice, found out on the last day they were from the same small town that I live in now... small world.
Long story short this was one hotel I couldn't wait to check out of and wanted to go home.

Room Tip: There is no ocean view rooms .....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AprilS_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 221 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2011

The worst hotel I've ever been to . Air conditioning didn't work in any of the 4 rooms I saw. 12" TV was on top of glued-together dresser that fell apart every time we touched it. The bed frame had no headboard and collapsed while we were sleeping/sweating. The shower sprayed out of the bathroom into the bedroom. The owners left at 8pm so nothing was rectified. To add injury to insult, we got major attitude when we checked out the next day; not even an apology. In addition, many of the rooms were occupied by transients that were noisy and intoxicated.

Room Tip: there was no best room, all equally terrible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claudia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2011

Stayed at this cozy motel for a week in March with another person. We're in our twenties. The price was very convenient, $60 or 70(i forgot) per night plus one night free. The location was amazing, in the middle of Hollywood Beach and 10 steps from the infamous Broadwalk and the sand.
I was very impressed with the hospitality of the owner (she was very nice and helpful during our stay and before our stay when i called on the phone a few times because we were coming from northeast). We had a room with a bathroom and a kitchenette which has a counter, fridge, sink, and a small table. Air conditioner was working properly, and hot water was very good in the shower. Everything was plenty for our stay. Grocery store is 5 minutes walk away, and plenty of restaurants/food joints around. The trolley that you can take to bring you around Hollywood for 1$ is 30 second walk from the motel.
St. Maurice is not a fancy flashy hotel, its a bit older style, but its a comfortable and affordable motel that is in a great location and with excellent service and enough of everything that you need for a mini vacation, after all you don't go on a vacation to stay in your room. But even if you had to, this place will do.
Not sure about parking because we didnt come with a car, but ask the manager she will help without a doubt, i think its like 5$ per day or something in the near parking lot, im not sure.
I will definitely come back to Hollywood Beach again, and stay at St. Maurice.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CT11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2011

Enjoyed our 3 night stay here at this family run motel. The owners were really friendly and the room had everything we needed, small kitchen area with fridge freezer, microwave and coffee maker. The shower was really good. Very close to the beach, a 10 second walk and you were there, also just as close to loads of restaurants. You'll not find anything that comes close to the price in the same area.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Waldo_Waybill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2011

Great location !!
The people are so friendly !
Older place but very clean and nice !

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denny007014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2011

location was great in holleywood beach. motel style rooms seemed clean but a little worn down but great for a couple days my wife and i needed till we traveled to jamaica. close to everything on the beach.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank s g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2009

I love this place! Luc and Denise are absolutely the best. I have been staying here for 4 years off and on and I would not stay any where else. Everything is right there and you can bet you will be treated like family.

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FtPiercePammyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hollywood hotels
0.3 mi away
Caribbean Resort by the Ocean
1 mi away
Ocean Inn
Ocean Inn
#29 of 72 in Hollywood
520 reviews
0.1 mi away
Margaritaville Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casa Pellegrino Boutique Hotel
2.1 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hollywood Beach
0.6 mi away
Hollywood Beach Marriott
Hollywood Beach Marriott
#6 of 72 in Hollywood
1,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Maurice Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Maurice Beach Inn

Address: 310 Michigan St, Hollywood, FL 33019-1205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Hollywood
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Hollywood
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range: $80 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — St Maurice Beach Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steps from beautiful Hollywood Beach, our location could not be more perfect. Take in spectacular sunrises, where the sun meets the sea. Enjoy strolling along the Hollywood Boardwalk, taking in miles of gorgeous sandy beaches, outdoor cafes and restaurants, and local shops. Whether walking, biking, jogging, we are a tropical paradise. Just sit back by the courtyard and enjoy the live music on the boardwalk or take a 20 foot stroll to the Margaritaville Lone Palm Tiki Bar. We are located between Ft. Lauderdale and Miami International Airports. Minutes from the dog track, horse racing, casino, night clubs, golf, tennis, fishing, jet skiing, snorkeling and scuba diving are all nearby! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your St Maurice Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Maurice Hotel Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing