We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Beach & Access to Boardwalk, Older Resort under Rennovation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hollywood Beach Resort Cruise Port Hotel
Ranked #61 of 71 Hotels in Hollywood
McLean, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice Beach & Access to Boardwalk, Older Resort under Rennovation”
Reviewed December 2, 2009

My wife and I just returned from a Thanksgiving trip to Hollywood, FL, staying at the Hollywood Beach Resort. Built in the 1920s, then ravaged by a hurricane almost immediately, this resort has had a tough history. Current owners are attempting to bring it back to it's glory days, but have a way to go. Rooms (we switched rooms because the first was in a poor location) were adequately furnished including kitchenettes. Views of the ocean were nice although there are no balconies from which to sit and admire the views. Staff was agreeable enough although the concierge was not much help in finding good restaurants and reasonable transportation.

The hotel has a beach-front bar called O'Malleys which is wildly popular with the locals, and offers reasonably priced drinks. Wednesday night ladies drink free from 7:00-10:00, thus the drunken ladies when we arrived :-) There is a "Mall" on the lower level but it is kind of depressing - not much af any interest -, just junky beach shops.

Avoid the rude coffee stand owner on the lower level, and head up the beach for better coffee and no insults at other establishments. Enjoy the beach, the nice pool with Jacuzzi, and easy access to a wonderfully nice beach.

If you are OK with a less than 4-star resort, don't need pampering, and want to relax at a resort with beach access and views, this is an OK place. Price compare though, it is definitely NOT a first-rate property.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patinvirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eddmoss, General Manager at Hollywood Beach Resort Cruise Port Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2009
We really appreciate your comments and thank you for them regarding our historic hotel. We have completed the first 1st phase of our 3 stage renovation project which has included upgrading of the hallways, elevator lobby’s, new guest lounge area with full Wi-Fi access, new historic look furniture in the lobby, new ceiling tin’s throughout the entire hotel, a new security door leading to the hotel floors that only our guest or security personnel can access. The second step to start in Spring 2010 will be to prepare the building for concrete restoration and painting and then add the architectural features to the building bringing the “Grand Lady” back to its original fame and glory that it once enjoyed in the 1920’s and 30’s.We are working hard to complete our historic renovations but doing this that we don't intercede on our guest stay. The broadwalk is 3 miles of shops, restaurants and nightlife that has a walking, jogging and bicycling path right along the ocean and also right out our backdoor our open air, Oceanside bar and restaurant for all our guests convenience. We value all of our guest and their comments and thank you for yours. We look forward seeing you on your next stay in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    160
    171
    157
    335
See reviews for
237
300
57
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2009

Stayed here for 3 nights . We only payed £95 as we used some nectar points we had and booked through Expedia. The hotel is clean but in need of an update there are not really any places to go near the hotel it is best to have a car. The hotel charge $15 a night to park your car which I think is a bit expensive.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matthewpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eddmoss, General Manager at Hollywood Beach Resort Cruise Port Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2009
Thank you for your comments and we are delighted to hear about your stay with us at the Ramada Hollywood Beach Resort. Our housekeeping and maintenance departments take pride in their work to ensure the best possible services and accommodations to our guest. We are working diligently to complete our historic renovations and at the same time not disrupt our guest stay. We have completed the 1st and 2nd phase of our 3 stage renovation project which have included the upgrading of the hallways, elevator lobby's, new guest lounge area with full Wi-Fi access, new historic look furniture in the lobby, new ceiling tin's throughout the entire hotel, a new security door leading to the hotel floors that only our guest or security personnel can access. The third step to start in spring 2010 will be to prepare the building for concrete restoration and painting and then add the architectural features to the building bringing the "Grand Lady" back to its original fame and glory that it once enjoyed in the 1920's and 30's. We are located directly on the 3 mile Hollywood Beach Broadwalk with shops, restaurants and nightlife. Within a five minute walk we have over seven different restaurants and located directly on our property we have our own O’Malley’s Ocean Pub and Restaurant. In addition we have 5 other eating establishments located on our property. We review the parking service on an ongoing basis to be sure that we are offering our guest the best service and rates. We have valet service available along with the self parking garage on site for our guest convenience. There is also bus and cab service available at nominal fees for outside excursions. We value all of our guest and their comments and strive to ensure that all of our guest has a memorable stay. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you on your next stay in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
1 review
Reviewed November 10, 2009

We could not have been more disappointed with our stay at this "resort!" This hotel was the most run-down, filthy, and actually scary looking hotel that we have ever stayed in. Although we ended up in an ocean view room, that is, after being in one that looked somewhat like a dungeon, the view of the ocean was compromised by the frosted and stained ancient wondows. The beach and palm trees would have been beautiful had we seen them through clear, clean glass. The toilet looked as though it belonged in an outhouse. The refrigerator coils faced the living room and provided quite a sight as we relaxed and watched television. The bathroom baseboard had obviously not been wiped off in ages, and the entire room smelled extremely musty. The only good thing about the room is that our five year old daughter was not with us. I am not quite sure where she would have slept or bathed. Quite honestly, I would not have been very comfortable with her swimming in the pool either.
The parking charges were ridiculoous. We were told that for $15 a day we could "come and go as much as we pleased" Gees, thanks, Ramada, how very kind of you. A hotel in this kind of condition should not be charging extra for anything - not parking, not towels, not omelettes, nothing.
In addition, the so called continental breakfast is a joke. If you are lucky enough upon check -in you will receive a slip of green paper entitling you to some toast or a danish, but upon arrival you are directed towards a bulletin board of different things that can be purchased. Two people stood here the entire time, making sure everyone has there slip, but no one ever seems to be concerned about the crumbs or stickiness on the table, ot the floor that very badly needs a good Bissell job.
The glass doors leading to the pool deck are attrotious. They look like animals had been licking them for weeks. They probably were as the hotel has posted that animals are not allowed, and we, indeed saw three of them on our three day stay.
In closing, I would like to say that the staff was extremely helpful and very kind. It would be great to see these very friendly and helpful people find jobs in a much nicer hotel. O'Malleys bar had some of the most delicous food and awesome waitors that we had on our entire trip! When we were at O'Malley's, it was the only time we were in the hotel. However, we have never experienced a more undesirable hotel on a vacation. A "resort" is supposed to be a clean, pristine, and beautiful place that guests should thoroughly enjoy after spending hard earned money for a long awaited getaway. The Ramada does not provide any of it. Don't waste your time or money - instead of having to get in your car and drive somewhere nicer each day, STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE - this hotel is equal to living in the slums. If you live in a nice, clean home, you do not want to go anywhere near the Ramada Hollywood Beach Resort!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MacKarenZoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eddmoss, General Manager at Hollywood Beach Resort Cruise Port Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to share with the us your experience while staying at the Ramada Hollywood Beach Resort. We have embarked on a historic renovation project and have completed the first phase which completely enhanced the hallways, elevators and lobby areas. The elevators have been given a face lift and new flooring has already been installed. The hallways have all of the exposed pipes hidden behind a coffered ceiling, new antique lighting installed above each door, and new antique lighting with a 1920s look in each coffer. Next we installed new decorative doors and jams and new electronic locks, paint, made wall repairs as necessary and then install a new printed pattern carpet that reflects both the look and feel of the 1920’s. In addition the hallways received air conditioning to eliminate the musty smell. We have re-created the Lobby of the 1920’s and 1930’s. The Lobby is expanded to encompass all of the space from the front door to the Glass elevator. We regret to hear about the issues that you found and these are unacceptable and have been immediately attended to with the director of our housekeeping department, maintenance director, room attendants and supervisors We value our customers and their opinions and want everyone to have a pleasurable experience as guests of our hotel. Housekeeping and Quality control and maintenance are very important areas to ensure that the amenities that we offer are the best possible to give each one of our guests the value and cleaniness they deserve. We look forward to you staying with us again in the future and to show you we have worked for you to correct these issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2009

My wife and I and My parents just came back from Sunny Florida and we had a great time at the Ramada Hollywood Resort ,We had asked for 2 renavated rooms with Ocean Front views and we received them.The view was breath taking each morning to wake up to. The rooms were recently renavated with flat screen tv's, king sized beds,fridge, stove &oven, sink.We made use of the kitchen as when you are staying for a week it gets costly to eat out every day plus you can enjoy a home cooked meal right in your room.
The location was nothing but perfect, you are right on the Broadwalk, close to the beach, and you can walk for blocks on the Broadwalk which has all the sovienier shops and restauraunts with patio sitting you can ask for. The best was O'Malley's Ocean Pub, which has great food good cocktailsand friendly staff. We had nightcaps there right by the Ocean after a long day of relaxing. The pool was great and the hot tub. The pool chairs are free to use and they aloud us to bring our drinks into the pool area which was handy.The pictures through out the hotel of years gone by makes you really appreciate the establishment that you are in as there is alot of history. They are in the beginning of rentavating the outside of the building . The hall ways have all been done and most of the rooms have been done already. The downstairs lobby has a convienient store where you can get anything you need from fruit to beer to bread etc. There are small shops in side and a few restaurants as well. The free continental breakfast was great it would tie you over until lunch. They also offer a full all you can eat breakfast for $5.99 if you want a big breakfast.After reviewing some of the reviews we were a little un sure if we should stay here but we made a great choise.You can't beat the location and the price of $90.00 a night for Ocean Front view renavated rooms, in a Great Historical Hotel,Close to everything,I would come back again. So you have to pay $15.00 a day for the parking garage, at least your car is safe,and you can leave it there and just walk down the Broadwalk as everything you need is walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dolphin72Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eddmoss, General Manager at Hollywood Beach Resort Cruise Port Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2009
We are delighted to hear that to you had a wonderful stay with us at the Ramada Hollywood Beach Resort. Thank you for your comments and we are thrilled to hear that you found the use of our oceanside heated pool and broadwalk so enjoyable on your recent stay. With our location we are convenient to many restaurants, shops and nightlife on the broadwalk. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you on your next stay with us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2009

The hotel is a landmark and at one time was quite beautiful. The old photos throughout the hotel are nice to look at. The staff was very nice and room was clean. However, there is no sleeping here. The walls are so thin you can hear EVERYTHING in the adjoining rooms. People coming and going all night in the halls making noise. The road is elevated in front of the hotel and you can hear the cars, trucks and motorcycles all night long. The windows don't close tightly, adding to the street noise. Had to go home to get some sleep. Maybe the rennovations will alleviate these issues. O'Malleys Pub is fun and food was good.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daytonatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Island
2 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2009

How bad can a hotel be on the Atlantic Ocean? The location is superb - directly on the boardwalk. The pub outside is nice. The hotel, built in the 1920s, does have possibilities, but they have a long way to go. We were able to secure the six nights through a vacation club, so our rate was excellent. But the first thing we saw when entering the room is an exposed electrical box with switches showing. The windows (scheduled to be replaced) leak like a sive (water and wind).

The in-room high speed internet was a real treat.

We asked twice for toilet paper - but since we were in a time share we could only get that from them on Wednesday (the maid did give us a roll) even though someone each time we asked said they'd send it right up.

The consierge people (except for one smart alic man) were very helpful.

Parking costs extra ($15-$18 depending upon self or valet parking).

We had a great time (especially at South Beach). Probably wouldn't go back to that hotel or Hollywood Beach.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fun59RI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eddmoss, General Manager at Hollywood Beach Resort Cruise Port Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2009
We appreciate your comments. We are focusing on completing all of our renovations as quickly as possible and in doing this doing everything possible not disrupt our guest stay. We have been able to complete the both the 1st and 2 stages of our total 3 stage renovation project. Some of the projects accomplished have included the hallways upgrading, new carpet in throughout all hallways, a brand new guest lounge area that has been furnished with the look of historic furniture from the era when the "Grand Lady" was first built and also includes full Wi-Fi access, the historic renovations of our lobby and it's new historic look furniture in the lobby, new ceiling tin's throughout the entire hotel, a new security doors leading to the hotel floors that only our guest or security personnel can access for complete guest peace of mind. The third step to start in Spring 2010 will be to prepare the building for concrete restoration and painting and then add the architectural features to the building bringing the "Grand Old Lady" back to its original fame and glory that it once enjoyed in the 1920's and 30's. We value all of our guest and their comments to help us to make their stay enjoyable. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to seeing you on your next stay in our newly renovated historic look property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2009

I traveled with my husband and 3 year old boy. We had a great time. Although the hotel room was a bit dated; it was large, it had a small kitchen, 2 beds and small bathroom. Walls were stark - off white walls, floors and bathroom made it look cold. But the window treatments and comforters were all tropical which helped. We had a great view of the pool and ocean, so who cares about the room's decor.
This hotel has a great pool, kiddie pool and hot tub. The hot tub was much too hot to enjoy.
We also had a free breakfast every morning.
Cost of eating was reasonable. The hotel is on the boardwalk/ocean which has lots of restaurants to choose from-all with open air seating. Very nice. Also, the food court in the hotel was really reasonably priced. Thankfully my son likes pancakes which were served all day long for $3. Eggs and toast for $2!
Beach is beautiful and well kept. Soft sand, not rocky. Local stores sell sand toys and beach umbrellas. Not alot of shade though. Full sun all day until early evening.
Overall, a great vacation!
Overall, it was a great getaway.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RussinChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eddmoss, General Manager at Hollywood Beach Resort Cruise Port Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2009
Thank you for your comments and we are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Ramada Hollywood Beach Resort. All of our rooms have kitchens which the guest can use to cook their own meals or several great restaurants in the area within walking distance. Our heated oceanside pool and hot tub are available from early morning till late afternoon. After a day at the pool or beach, as it is also right out the backdoor You can tour the 3 mile broadwalk adjacent to the ocean with it's shops, restaurants and night life. Our beach was voted as one of the best family beaches in the state of Florida and we are very proud of that. We are so glad when our guests find not only great value but also are able to experience an enjoyable stay. Thank you again so much for staying with us and we look forward to seeing on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hollywood hotels
0.7 mi away
Caribbean Resort by the Ocean
1.1 mi away
Hollywood Beach Marriott
Hollywood Beach Marriott
#6 of 71 in Hollywood
1,560 reviews
1.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hollywood Beach Hotels
Hollywood Beach Hotels
#39 of 71 in Hollywood
277 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sheldon
Hotel Sheldon
#26 of 71 in Hollywood
195 reviews
0.8 mi away
Neptune Hollywood Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Beach Resort Cruise Port Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Beach Resort Cruise Port Hotel

Property: Hollywood Beach Resort Cruise Port Hotel
Address: 101 North Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019-1728 (Formerly Ramada Hollywood Beach Resort)
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hollywood Beach Resort Cruise Port Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Expedia, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hollywood Beach Resort Cruise Port Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Beach Resort Cruise Port Hotel Hollywood
Ramada Hollywood Beach Hotel
Ramada Hollywood Beach Resort
Hollywood Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing