We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location! Great place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hollywood Sands Resort
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We've stayed here a number of times as friends have a time share here. The resort is in a great location - right on the beach, and boardwalk. Lots of restaurants and stores close by. We loved walking down the boardwalk in the evening - just a great location. Great views too!

The rooms are nice and spacious. Everything you need is in the room. The resort is typical of the area - in need of some updating but Hollywood Sands is, in my opinion, one of the best in the area.

Staff are helpful and friendly. Always with a smile and ready to go above and beyond.

Pool is nice and well maintained. Couldn't swim in the ocean for a few days due to warning flags so we made use of the pool.

My only complaint would be parking and lack of it. This seems to be a problem for the entire area though and not just Hollywood Sands. I also think it was a problem because some of the other guests had visitors at the resort daily taking away from the limited spots.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kelli99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
There are newer reviews for Hollywood Sands Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 71 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2012

The Hollywood Sands Resort, like most of the buildings around here is dated and long overdue for remodeling . Anywhere else this place would have had to do a complete gut rehab or face the wrecking ball. That is not the case here and I would guess that it hasn't had to modernise because it's on the " Boardwalk" and across from the water, and people still pay to stay here. Cramped suites , antiquated amenities ( the bed is as old as the building and has a " hole " in the center ) and while we were here the downstairs was getting new windows , so noisy as well. RCI sent us here last minute becouse the place they sent us to first in Pompano Beach was even a bigger dump and we refused to stay there. In short, if you like atmoshere, newer amenities ( at least from this decade ) and roomier accomodations , I simply can not recommend this place. If you don't care about your room at all and just want to be near the beach than this place may be ok for you.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Louis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

The place was nice enough, very clean inside the room and on the grounds. The problem we encountered was that each room has a wide spot in the outdoor "hallway" in front of their door with chairs and table for sitting outside. First two nights were fine, third night was horrible. The group in the room next to ours violated the rule about quiet hours after 10:00 PM, and got louder and louder as the night went on. I asked them politely to keep it down at 11:30 PM, to no avail. With no management on-site to enforce the policy, there wasn't much we could do but bury our heads under the pillows and try to sleep. At 1:30 AM they were still going, loud and strong. We checked out the next morning.

While this situation is not the fault of the resort, I think it's important to consider that this could happen, when choosing a place to stay. I was there with my young daughter and did not feel that it was appropriate for her.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MinniMom2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

I just got back from a weeks vacation at the Hollywood Sands Resort. This hotel was very nice and very conveniently located near restaurants, ice cream shops, live music and beach all within walking distance. The pool is heated and always very clean. The rooms are also very clean and updated with a full size kitchen. I really enjoyed walking the boardwalk with the kids on their bikes going for pizza and ice cream. The location is wonderful and the fact that you have everything walking distance makes you able to relax and not have to drive out for anything. It's all there... the pool, the beach, the sand, a small water park for the kids to enjoy, live music from a nearby pub, and a cozy room with great cool a/c and clean bed after a nice hot day out in the sun... Bring your bikes, rollerblades, skateboard, sneakers, etc... The boardwalk is amazing!!!

However, management can be a little snotty when it comes to asking for towels, toilet paper and if you need to change the sheets, they ask: "why? what happen?" etc... They can be a bit ridiculous, but overall I still had a great time!

Room Tip: Make sure its on the first floor or at least second floor. They do not have an elevator its a 3 sto...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachlovesme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

We used to stay in this resort when our daughter was younger. Haven't been here for over 10 years, but must say it's really nice. Newly renovated, great spot on the beach, the broadwalk is much better now than before. A real jewel

Room Tip: The building in front is by the pool, the building in back has a tiki hut and hot tub. The front is...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennifer b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

We were in town visiting family and we had a good stay. We found a great rate online so definitely look into that! It was cheaper than on the website. I can't remember the name of the site I booked on.. one of those travel sites. But they have a nice pool and the hotel is in a good location. The customer service was good not exceptional but I would say for the rate we were satisfied. They recommended a good local restaurant called Billy's Stone Crab that we really liked as well. We will prob stay here again when we are back in town next visiting.

Room Tip: They have a pool that is nice.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank misty A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Went again in April. I hadn't been there in two years and won't make that mistake again!! Best beach property and at a great price. The staff were so accommodating. Especially Tami at the front desk. The guests and owners love it here and come back often. We will too.

Room Tip: We stayed in the front building but the back by the hot tub is good too.
Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank marmarBocaRatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hollywood hotels
0.1 mi away
Hollywood Beach Marriott
Hollywood Beach Marriott
#6 of 71 in Hollywood
1,565 reviews
0.5 mi away
Margaritaville Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Caribbean Resort by the Ocean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riptide Hotel
Riptide Hotel
#11 of 71 in Hollywood
724 reviews
2.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach
0.2 mi away
Neptune Hollywood Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Sands Resort

Address: 2404 N Surf Rd, Hollywood, FL 33019-3520
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Hollywood
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Hollywood
Price Range: $134 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hollywood Sands Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hollywood Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Sands Hotel Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing