We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Gem on The Boardwalk” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tide Vacation Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hollywood
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tide Vacation Apartments
Save
You added Tide Vacation Apartments to your Saves list
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Gem on The Boardwalk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at the Tide many times. Nestled between Fort Lauderdale and Miami, the Tide is definately a gem on The hollywood Boardwalk. Clean comfortable rooms, relaxing pool at Boardwalk's edge, and only a few steps to the beach. Acoomadating staff, and a great place to lounge and people watch as they carry on their activities up and down the Boardwalk.
dining and live music are just up the Boardwalk, and plenty of gift shops too. We've tried other places in the area, but always come back to the Tide. It is exactly what is needed for a great vacation of relaxing on the beach.

David and Shelley Oklahoma

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with the corner ocean view, or the upper or lower middle rooms with ocean vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    9
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
14
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Great location on the beach. Pool is nice size and clean. Pool deck has plenty of chairs and the beach is 5 steps away. People that run hotel are very friendly and helpful. Most of people that stay there during winter are "snow birds" from the north and Canada. It is like a little neighborhood, everyone comes back and you know everyone. Decor is clean but old. Beds are ok, not as plush as some places, furniture is ok and they do hv flat screen televisions. We r n empty nesters.

Room Tip: Get ocean view upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

If you are looking for glitz and glamour, this is not it. If you are looking for a wonderful value with an older facility with a great pool, lovely people, and ten steps from the beach, this is it. I was very pleased with the accommodations...rooms were old but very clean. I felt safe at all times. Enjoyed watching the people and the surf from our balcony.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

My boyfriend and I were looking for a place to celebrate our 20 yr anniversary and wanted to stay close to my niece. She gave us a few places to look at that she thought we might like. I picked the Tide Vacation Apts because it has a pool right alongside the boardwalk. I'm so happy I did and besides a couple of windy days our trip was wonderful. We had an ocean front apt and the views were incredible. Out one window we could watch the beautiful waves and people going by on the boardwalk. The other window was a side view of the boardwalk and the pool. One of my favorite pass times was sipping coffee at our dining table and watching the early morning joggers and runners go by. Our apt had a bedroom, living room, dining area and small kitchen.
You can walk down the boardwalk for shopping and dining and there are great restaurants within a short drive. We went out some but also stocked our fridge (full size) with food. We even BBQ'ed out by the pool. These apts are not brand new or real upscale but they have everything you need. You can choose between the beach or the pool as they are both right outside your door.
We made friends with some of the guests as it seemed everyone that stayed there was just laid back and down to earth. Susan the manager was so friendly and made us feel comfortable as soon as we got there. She gave us information and directions on everything we needed. She even stayed in contact with us once we returned home.
My sister and her husband stayed in one of the upstairs apts in November and they were very happy as well.
My only regret was that we did not stay longer than one week. We choose to go on a weekend Bahamas cruise as part of our vacation but in reality I would have preferred to have stayed at the Tide's longer. I will definetly be back.

Room Tip: If possible choose one of the ocean front rooms, the view is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Judy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Friendly staff, spacious rooms, fantastic view, excellent location! It is small enough that my baby monitor worked across the full range of the building. I selected a "partial ocean view" room and didn't feel like I missed out on anything; the view was great and it felt like I never left the beach the full week of my stay. The pool faces the ocean, which is another huge plus. The shallow end is not very shallow so little ones who can't swim yet need floaties. The owners seem to be pretty uptight about the very long list of rules, but the upside is you won't find the locals renting a room and inviting their entire extended family, overtaking the grill and the pool, pumping obnoxious music and partying late into the night. It's no Waldorf Astoria but I would rate it 5 stars relative to the other accommodations on Hollywood beach, and probably 3 stars compared to what's available at other destinations I've visited, so I settled on 4 stars. They successfully capture the charming mid-twentieth century feel that is so attractive about Hollywood beach. It's quaint, clean, and relatively quiet with a nice pool on the broadwalk close enough
to walk to the action without the annoyance of it overflowing onto your doorstep when you want to relax.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aarrigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Outdated 1960's furniture & decor. Old German owner needs to put some of her profits back into the property & update it. Too expensive for old decor. Not worth the price. Only thing going for this property is the location of pool right in front of property & on ocean.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Msmycall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

The Tide Vacation apartments were the BEST!! Loved, loved, it!!!! It's right on the beach. The staff were all very nice and accomdating. The pool is refreshing and you can BBQ by the pool. My family and I cooked every night and enjoyed our room to the fullest. It's a short drive to Publix Supermarket and to restaurants. The Broadwalk was also a big plus cause everyone practically exercises, ride bikes or just walks up and down daily from morning to night. You can walk to stores eateries, and listen to live music too. I can't wait to return. I miss being there...:-( Thank you STAFF for being so wonderful to the Malave Family.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Sassy355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hollywood hotels
0.1 mi away
Hollywood Beach Marriott
Hollywood Beach Marriott
#7 of 69 in Hollywood
4.0 of 5 stars 1,368 reviews
0.5 mi away
Caribbean Resort by the Ocean
0.7 mi away
Margaritaville Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach
0.3 mi away
Casa Pellegrino Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Riptide Hotel
Riptide Hotel
#5 of 69 in Hollywood
4.0 of 5 stars 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tide Vacation Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tide Vacation Apartments

Property: Tide Vacation Apartments
Address: 2800 N Surf Rd, Hollywood, FL 33019-3610
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Hollywood
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Hollywood
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Tide Vacation Apartments Hotel Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing