We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be ok but not for everyone”
Review of Manta Ray Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Manta Ray Inn
Ranked #3 of 70 Hotels in Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
usa
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Could be ok but not for everyone”
Reviewed October 26, 2010

There is no doubt that staying on the beach in Hollywood can be a fantastic experience and this place is certainly on the beach in Hollywood. We booked here based on the fact that it was rated so highly and came in at number 2 on tripadvisor. I am pretty surprised it ranks so highly. In short, if you enjoy communal living or if you are planning a trip with others so you can book a few rooms next to each other then, sure, go for it. Otherwise, you will have to rely on luck as to who your neighbors are and hope that they will respect your space.

We like at least some privacy and some quiet on our vacation and the set up of this place made it impossible. We were unlucky enough to have a noisy group next door who would not quiet down and who insisted on propping their door open most of the day and night (not 3 feet from our door) which made it even worse. We couldn't leave ours open because it was just too unpleasantly loud. Their tv was on so loud that even when their door was closed, we could hear it through the walls. We also heard most of their loud conversations through the wall. Management didn't believe us that noise was a problem, telling us that the walls were too thick for that.

We paid a premium to get the ocean front view and really looked forward to seeing the ocean from our living room window but it was ruined for us due to the couple who decided they liked the view from there too and parked themselves at chairs right in front of our window, not even inches away, to read all afternoon. So, instead of a peaceful, beautiful ocean view, we were treated to the sight of the back of their heads. They were so on top of us that It was like they were sitting in our living room and we had to close our blinds.

To be fair, there are good points about the Manta Ray. It is directly on the sand. It has a great parking spot for guests. The one bedroom apt was big enough and clean enough. There is a great flat screen tv in the living room.

Other not so great points...Although it's usable, the kitchen isn't so great. There is no air conditioning in the living area and despite what some say, no, it doesn't get cool enough in there. Wi fi did not work. It's accurate to say the Manta Ray is an oasis in that it is nestled in an area that is dominated by high rise buildings so immediate surroundings are not so great. Although I wouldn't advise staying in the heart of the broadwalk, this place is actually too far removed from it to get there easily on foot in the evenings to experience it. The broadwalk is very colorful and we enjoy it.

Apparently, most people love this place, but we didn't. Neighbors were just too much in our face and ears.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pipn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    34
    5
    1
    5
See reviews for
128
151
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2010

I am almost reluctant to write this review because I do not want too many people to find this gem on the beach. The rates are reasonable, the rooms sparkling clean, and the owners caring and accomodating. Each room has a kitchenette and the parking is free, both big money savers for a longer trip. I have stayed four times and every aspect has been consistent top notch. The location is perfect, within walking distance of the Broadwalk but not on it, near the Diplomat hotel. The beaches are cleaned every night and there is a lifeguard stand next to the hotel. This is a family place, not a party place. Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidaune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2010

I loved this place, I strongly recommend, if you want to just relax, meet friends and have a beutiful and peaceful vacation.The hotel is small but it has everything you are looking for! You will be directly on the ocean (the best part). Great service from Donna the owner. It's kept very clean. You can do your own BBQ. I am planning to go back very soon.

There's a whole new area called The Village at Gulfstream right down the street from the Diplomat(s) and although some of the shops are still in the process of opening, you'll find some nice shopping there.
There's also the Broadwalk about two mile north of the hotel. If you're into walking, you can walk along the beach until you get to it, but otherwise. The Broadwalk has many of the little touristy shops and restaurants and it's just a nice place to walk.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlmillan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silicon Valley
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2010

We stopped in Manta Ray Inn not having prior reservations. This 12 unit inn immediately appealed to me. It is well laid out, right on the beach, very clean and comfortable. We have a 2 bedroom suite. It has a nice kitchenette and a great view of the ocean.

While it is not a big mega resort with tons of facilities, what it does have is fantastic access to a very nice beach and perhaps the nicest, most attentive service I have ever seen.

My family's adjectives include, comfortable, cozy, friendly service, right on the beach, they don't skimp on anything. Manta Ray Inn has a comforting, old fashioned, family warmth.

We will definitely look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zbyxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainford Uk
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2010

We stayed here in June 2010. Having booked based on trip advisor reviews we were not disappointed. Absolutely perfect location on a gorgeous beach. rooms clean and well provided. Service was very personal and everyone was very helpful. We had a toddler with us and this set up was perfect for us. We will definitely be back here when next in Miami. Really delighted to have found the manta ray.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kd147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2010

Our stay at Manta Ray in was a delight. The hosts are wonderful, friendly people who go out of their way to make everybody's stay extra enjoyable. They were flexible and able to meet out slightly out-of-the-ordinary needs. It's a small hotel with a personal feel, right on the ocean, with a nice swimming pool on site. The rooms aren't fancy but they are pleasant and comfortable, fully stocked kitchenette had everything we needed. Our kids (9 & 13) loved playing in the surf, collecting shells, and even digging in the sand. Plenty of nature activities nearby too, with easy outings to John Lloyd State Park and the Anne Kolb Nature Centre.

The Manta Ray is in Hollywood FL, which is a smaller, friendlier town between Ft Lauderdale and Miami. It is located on a stretch of beach that is just ten minutes walk to the Broadwalk (which has shops and restaurants). Perfect compromise of being near the action, but in a much quieter and less crowded section.

Thanks! I hope we'll be back soon!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nevarco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milwaukee, wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2010

My wife and I have stayed at Manta Ray Inn during the last weeks of November and start of Decemeber for several years and will return again in Nov. 2010. It is full time enjoyment. Everything is first rate including the owners, the suites, the location right on the ocean, the rates, the room cleaning service, the nice people who stay here. We have never been disappointed. The only disappointment is when the day comes and we have to leave. Anyone looking for "a sure thing" will find it at Manta Ray Inn.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bethjehudah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hollywood hotels
0.0 mi away
Margaritaville Beach Resort
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach
1.5 mi away
Casa Pellegrino Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hollywood Beach Marriott
Hollywood Beach Marriott
#6 of 70 in Hollywood
1,542 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marine Villas
Marine Villas
#15 of 70 in Hollywood
235 reviews
1.4 mi away
Caribbean Resort by the Ocean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manta Ray Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manta Ray Inn

Property: Manta Ray Inn
Address: 1715 S Surf Rd, Hollywood, FL 33019-2431
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Hollywood
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
#1 Family Hotel in Hollywood
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#6 Business Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Manta Ray Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our one- and two-bedroom suites are fully equipped to be your home away from home! We provide full daily maid service, free wifi, beach chairs, beach towels, gas grills, heated pool, complimentary movies, on-site laundry facilities, beach toys for your children. Forgot your sunscreen, beach umbrella or sand pail? Don't worry -- we are here to help you out! Rest and enjoy that cocktail as the sun sets and the children play in the sand. We have everything else covered. Hit the beach, hit the pool ... Leave the rest to us. Need to print your boarding pass? No problem! Let the office know and you can do it when the manager is there daily! Want to do something different? Ask us and we will help with creative and fun activities for all of you no matter what your preference! We will make every effort to exceed your expectations and make your getaway memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Manta Ray Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manta Ray Hotel Hollywood
Manta Ray Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing