We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Yum, Yum, Yum” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hollywood Prime - CLOSED

Hollywood Prime
Price range: $50 - $75
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Hallandale Beach Blvd
Description: Tempt your palate at Diplomat Prime, the resort's steakhouse. Delicious offerings include the finest cuts of meat, including 21-day, dry-aged beef as well as Long Island duck and domestic rack of lamb. Delectable seafood options include a 3.5-Pound live Maine lobster poached in butter, swordfish loin, and salmon filet. Reservations are recommended for our contemporary setting of 15 tables.
Level Contributor
92 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Yum, Yum, Yum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I will preface this review by saying I wasn't paying. If I was, I'd probably have hit the stonecrab restaurants down the street. Nevertheless, I had a wonderful dinner. I'd highly recommend the caprese salad (mozzarella melts in your mouth). I had a surf 'n' turf dinner with lobster tail and steak. Steak was really good, not overcooked. Lobster was less excellent (slightly overcooked, heading toward rubbery) but still tasted delicious. Wine menu was also top-notch, loved both the pinot noir and the cabernet choices that were ordered with dinner. Service was efficient and gracious, without being overbearing. Again, not sure if I'd want to pay these prices, but since it was someone else's treat, I enjoyed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ml849567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    36
    9
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Avon, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Prime time dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

The service was top notch. The chilled seafood was very fresh and the dry aged steaks were excellent. The pricing is aggressive, but overall well worth it!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Darrylict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What happened?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

I drove far because you used to be great! I ordered the lamb...$74!!!! It was unevenly cooked. You get 4 double chops. Unfortunately, some were medium rare and some medium well. How does that happen? Also, perhaps the waiter should have described the lamb and mentioned the "market price". I just read a review someone wrote last week and they said lamb was was $60ish. How did it change from one week to the next?

We also ordered the asparagus. You get 4 stalks! Really?!

I could barely eat the onion soup because it was over salted.

The food was average however I felt rushed. They took away the gazpacho before I could finish it. We had a 730 pm reservation and they brought the cheque before I even finished my glass of wine. What if I wanted another glass?

Two of us spent $200.00 on dinner... Please don't rush me!!

Did you change chefs or management because this place is not like it used to be!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Miami1local
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Closter, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food - standard steakhouse”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Overpriced for what you get, but the food is very good. Like a Ruth Cris or Morton's - The lamb chops were amazing

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jcardinali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A wonderful culinary experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

What a all round wonderful experience was had by six of us last evening at Hollywood Prime. Frank, our server was not only knowledgable about the food and restaurant but very entertaining as well. I started my meal off with the foie gras and had the lamb for my main course, Frank assuring me that it was not good but, exceptional and he was spot on, probably the best lamb I have ever sampled! Finished off my meal with the creme brûlée, the portions were huge, delicious and prepared to everyone's specifications. Well done Hollywood Prime, we will be back!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hollywood Prime also viewed

Hollywood, Broward County
 
Hollywood, Broward County
Hollywood, Broward County
 
Hollywood, Broward County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing