We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Rustic and fresh Cuban food in a humble pathmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Senor Cafe

Senor Cafe
1520 S Federal HWY, Hollywood, FL 33020 25
(954) 929-6218
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #103 of 558 Restaurants in Hollywood
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Latin, Cuban, Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Buffet, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
53 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Rustic and fresh Cuban food in a humble pathmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Had limited time before a commitment and cruising by we noticed Señor Cafe.
Sit your self the sign read. We did and a attractive server came to our table. I ordered a Corona beer and my husband the house Pinot Noir. For Entree I ordered the grilled snapper which it was
Accompanied with onions and red peppers, black beans on the side and broccoli. Very tasty and fresh. My husband ordered fry shrimp with to stones. He found it tasty.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ginoris@aol.com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    24
    3
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Cuban restaurant in the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

It's Cuban food done right! Fried pork chunks, yuca, Cuban sandwiches, cafe con leche. What's not to love?

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank ConansDaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“In Hollywood FL and want Cuban food? So far here is the best place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Outstanding. I have not had the pleasure of having dinner at this restaurant but lunch was excellent. In addition to ordering a la carte they had a buffet which looked outstanding at least in appearance. I am not a buffet person so I would more than likely never try this.

I had pork chunks which were tasty combination of both the white and dark meat, loaded with cumin, garlic and citrus. The rice was normal, the black beans closer to home cooked and the tostones and maduros hot and fresh.

Service was quick and attentive. The staff worked together very well together and were there when you wanted them and away (very busy) when you didnt.

On my way out as an afterthought I ordered one large Cuban Sandwich and a pork sandwich to bring home to my family overseas. I sat at the counter with the locals and sipped a cup of Cuban coffee and caught up on the local scene from the Russian Jewish guy on my left and the Cuban emigre my age on the right.

I had one half of the pork sandwich that night on my flight overseas. I passed up on the first class airline meal. I probably had the best tasting meal on the plane.


I felt right at home. I will most definitely return when I am in the area.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CJPSanRamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good and inexpensive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

The atmosphere is warm, the food is excellent and the portions are very generous. The coffee (regular or expresso) tastes very good.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank DanArg01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“worst Cuban food ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

went there for a buffet with wife and we both agreed, it was the worst we had ever eaten,we wanted to puke it all out once in the parking lot, gross experience.

    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank perucho1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Senor Cafe also viewed

Hollywood, Broward County
Hollywood, Broward County
 
Hollywood, Broward County
Hollywood, Broward County
 

Been to Senor Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing