We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good Cuban food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Laura's Cuban

Laura's Cuban
Ranked #95 of 580 Restaurants in Hollywood
Cuisines: Latin, Cuban, American, Caribbean, International, Spanish, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: direct parking
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Cuban food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Never ate Cuban food before. Found this place while on travel. Walked in and it was empty. the owner greeted us and were we at home. Extensive bottled beer collection and we helped ourselves; fresh chilled glass per bottle. At the recommended meal (all 3 had different meals) and was very pleased.
Half the experience is the owner, he is a character adn great to chat with.
The other half is really good food and generous portions.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    18
    9
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
90 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Food, Friendly Owner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

The owner was very friendly and recommended a Cuban dish for us to try. He told us how he made the tables out of wine crates. The food was great, I would go back. The only complaint I have is that we arrived at 1pm when they were supposed to open and they were 10 minutes late opening. We paid about $50 for two alcohol beverages, two sodas, and our meals (plus tax and tip). It took a little while for the food to come out, but everything was made to order... this is not fast food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Terisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The worst!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Extremely slow service - we were the only ones in the restaurant when we got there and it took 30 minutes for the 3 of us to be served.
The girl who brought the menus didn't speak English so couldn't answer any of our questions. The old man that runs the place was dressed like a homeless person. At least he spoke English to take our order but it didn't inspire confidence as to the cleanliness of the place.
The food was horrible -- the palomillo steak was a piece of leather! All of the fried items tasted like they had been fried in old oil. One of us ordered sweet iced tea but it wasn't brought to the table. After waiting patiently for at least 10 minutes, we had to go up to the counter to find someone to notify. They brought the tea, finally -- unsweetened.
I'm really amazed to see the number of good reviews this place has gotten, not only here but on Yelp and other sites. All I can figure is that the reviewers have never tasted REAL Cuban food and have no basis for comparison.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marianne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The worst Cuban restaurant”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

The food was bad, the service was worth less. If you never went to a Cuban restaurant, you probably would not go to one after going to Laura's. portions are small and over priced. Plus if there are only 4 people in the restaurant it should not take 30 minutes to get your food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KeithT202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson Hole
Level Contributor
96 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

When we arrived and asked the young lady to give us advice on Cuban food, we discovered she did not share a language with us. We were disappointed, but in less than 2 minutes a bubbly awesome lady came to our table and made our day! Evidently she got a tip from the first lady that we needed a guiding hand.

Laura herself! Laura was friendly and seemed to have a real passion for sharing knowledge of her home island's food. She made great recommendations and we loved our meal. Laura stopped by our table several times to check in with us. If you are a gringo that wants to learn about another culture's food, what an awesome place to do so!

If we return to Florida, we will be back! :) If you visit Laura's, make sure to ask to say hi to Laura!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ShootInJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laura's Cuban also viewed

Hollywood, Broward County
Hollywood, Broward County
 
Hollywood, Broward County
Hollywood, Broward County
 
Hollywood, Broward County
Hollywood, Broward County
 

Been to Laura's Cuban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing