We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its on the beach...enjoy!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hollywood Beach Resort Cruise Port Hotel
Ranked #59 of 69 Hotels in Hollywood
No where, Midwest
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Its on the beach...enjoy!”
Reviewed March 29, 2010

You often hear complaints about this hotel. Its not ultra chic, hip place to be which is fine. You want a room where you can go downstairs walk 50 feet and have your toes in the sand, your there! The staff has always been friendly. they even have a free shuttle to and from the airport during certain hours. We had an issue with our room and maintenance was up there in no time flat. My room was clean, a mini kitchenette (which came in handy at 4:00 am seems the continental breakfast didnt start quite that early) They are renovating but gee 400 rooms take a while. There is a laundry if I needed it. Downstairs is a gentleman that will help you find tours, dinner reservations or a lift to get you somewhere. Security to make sure only guests go upstairs. A couple of gift shops, fast food, coffee shops. Step out the door to OMalleys to get the best Key Lime Pie and Frozen Drink in a coconut monkey that you can find. It sits right next to their really great pool which the only down side is the pool vs. the ocean a few steps away. You are also right on the Broadwalk of Hollywood beach. A unique place in itself and why we continue to visit there. Dont expect the hip crowd it more relaxed, culturally diverse area. There are icecream shoppes, pizza and beer and many various ethnic places that are great. The city has placed a couple of play area for children. A bike/skate path runs down the sidewalk as well (yes there are bike for even 4 available for rent). The beach has many lifeguard stations an covered lounges for rent. There is even an outside ampatheatre that has free concerts on many of the evenings. We at at two wonderful places. Las Brisas where we had the best Argentine steak and Billys Stone Crab the best Blackened Yellow Snapper. The best part is all I have to do is walk right back to my Ramada, and go up to my room. Its on the beach .....enjoy!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Midwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eddmoss, General Manager at Hollywood Beach Resort Cruise Port Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2010
We are delighted to hear that you had a great stay with us at the Ramada Hollywood Beach Resort and Thank you for you wonderful comments. Our saying at the hotel is “Better Beaches, Better Prices and Only minutes away” and you have proven that.

We are located directly on the Atlantic Ocean and O’Malley’s Ocean Bar and Restaurant is right outside the back door with great food, fantastic drinks and live music.

The comments on our housekeeping staff are very much appreciated as they work very hard to give all of our guests “their memorable stay”. Our entire staff realizes that all of guests deserve a memorable stay and work diligently to make sure that this happens for them.

As we are also right out the backdoor you can walk, ride a bike or jog on the 3 mile broadwalk adjacent to the ocean with its shops, restaurants and night life. The broadwalk has a selection of many things to do for every individuals taste. Our beach was voted as one of the best family beaches in the state of Florida and we are very proud of that.

Only steps away from our front door are several other great eating establishments from the “Worlds Beat Hamburger” to four star white table cloth dining. We are centrally located for everyone's convenience.

We are so glad that guests like you find not only great value but are able to walk right out the backdoor and experience “your memorable stay” with us at the Ramada Hollywood Beach Resort.

Thank you again so much for staying with us and we look forward to seeing on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    158
    170
    157
    333
See reviews for
234
300
57
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
pittsburgh, pa.
1 review
Reviewed March 24, 2010

Everyone should spend a week on the beach every year. This place was great! The beach was right out the door and a great bar with good food and fun people was right there too. (OMalley's) Our room was clean and comfortable and we had a beautiful view of the ocean. The board walk went forever with lots of restaurants and shops. The staff was helpful and nice. The price was terrific! We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sally-brooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eddmoss, General Manager at Hollywood Beach Resort Cruise Port Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2010
Thank you for your wonderful comments and we are delighted to hear that you had a great stay with us at the Ramada Hollywood Beach Resort. We have our saying that is “Better Beaches, Better Prices and Only minutes away” and your comments prove that.

We are located directly on the Atlantic Ocean and O’Malley’s Ocean Bar and Restaurant is right outside the back door with great food, fantastic drinks and live music.

We appreciate your kind comments on our housekeeping staff as they work very hard to give all of our guests “their memorable stay” with us as well as our entire staff efforts for our guest comfort.

As it is also right out the backdoor you can walk, ride a bike or jog on the 3 mile broadwalk adjacent to the ocean with its shops, restaurants and night life. Our beach was voted as one of the best family beaches in the state of Florida and we are very proud of that.

We are so glad that guests like you find not only great value but are able to experience a memorable stay. Thank you again so much for staying with us and we look forward to seeing on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2010

My wife and I went down during March Break for R&R and to bring my mother down to stay with relatives for a month. Chose the resort because it was 5 minutes from my uncles' condo and right on Hollywood Beach.

SUMMARY: Initially worried because of the large % of negative reviews but we were overal pleased with the resort and its amenities. Good value for money.

Location: Can't be beat right on the beach. Hollywood Beach Boardwalk is the best. We checked out Fort Lauterdale, Palm Beach and South Miami and Hollywood Beach and Boardwalk was the best. No vehicle traffic

Front Reception: Staff were pleasant and professional.

Room: A bit small but was OK

Service: Maid cleaned room on a daily basis and we were satisfied. A bit noisy as we were next to the service elevator and garbage chute but the noise was done by 5:30pm. Music from O'Malleys Restaurant a bit loud on weekends but was done by 11:30.

Resort: Oceanside Plaza a bit run down but pool was fine, a few of the small stores were great and the continental breakfast was fine.

Parking: No issue: It is runn by a separate firm and cost $90 for the week and $130 for Valet Parking. The front desk recommended self-parking instead of Valet Parking which was a great tip.

We would recommend the resort and would return though we would ask for a larger room facing the water more towartds the middle of the floors.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb-Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eddmoss, General Manager at Hollywood Beach Resort Cruise Port Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2010
We appreciate all of our guest comments and especially your comments as we are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Ramada Hollywood Beach Resort. Thank you for your very nice comments on our staff as they work very hard to give all of our guests “their memorable stay” with us. We are so glad when our guests find not only great value but also are able to experience an enjoyable stay.

As we are located directly on the Atlantic Ocean and after a day at the pool or beach, as it is also right out the backdoor you can also tour the 3 mile broadwalk adjacent to the ocean with it's shops, restaurants and night life. Our beach was voted as one of the best family beaches in the state of Florida and we are very proud of that.

In addition to our Small Studios we also several other room types ranging from our medium studios for two all the way up to One Bedroom Suite with a King size bed for up to four that affords our guest different styles and configurations to accommodate their individual needs.

We are working very hard on completing our renovations which bringing the "Grand Old Lady" back to its original fame and glory that it once enjoyed in the 1920's and 30's. Some of this has already included the hallways upgrading, historic renovations of our lobby and it's new historic look furniture in the lobby, new ceiling tin's throughout the entire hotel, new carpet in throughout all hallways and a brand new guest lounge area that has been furnished with the look of historic furniture from the era when the hotel was built.

We will start the last phase in December of 2010 which will prepare the building for concrete restoration and painting and then add the architectural features to the building

Thank you again so much for staying with us and we look forward to seeing on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2010

I seriously used to think that all the negative reviews on Tripadvisor were written by the staffs at competition properties. Not the case. Every negative review I read about this place was 100% accurate.

Also, note that I did not select this hotel. I was filling in for a person who could not make the trip due to illness.


OK, first the PRO's:
1.) Great beach location. I won't say beach front, cause the beach is in the rear of the property, as it is in most resorts.

2.) Outside bar / restaurant was verygood. Staff was very nice and the food was pretty good.

3.)Pools were nice, but could have been cleaner.

That's it.

Now the CON's:
1.) The lobby... OK, they have renovated to bring the "Old Lady" back to the splendor of the 1920's.Fine and dandy, but the choice of furniture used in the sitting area's is absolutely creppy. In fact, the entire hotel is creepy. Same thing about the really depressing tin ceilings.CREEPY!! So if the decorator was going for a creepy look, it was a success! Job well done! Score!

2.) Halls have been nicely renovated, but the carpeting on the floor we were on was already filthy. What a shame. All that money down the drain. Also, if I was running the renovation project, I would have done the rooms first. This way, the halls would have taken the brunt of the dirt and when all the rooms on a floor were finished, then I would renovate the hall. NOTE: This leads me to believe that the rooms are not going to be renovated, just spruced up a bit.

2.) Our room was in a major need of renovation. OK, that wouldn't have been a major issue if it was at least clean. Most of the reviews on here capture the essence of the rooms, so I don't need to go on about it.

3.) OK, one more comment about the rooms. The "KITCHEN" is a total joke. Looks like the appliances came from a secondhand store. They were so outdated and gross. Why bother? I doubt anyone in their right frame of mind would use them, let alone eat off the gross dishes.

4.) The SHOPPING MALL...Whoooaaa talk about creepy! Looks like most of the tennants abandoned ship in 1930 and the stores haven't been rented since. No need to renovate down here, as it's already creepy enough to match the renovated lobby upstairs.

5.) While downstairs, I'll write about the little bodega near the front door. It has this unidentifable smell. Sort of like incense. Also, very,very expensive.

6.) Valet Parking...What a rip off. I'm not sure if it's part of the hotel, or run idependently. I guess somehow they use the money they make on the valet parking to pay off the health inspectors!

7.) The free continental breakfast is a diabetic's worse nightmare. Nothing but carbohydrates! If you want some protein, cough up a few bucks extra. OK, to be fair, it is posted that the additional good stuff is extra cost. Fair is fair.
By the way, the place to eat the breakfast would be nice if it was clean! Don't put your arms on the tables cause they will stick to them!

My suggestion: Do yourself and your family a favor and stay elsewhere. Try one of the small mom and pop places along the beach, or if you are watching your budget, try a chain hotel away from the beach.

Thanks and enjoy Hollywood Florida.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjb8853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eddmoss, General Manager at Hollywood Beach Resort Cruise Port Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2010
We appreciate all guest comments and thank you for yours regarding our historic hotel. We are working diligently to complete our historic renovations. We have completed the 1st and 2 phase of our 3 stage renovation project which have included the upgrading of the hallways, new carpet in all the hallways on all floors, elevator lobby's, a new guest lounge on the second floor, new historic look furniture in the lobby, the new ceiling tin's throughout the entire hotel, a new security door entrance and exit door leading to the hotel floors that only our guest or security personnel can access.

Our last step to start in December 2010 will be to prepare the building for concrete restoration and painting and then add all the ornate architectural features to the building bringing the "Grand Old Lady" back to its original fame, glory and exquisite look that it once enjoyed in the 1920's and 30's. In addition the upgrade will include the other areas of the property.

Housekeeping and Maintenance are very important areas to ensure that the amenities that we offer are the best possible to make sure that our guests receive the value and comfort that they deserve. We review daily with both our management staff of housekeeping and maintenance any issues that our guest may have that needs to be handle along with any other issues that we are aware of. This is done to correct any immediate problems / issues and with a preventive maintenance and housekeeping schedule to head off any future issues.

The parking that is available for our guest and as most places on the beachfront have a nominal fee associated with this. Our guest can either valet park at the fort entrance or we have a self parking garage located right on the property.

Our complimentary breakfast that is included for two daily with each one of our room types offers many different things, including toast, bagels, cream cheese, margarine, fruit bowls, 6 different kinds of cereals, oatmeal, grits and many different types of pastries and for a slight upgrade fee you can get made to order omelets, bacon, home fries, pancakes and French toast.

Our open air, ocean restaurant and bar offer live music, great food, interesting cocktails and give our guest a picture perfect view of the beach and ocean as it is located directly on the ocean side.

For all our guest use and convenience we have an on-site convenience store that has all the staples needed for your cooking and eating needs.

In addition all of our rooms are equipped with kitchens that include stoves, microwaves, coffee makers, toaster, etc. to prepare their own meals if the choose if they are tired for a beautiful day on the beach or our 3 mile broadwalk with shops and additional eatery’s.

We value all of our guest and their comments to help us to make their stay enjoyable. It was very nice to hear about our entire staff as they work exceptionally hard to ensure that every guest is made to feel special. Thank you again for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2010

We checked in and had to schlepp our luggage up to our outdated room by ourselves. Upon opening the door to the room we were greeted by an unpleasant, undistinguishable odor. Turned on the airconditioning to freshen the room thinking it was just musty. Went for dinner, came back and the odor was worse. Couldn't quite identify it, so we tried to go to sleep. My husband finally went down to complain and request a different room, was told they were full. Maintenance man came up and said the gas stove in the room had been unplugged by housekeeping, pilot out, therefore gas fumes were being emmited into the room!!!!!! He turned off the main valve the opened the window!!! Please be aware and report any unusual smells immediately!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjpConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eddmoss, General Manager at Hollywood Beach Resort Cruise Port Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2010
We value our guests and their comments and want everyone to have a pleasurable experience as guests of our hotel. Maintenance and quality control are very important areas to ensure that the amenities that we offer are the best possible to make sure that our guests receive the value and comfort that they deserve.

We do regret to hear that you found these issues and these have been immediately reviewed with our director of our maintenance and maintenance supervisors to correct any future issues.

In addition we are also working diligently to complete our historic renovations. We have completed the 1st phase of our 3 stage renovation project which have included the upgrading of the hallways, elevator lobby’s, new guest lounge area with full Wi-Fi access, new historic look furniture in the lobby, new ceiling tin’s throughout the entire hotel, a new security door leading to the hotel floors that only our guest or security personnel can access.

The second step to start in Spring 2010 will be to prepare the building for concrete restoration and painting and adding the architectural features to the building bringing the “Grand Lady” back to its original fame and glory that it once enjoyed in the 1920’s and 30’s.

Our concierge staff that is available to help any of our guests with their luggage and do apologize that they could not assist you upon your arrival.

Again thank you for your comments as our entire team use these to continually strive to make our guest stay as enjoyable and memorable as possible,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Prospect, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2010

Having stayed here last year and leaving impressed, I booked another stay this year with friends. The room we were given was most likely one of the older ones and could have been cleaner. The bathroom was also moderately clean but no water pressure, rusty fixtures, and very small. We requested extra towels as there were 4 of us and had to ask 5 more times until we received them!! On the up side, O'Malleys was great, the broadwalk was very nice, and pool and beach impressive, although the pool employee did not speak English and demanded money to pay for cushions. Very rude.
As this hotel is in a great location, it would be great if money was spent on the updating of the bedrooms, particularly the bathrooms. What a turn off to see the hotel from the outside and the dreary rooms inside. I might return if I get a good rate and the weather is warmer so I won't be inside as much.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelgirlMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eddmoss, General Manager at Hollywood Beach Resort Cruise Port Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2010
We sincerely appreciate your comments. We are focusing on completing all of our renovations as quickly as possible and doing everything possible not disrupt our guest stay. We have been able to complete the 1st two stages of our total renovation project.

Some of the projects accomplished have included the hallways upgrading, new carpet in throughout all hallways, a brand new guest lounge area that has been furnished with the look of historic furniture from the era when the "Grand Lady" was first built and also includes full Wi-Fi access, the historic renovations of our lobby and it's new historic look furniture in the lobby, new ceiling tin's throughout the entire hotel, a new security door leading to the hotel floors that only our guest or security personnel can access.

The next step to start in Spring 2010 will be to prepare the building for concrete restoration and painting and then add the architectural features to the building bringing the "Grand Old Lady" back to its original fame and glory that it once enjoyed in the 1920's and 30's.

Customer service is a very important issue with us and your amenities issues have already been addressed with our Director of Housekeeping.

Our Winter Season has been unusual as the cold snaps have lingered much longer than normal as the rest of the country is experiencing.

O’Malley’s Ocean bar and restaurant is loaded with great food, incredible views of the ocean and a helpful staff! You can enjoy the 3 mile broad walk and with it's shops, beach, eating establishments and a biking, jogging or walking pace. We value all of our guest and their comments to help us to make their stay enjoyable. Thank you again for your comments and we will be working diligently to finish our renovations for you to allow us to serve you on your next return stay in our newly renovated historic look property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 2, 2010

I stayed at Ramada for 3 day to visit my boyfriend's family and man was I dissapointed. The pictures looks really nice online but when I got there: The staff was unfriendly, they charge you $15 a day for parking, the room was sooo tiny, smaller then my bed room, I couldn't even move. Kitchen was rusty, carpet was nasty, and don't forget they want a $200 deposit when u check in. I could go on for hours.But to make long story short I was not please with my stay. The only thing I liked about this hotel was the beach in the back.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mderisier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eddmoss, General Manager at Hollywood Beach Resort Cruise Port Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to share with the hotel management your experience while staying at the Ramada Hollywood Beach Resort. We are sorry to hear about the service issues and these are unacceptable. We take all of our guest issues very seriously and have already addressed these with our the department directors of housekeeping, maintenance and all appropriate staff to be sure they have been contacted and is making the necessary adjustments to correct these issues These are very important areas to us and we want to be sure that we offer the best possible service to ensure that our guests receive the value, the condition and promptness that our guest find appropriate. We do have like most property’s a security deposit for incidentals, such as long distance phone calls, room charges from our restaurant, etc, that is refund back to our guest when they check out. We have completed the first stages of our renovations project and are focusing on completing all of our renovations as quickly as possible and in doing this doing everything possible not disrupt our guest stay. Some of the renovations accomplished have included the hallways upgrading, new carpet in throughout all hallways, a brand new guest lounge area that has been furnished with the look of historic furniture from the era when the "Grand Lady" was first built and also includes full Wi-Fi access, the historic renovations of our lobby and it's new historic look furniture in the lobby, new ceiling tin's throughout the entire hotel, a new security door leading to the hotel floors that only our guest or security personnel can access. The third step to start in Spring 2010 will be to prepare the building for concrete restoration and painting and then add the architectural features to the building bringing the "Grand Old Lady" back to its original fame and glory that it once enjoyed in the 1920's and 30's. We value all of our guest and their comments to help us to make their stay enjoyable. Due to the location of our property and similar to all other beach front areas we have several ways to park which include valet parking and self parking in our on site garage, both are available at a nominal fee. Thank you again for the valuable input!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hollywood hotels
0.7 mi away
Caribbean Resort by the Ocean
1.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach
1.0 mi away
Hollywood Beach Marriott
Hollywood Beach Marriott
#6 of 69 in Hollywood
1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hollywood Beach Hotels
Hollywood Beach Hotels
#35 of 69 in Hollywood
276 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sheldon
Hotel Sheldon
#23 of 69 in Hollywood
189 reviews
0.8 mi away
Neptune Hollywood Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Beach Resort Cruise Port Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Beach Resort Cruise Port Hotel

Property: Hollywood Beach Resort Cruise Port Hotel
Address: 101 North Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019-1728 (Formerly Ramada Hollywood Beach Resort)
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hollywood Beach Resort Cruise Port Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Hollywood Beach Resort Cruise Port Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Beach Resort Cruise Port Hotel Hollywood
Ramada Hollywood Beach Hotel
Ramada Hollywood Beach Resort
Hollywood Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing