We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Cuban food prepared with love for the food and the customer.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Laura's Cuban

Laura's Cuban
Ranked #76 of 567 Restaurants in Hollywood
Cuisines: Latin, Cuban, American, Caribbean, International, Spanish, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: direct parking
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cuban food prepared with love for the food and the customer.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Cuban food that is all about respect and love for the art of cooking and sharing. This is the place that makes some magic happen with the service and the meal. We had braised ox tail, roasted pork, black beans, rice, plantains, wine and ice tea. Everthing, including the ice tea was either better than most I have had or so different and delicious I had nothing to compare it to. That even includes the ice tea. If you want great food, personal and attentive service, Laura's is a must eat at location. They also stock over 200 varietes of beer, in addtion to a selection of wines, coffees, teas and misc soft drinks.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    18
    9
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Excellent food and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Laura's is very good authentic Cuban food. Laura herself served us. Her flan is delicious! Recommend this restaurant to everyone! Very good!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NikkiRich21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Cuban food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Never ate Cuban food before. Found this place while on travel. Walked in and it was empty. the owner greeted us and were we at home. Extensive bottled beer collection and we helped ourselves; fresh chilled glass per bottle. At the recommended meal (all 3 had different meals) and was very pleased.
Half the experience is the owner, he is a character adn great to chat with.
The other half is really good food and generous portions.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
90 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Food, Friendly Owner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The owner was very friendly and recommended a Cuban dish for us to try. He told us how he made the tables out of wine crates. The food was great, I would go back. The only complaint I have is that we arrived at 1pm when they were supposed to open and they were 10 minutes late opening. We paid about $50 for two alcohol beverages, two sodas, and our meals (plus tax and tip). It took a little while for the food to come out, but everything was made to order... this is not fast food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Terisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The worst!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Extremely slow service - we were the only ones in the restaurant when we got there and it took 30 minutes for the 3 of us to be served.
The girl who brought the menus didn't speak English so couldn't answer any of our questions. The old man that runs the place was dressed like a homeless person. At least he spoke English to take our order but it didn't inspire confidence as to the cleanliness of the place.
The food was horrible -- the palomillo steak was a piece of leather! All of the fried items tasted like they had been fried in old oil. One of us ordered sweet iced tea but it wasn't brought to the table. After waiting patiently for at least 10 minutes, we had to go up to the counter to find someone to notify. They brought the tea, finally -- unsweetened.
I'm really amazed to see the number of good reviews this place has gotten, not only here but on Yelp and other sites. All I can figure is that the reviewers have never tasted REAL Cuban food and have no basis for comparison.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marianne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laura's Cuban also viewed

Hollywood, Broward County
Hollywood, Broward County
 
Hollywood, Broward County
Hollywood, Broward County
 

Been to Laura's Cuban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing