We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very average place” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Orale Mexican Restaurant

Orale Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #66 of 574 Restaurants in Hollywood
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Boca Raton, FL
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very average place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

We decided to try this place because it has good reviews here, but were a little disupointed. The food was very much tasteless, especially the salad. Tasted like a grass, and I love salads... Would not go back.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maryna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    46
    16
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

The food is great! Had their Mole, which was amazing! Big portions at great prices. Best Mexican food in Downtown Hollywood!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CApril84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Orale Andale!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

The food was excellent. It is very difficult to find a moderately priced and delicious meal. Orale gets it right. The food was very fresh, a fact that came across in every bite. We had a special for 2 which was served in a hot stone cauldron of sorts. (I forget the Spanish word they used) in it were shrimp skewers with grilled pineapple. There were slices of ribeye steak- real ribeye as I know the cuts of meat. There were thin slices of chicken breast as well as lechon ( roast pork). This was nestled together with sweet onions all grilled and served in it's own divine pot liquor. The side dish of dried beans, rice, lettuce, tomato and guacamole was also very fresh. The guacamole was delicious and I could have made a meal of the beans as they were the best I've ever had. I have lived in Mexico and the food at Orale is the BEST Mexican food I have ever had. The ambience is slightly lacking but the food and service make up for it. I will definitely be back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Cute atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

I had been looking for exactly this kind of Mexican place for a while - not too sophisticated (e.g. Mercadito), but also not a dump (e.g. La Bamba III in Ft Lauderdale). You know, something with lots of sombreros on wood-paneled walls, big margaritas and enchiladas that could make even your mother-in-law stop complaining and smile.
This still isn't quite that good, but it gets close.
I admit, my standards have lowered considerably since moving to South Florida (why is it so hard to find decent Mexican food here???), but Orale is still a great place to get your fajita and margarita fix without having to resort to a chain restaurant.
I had the Camarones del Diablo, which were really, really good. Shrimp in a creamy, spicy sauce. The margaritas are so-so, but they are also pretty cheap.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SunnyMIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Owners great food great great location. Very good all the way around. Juan the manager/owner is great.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Yo777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orale Mexican Restaurant also viewed

Hollywood, Broward County
Hollywood, Broward County
 
Hallandale Beach, Broward County
Hollywood, Broward County
 
Hollywood, Broward County
Hollywood, Broward County
 

Been to Orale Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing