We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Lovely restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hollywood Prime - CLOSED

Hollywood Prime
Price range: $50 - $75
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Hallandale Beach Blvd
Description: Tempt your palate at Diplomat Prime, the resort's steakhouse. Delicious offerings include the finest cuts of meat, including 21-day, dry-aged beef as well as Long Island duck and domestic rack of lamb. Delectable seafood options include a 3.5-Pound live Maine lobster poached in butter, swordfish loin, and salmon filet. Reservations are recommended for our contemporary setting of 15 tables.
High Point, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great food, great service, great ambiance . Fine dining. The place for a special evening for two or business or both. One down note was a family with small children, but they were gone early in our dinner. Service was attentive and helpful. Will definitely return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    36
    9
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Underwhelming”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Needed to make a reservation (understandable) for dinner for four, and when we returned at the appointed time, we were not able to go into the restaurant. We were invited to wait in the lounge where for 15 minutes we were ignored, no one approached us as we sat at a dirty table for a drink - at all. When we were finally seated in the dining room, the food service was "oh so cute" but totally on automatic pilot. Food very overpriced (we live in California so we know about this) and we came away with a less than average experience. Would not return.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Will never eat here again.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

My husband and I were celebrating our 2nd anniversary and decided to eat at this restaurant for the first time. Based off of the reviews it was worth taking a chance. Initially we received a friendly greeting from the host and hostess however after we were seated that's when we were signaled out. The waiter nor the waitress introduced themselves and by the way we had 3 servers. The waitress dropped some mash potatoes on the table as she was serving my husband, apologized but left it there. That was unacceptable however we did not let that spoil our appetite. Normally 4-5 star restaurants who care about their customers get feedback about the service at the end but that never happened here. Every table received truffles at the end along with the check except us. It could have been our race, not sure but we asked another server about it and of course we never saw the other 3 servers. Maybe they were embarrassed and did not want to face us but this was not a good experience. As a customer service manager for a fortune 500 company my expectations are always set high, I only give 100% to satisfy my customers, I critic every restaurant but never give a review. I wish this experience was different and i could provide positive feedback but not in this case. This may be a long review however this may help someone else if they are trying to make a decision about this restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank shimmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rothesay, Canada
Level Contributor
147 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Will avoid in the future!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Not sure what has happened at this popular restaurant, it use to be good. 5-star prices, 2-star food! Waiter was stuffy and quite full of himself, real turn off. For the same price there are wonderful 5-star restaurants in the area. Waste of our time and money! Didn't finish our meal, just paid and left, won't be back!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Katherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food; great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

You could be in NYC or Chicago; great food and service and fine dining at its best. The problem here is the hotel and the varied guests that walk in with crying babies. We were here during Easter/Passover week and not one but two screaming babies accompanied our fine dining experience. What are these parents thinking...obviously not about the other diners.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank theaesthete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hollywood Prime also viewed

Hollywood, Broward County
 
Hollywood, Broward County
Hollywood, Broward County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing