We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Laura's Cuban

Laura's Cuban
2723 Hollywood Blvd, Hollywood, FL
954-921-9990
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 525 Restaurants in Hollywood
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, International, Contemporary, Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: direct parking
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The worst!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Extremely slow service - we were the only ones in the restaurant when we got there and it took 30 minutes for the 3 of us to be served.
The girl who brought the menus didn't speak English so couldn't answer any of our questions. The old man that runs the place was dressed like a homeless person. At least he spoke English to take our order but it didn't inspire confidence as to the cleanliness of the place.
The food was horrible -- the palomillo steak was a piece of leather! All of the fried items tasted like they had been fried in old oil. One of us ordered sweet iced tea but it wasn't brought to the table. After waiting patiently for at least 10 minutes, we had to go up to the counter to find someone to notify. They brought the tea, finally -- unsweetened.
I'm really amazed to see the number of good reviews this place has gotten, not only here but on Yelp and other sites. All I can figure is that the reviewers have never tasted REAL Cuban food and have no basis for comparison.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marianne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Hollywood, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The worst Cuban restaurant”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The food was bad, the service was worth less. If you never went to a Cuban restaurant, you probably would not go to one after going to Laura's. portions are small and over priced. Plus if there are only 4 people in the restaurant it should not take 30 minutes to get your food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KeithT202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson Hole
Level Contributor
90 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

When we arrived and asked the young lady to give us advice on Cuban food, we discovered she did not share a language with us. We were disappointed, but in less than 2 minutes a bubbly awesome lady came to our table and made our day! Evidently she got a tip from the first lady that we needed a guiding hand.

Laura herself! Laura was friendly and seemed to have a real passion for sharing knowledge of her home island's food. She made great recommendations and we loved our meal. Laura stopped by our table several times to check in with us. If you are a gringo that wants to learn about another culture's food, what an awesome place to do so!

If we return to Florida, we will be back! :) If you visit Laura's, make sure to ask to say hi to Laura!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ShootInJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Love to go local!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This place was so good, and the owner is hilarious. They have wonderful food, empanadas, alcapurrias,and great traditional cuban fare. Also, they have over 250 beers from all over the world. The owner has a very no-nonsense approach and really interacts with the patrons. I felt like I was at a family dinner. Great time!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CASABOHEMIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Best roast pork ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My roast pork was so tasty and tender that it melted in my mouth! The rice with black beans was delicious and the fried plantains were fragrant, sweet but not greasy. My sister had the ox tail stew and it had a little kick to it but again tender and flavorful. To top off this meal, we tried their cuban coffee and was pleasantly surprise. The coffee was very smooth and yummy. What a find in Hollywood. I could not believe how reasonable their prices are for the quality and quantity of the dishes. It has the best cuban food, hands down.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank achsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laura's Cuban also viewed

 

Been to Laura's Cuban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#