We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad American comfort food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lola's on Harrison

Lola's on Harrison
Reserve with OpenTable
Lola's on Harrison is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #37 of 566 Restaurants in Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 21st Ave
Miami
Level Contributor
113 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Not bad American comfort food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Wish I could have loved this place more. Friendly waittress, but slow service. The salmon tartare appetizer was fine but completely unexceptional. The signature Coca Cola braised ribs were spoiled by the piled deep fried onion rings on top. Ribs themselves were too sweet and a bit sparse for the price tag. This place is not bad, but when you're playing in the comfort food space, you better be remarkable. I kept thinking: "Outback does this as well or better."

    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ItTakesTwoToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    54
    21
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Happy Hour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Happy Hour at the bar with friends, great snacks and half priced drinks... what else could anyone ask for?

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank rcalabre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
382 reviews
298 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Great drinks and food, service needs help”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Went here for dinner on a Wednesday night during a holiday week. The restaurant had people but by no means was it crowded. We went for happy hour which has a limited menu and $2 off drinks. We ordered a round and some apps including crab cake, mushroom tacos, salmon tartar, muscles and braised short ribs. Our waiter was friendly but service was not efficient. We had to ask for bread numerous times and were told they ran out and had to make more even though they do not make it at the restaurant. The portions were very small for the price. The beer selection was large and enjoyable. Will consider going back here but the service needs to get more efficient.

Helpful?
Thank beachtravelerrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Intimate and fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

This restaurant is just RIGHT! The space is used perfectly, the atmososphere is welcoming, the staff is knowlegable and professional, the food is extraordinary, and the ambiance is cozy. It was a perfect place to catch-up with an old friend... quiet enough to talk.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank idografx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE US
Level Contributor
529 reviews
379 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Good food, cranky manager”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We arrived a few minutes early for our reservation and were told we had to wait just a few minutes. As we looked around the place it was clear that no other table for 3 was near finishing. When we pointed this out to the manager and indicated that if he had planned ahead he could have easily sat us and by seating another table of four 1 table over and combining 2 tables for 2 for us. The manager was pissed and said he knew we were coming but other people showed up and they had to be seated. We wondered what reservations meant to him then? He told us that the single tables were booked for other customers. Eventually we were seated in the back dining room with one other table.

Our waiter was fine. Our appetizers were excellent: spicy shrimp, crab cake and tuna tartare. My wife and our friend had excellent mushroom gnocchi. I had ordered the hamburger and at the last minute was told that they could not serve the bun! Would Italian bread do? I said no and ordered the flat iron steak. The steak was a nice bit of meat, but it was nearly ruined by a thick sweet jelly like sauce that tasted like reduced ketchup. Our waiter kindly did not charge me for my food.

We have eaten here on each of nearly annual trips to this area for business over the past 5 years and had looked forward to our meal. We even had a reservation for our last night but after this meal we cancelled it. While some of the food was good, the behavior of the manager was atrocious: also no one ever showed up for the 2 tables that the manager had said were reserved. We shall now run from Lola’s on our next trip to the area.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bondsammax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lola's on Harrison also viewed

Hollywood, Broward County
 
Hollywood, Broward County
Hollywood, Broward County
 

Been to Lola's on Harrison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing