We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Just Finished our 14th Stay at Manta Ray Inn!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manta Ray Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Manta Ray Inn
Ranked #3 of 69 Hotels in Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Just Finished our 14th Stay at Manta Ray Inn!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We started in one room with two small children and now have two rooms to accomodate two adult children. Each year the property is further spruced up and amenities improve and the number of staff expands. The location of course is a constant with it being right on the beach and close to the Broadwalk with its recreation trail and many restaurants. This year we walked at low tide along the beach quite a ways south and that was spectacular. So too is watching the sun rise out of the ocean around 7am while sipping coffee in a chair either right outside our room or in a beach chair downstairs. The inn is old Florida at its best-small, friendly and unpretentious without the big bucks, noise, elevators or extra charges for parking.

Room Tip: We like 106 and 206 but all are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkyMarkinCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna B, Owner at Manta Ray Inn, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Wow, 14 years! How time really does fly and we are so happy to have our Manta Ray Inn family grow and it has been so much fun to see the girls change from little sweeties to charming young women. I think you are right it will not be long before you need more accommodations! We are definitely blessed to have such great guests as part of our Manta Ray Inn family! See you all in December!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    29
    5
    1
    5
See reviews for
112
140
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampstead, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

This past weekend my husband and I stayed there for two nights. We have stayed at the Manta Ray many times and love it because we know what to expect. Minutes to the Fort Lauderdale airport, family friendly service, a meticulously clean room and about 25 steps to the beach. The hotel units are always being updated, new carpet etc. Having a kitchen is very convenient when you want to just run off the beach and grab a quick lunch or making coffee in the morning and stepping out the door to enjoy your coffee on the beach. As we were checking out the staff were bringing in poinsettias into each room to add a holiday touch to the adorable little hotel.

Room Tip: Bottom floors are tiled, second floor rooms are carpeted. Just a matter of choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna B, Owner at Manta Ray Inn, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
As always, it was a pleasure having you with us again!! Glad you enjoyed your stay and we will see you again in 2014!! Happy New Years!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

. The hotel was perfect, rooms and kitchen were meticulous. Amazing location right on the beach, i absolutely would stay again. The location was outstanding in regards to only being 15 minutes from the airport, 25 minutes from Miami, and the Hollywood broadwalk which is a large walking path along the beach with shops, bars, and restaurants. For those with kids, they even provide beach toys for use while on the beach. They provide you with coffee for the morning, full size fridge, stove, toaster, microwave, etc. Everything you use, they will clean it for you. The shower and bathroom are fine as well. I would absolutely stay here again on my next trip down to Hollywood/South Florida. A+++

Room Tip: Bottom floor is best, walk right out and within 100 feet of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevinc445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna B, Owner at Manta Ray Inn, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
We are so happy that you enjoyed staying with us. Certainly enjoyed having you and our entire staff look forward to your coming back to see us again soon.!! Definitely hope that come back and see us very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Lovely location on the beach, looks nice from outside, reasonably priced. Also, the kitchen is fully-super-equipped (but don't expect luxury). However, I have noticed some flaws that might interest potential guests.
The bathroom is extremely small to the point that is hard to move inside. Feels a little claustrophobic... Also, I've found three spiders in that, which didn't make me happy!
There's no central AC, just a conditioning device in the bedroom... and it's extremely noisy. Another threaten to your sleep may be the mattress: the softest mattress EVER. I really had a hard time trying to get some sleep the first nights, then of course I got used to them. But I didn't expect to deal with this in a certificate-of-excellence kind of hotel... So I was a little disappointed.
Again, cute place on the beach, fully-equipped for anything, but I would consider these issues before booking again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EuropeanTaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna B, Owner at Manta Ray Inn, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us at the Manta Ray Inn! We make every effort to correct any problems that are pointed out to us. In regard to the bathroom we are in the process of having them all completely redone and upgraded. This property was built in 1948 and so it is very much old Florida. We have been exploring the aspect of putting in central air conditioning but at the moment it is a very complicated process in such an old building. Our housekeepers and our staff definitely do their best to make your stay relaxing and enjoyable. We actually have new mattresses that have been made for the Manta Ray Inn with one side being soft and the other side being very firm. If we had known that you were unhappy the office staff would have made sure that the mattress was turned over for you. We do discuss this in the book that is placed in the room to tell you about the Inn but you raise a good point and we will put notes in the bedrooms so that this problem does not bother another guest in the future. I do hope that you will consider giving us another try in the future! We would love you to enjoy the Manta Ray as much as our Manta Ray Inn family does!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Great Superior Small Lodging affiliated Old Florida motel directly on the beach. Family owned and operated. So crisply maintained that the place looks like new, and spotlessly clean. I just returned from a 1 week stay. It was very nice. That the ocean temp was around 80 degrees was a plus. Tom, the manager, goes out of his way to make sure that everything is just right. Just a short walk from the southern end of the "Broadwalk" this motel is perfectly located.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rev_Dennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna B, Owner at Manta Ray Inn, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
It was such a pleasure to have you enjoy the Manta Ray Inn and become one of our Manta Ray Inn family guests!! Old Florida at its' best and it is very gratifying to have customers that really appreciate being right on the beach! Our staff were thrilled that they had met your expectations! We certainly hope to see you very soon! Winter is long and we do have a few spots open, so give us a call when you get too cold and we will see what we can do to help you get away. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We booked this inn solely based on its #1 rating with trip advisor. I called to set up my booking, the person I spoke with and then emailed back and forth with was extremely friendly and helpful. We arrived 3-4 hours before check in time,, they kept our bags for us and let us hang out by the beach then came to let us know when the room was ready. The man who checked us in was very helpful and even went to get our bags from the office for us. They are very clean and comfortable rooms with a wonderful view of the beach and ocean. This is a great little gem on Hollywood beach and I will definitely come back here if I'm in the area again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daniloo84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna B, Owner at Manta Ray Inn, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
We are so happy that you enjoyed your visit with us at the Manta ray Inn even though it was not long enough!! The staff definitely appreciated your comments and we do hope that you will be back to see us again soon!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We have just stayed here for a week,we found it to be very clean and right on the beach,we had a one bedroom apartment which was actually very spacious ,we met one of the owners and she was quick to ask if everything was ok and to not hesitate to tell her if there was a problem with our room,we found this a nice touch,we looked around before booking so close to Miami as a lot of the hotels have a $20 per night parking charge but this hotel comes with free on site parking with your own allocated parking bay ,overall we wouldn't hesitate in recommending this hotel and would stay again next time we are this way

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank stphn196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna B, Owner at Manta Ray Inn, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
It was such a pleasure to meet you and hope that on your next visit we will "exceed" your expectations!! Our staff definitely make every effort to provide you with a great vacation experience in a clean establishment! Please keep in touch and will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hollywood hotels
1.2 mi away
Margaritaville Beach Resort
1.5 mi away
Casa Pellegrino Boutique Hotel
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Caribbean Resort by the Ocean
1.7 mi away
Hollywood Beach Marriott
Hollywood Beach Marriott
#7 of 69 in Hollywood
4.0 of 5 stars 1,368 reviews
1.7 mi away
Riptide Hotel
Riptide Hotel
#5 of 69 in Hollywood
4.0 of 5 stars 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manta Ray Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manta Ray Inn

Property: Manta Ray Inn
Address: 1715 S Surf Rd, Hollywood, FL 33019-2431
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Hollywood
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
#1 Family Hotel in Hollywood
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#6 Business Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Manta Ray Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our one- and two-bedroom suites are fully equipped to be your home away from home! We provide full daily maid service, free wifi, beach chairs, beach towels, gas grills, heated pool, complimentary movies, on-site laundry facilities, beach toys for your children. Forgot your sunscreen, beach umbrella or sand pail? Don't worry -- we are here to help you out! Rest and enjoy that cocktail as the sun sets and the children play in the sand. We have everything else covered. Hit the beach, hit the pool ... Leave the rest to us. Need to print your boarding pass? No problem! Let the office know and you can do it when the manager is there daily! Want to do something different? Ask us and we will help with creative and fun activities for all of you no matter what your preference! We will make every effort to exceed your expectations and make your getaway memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Manta Ray Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manta Ray Hotel Hollywood
Manta Ray Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing