We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well the beach and boardwalk were nice!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hollywood Beach Resort
Ranked #61 of 73 Hotels in Hollywood
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Ok so my daughter and I just returned from a 6 day stay at the resort. We rented a condo from a private owner and although it was redone to be clean and comfy, there were just too many negatives about the actual resort. First of all, the front desk staff is completely incompetent. They seem as if they could care less about the customers. The first night I asked the front desk for a blanket as our room only had a sheet. They gave me a thin fleece blanket that literally had about 100 cigarette burns on it. It was gross. So then to the smoking issue.... I am not a smoker and don't have a problem if people choose to smoke, but they shouldn't be allowed to do it in a hotel. It was so bad one night that my daughter woke and her hair stunk of stale smoke. I put a towel under the door and nothing helped. I asked the front desk and they said that there was nothing they could do. If they are hotel guests they are not allowed to smoke but if they are renting a private room there is nothing they would do. The elevators are so old that my daughter, a six year old, and I got stuck in one between floors. She was terrified and so was I! Also, it is the nosiest place I have ever stayed. The pool is wonderful, the beach is as well and so is the boardwalk but when we return we will likely go elsewhere. It is a shame because this resort is so old and if taken care of could be luxurious.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (913)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

293 - 299 of 913 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2013

Yes this place is a grand ol dame, which in florida terms means its glory days are past but i really enjoyed it. If you want gleaming everything go to a comfort suites or hampton inn. If you dont mind old fashioned furnishings and repainted things come here. Maybe there are some rooms in bad repair but ours was clean, nice bed and bath with an oceon front view, very beautiful out over the lovely pool. I think they called our room a delux studio. I thought the breakfast was pretty good being continental and my husband ordered extra things off the menu and thought they were delicious. They were constantly cleaning everywhere and the pool and whirlpool were in good shape. I loved the heated pool and whirlpool. The whirlpool was big and actually hot. I liked the pool waterfall i actually got under it and massaged my tired shoulders. Most of the stores were open in the mall and it didnt bother me that some werent. I appreciated having the convenience store right there for snacks and suncream. I loved the little dress shop out by the pool and found several casual dresses at good prices for my daughter. The location was perfect right at the end of the boardwalk along the ocean with tons of good restaurants bars and shops. Despite it being spring break it was a very family oriented place. Loved the boardwalk was so retro and would really like to bring my teenagers. While wavy the ocean out front had beautiful clear water for at least twenty feet. I saw restaurants of every type down town and want to explore that more next time. Go left when you face the beach and thats where most of the shops and restaurants are. Stopped at this pavillian like place and listened to a free blues concert. Make sure you schedule your shuttle from the airport a few hors ahead of time. I will definately be back, next time with the kids.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sswingfieldky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry W, Manager at Hollywood Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thanks so much for the Review on the Historic Hollywood Beach Resort.. I am the new Manager here at the hotel. Anytime you need anything please let my staff or myself know.
Thanks Jerry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

While the location and pool are great, it just doesn't make up for the dirty carpets, smelly hallways, abandoned creepy mall, roaches, and seedy people. The hotel is just dirty in general, and you can smell it throughout the place. The front desk says nothing when you get there. Here is your key. No information about where things are. Our bathroom ceiling started to leak and the plaster was falling off the ceiling. Couldn't store anything in there. Paper thin walls. The family next to us spoke very loud, so the neighbor got angry and opened his door and blasted his music. At times, i felt like i was in the twilight zone. We left halfway through our stay in Florida and finished it out in a Hampton Inn. I felt like i was in Trump plaza after that place. I try to take reviews with a grain of salt, so we really did give it a fair chance and now i am wishing i didn't stay that long. I am concerned of what may have traveled back with us in our suitcases :( Don't be fooled by the owner units either. We stayed in one. It is the same thing. Find another place.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry W, General Manager at Hollywood Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear Guest. The Historic Hollywood Beach Resort is under new management since 04/02/2013 we will make sure that the problems will be addressed properly . Please feel free to contact me during your future trips because I want to make sure that I take care personally of you and your stay . I have attached below my contact information for your convenience. Thanks again

Kind Regards
Jerry W Walker
Jerrywalker19@gmail.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I just returned from 8 nights at this property. My friend and I have differing views of the experience. She was disgusted with the run down hotel, almost empty downstairs "mall", dirty carpets, musty smell, etc. but I felt that the location made up for a great deal. The pool is large and clean and the beach is steps away. We rented bikes in one of the stores down the broadwalk and enjoyed several local restaurants. We stayed in Room #714 which is a condo that we rented through vrbo.com. It had a king bed and a futon. We used the refrigerator, microwave and stovetop but not the oven. It was nice to have those appliances and dishes. We took the trolley for $2 each and went down to the Publix supermarket for groceries which helped with expenses. The people we dealt with at the front desk seemed clueless but we didn't have to interact with them much. The concierge seemed to know what he was doing and gave us a ride to the airport when our early morning flight made getting a taxi difficult. Overall, we wouldn't stay again but the location is ideal.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shiredawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry W, General Manager at Hollywood Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear Guest. The Historic Hollywood Beach Resort is under new management since 04/02/2013 we will make sure that the problems will be addressed properly . Please feel free to contact me during your future trips because I want to make sure that I take care personally of you and your stay . I have attached below my contact information for your convenience. Thanks again

Kind Regards
Jerry W Walker
Jerrywalker19@gmail.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stayed one night here, came back from shopping the next night, turned on lights, COCKROACHES everywhere! Was told they had sprayed the first of the week. Left at 1 30 am after searching for another accomadation. :(

Room Tip: All rooms probably have cockroaches :(
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank svea-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry W, General Manager at Hollywood Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear Guest. The Historic Hollywood Beach Resort is under new management since 04/02/2013 we will make sure that the problems will be addressed properly . Please feel free to contact me during your future trips because I want to make sure that I take care personally of you and your stay . I have attached below my contact information for your convenience. Thanks again

Kind Regards
Jerry W Walker
Jerrywalker19@gmail.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed at this hotel 3/1-3/3/2013. This hotel website shows a picturesque 1920's vintage hotel. Ideal for a weekend vacation on the beach. My two friends and I were looking forward to spending a few days together at this hotel for a short "girl friends" weekend. The weather was not in our favor but if the hotel and its management had lived up to its advertising and word, the weekend would have been good anyway. To start my friends adult son spent about an hour in Jan. with one of the hotel managers, looking at rooms to pick a room that was appropriate for 3 adult women to stay (especially at $250+ per night). He was told a specific room would be held and my friend made a reservation specifying this room number. The hotel charged her card for the 1st immediately on the day the reservation was made and charged her for the second night before we checked in on the1st of Mar. They pulled a "bait and switch" on us. Told us the room we had reserved was not available and tried to give us a room with a king bed for the three of us to share. They then gave us a room w/2 queen beds and a hide-a-bed. This room smelled awful (they had to come in and bleach the bathroom to get the smell out), bathroom lights and bedroom lights were burned out (maintenance did come up and fix the bedroom lamp but we were told the bathroom fixture was the last one of that type in the hotel and they didn't have anymore bulbs like that-fortunately there was still a couple of bulbs that still worked). We had to call down for towels because we only had 2 sets - we were told they would "have to see if they could find some." They finally agreed to reduce the price of the room by $100 per night (which meant that we still were paying $152/night for a room that would put an ecomomy hotel to shame). The sheers in the bedroom were riped and torn and our view was an access road and roof when we were promised an ocean view. Our second day the maid service came in, emptied the trash, and took the dirty towels - did not return to make the beds and we never received new towels. Once again we called the front desk to request towels and were told that they would have to see if they had any!!!! Please remember that this is a $252/night hotel room!! Eventually, after another call and trip to the front desk, we got enough wash clothes and towels to shower the next morning. There was one service person (a young man who made sure someone came in to clean the bathroom when it smell so bad) that was pleasant and appropriately polite and customer oriented. The front desk staff was rude and full of excuses for their poor service and deceptive sales tactics. We found out late in our visit that there are 2 management companies working in this hotel (one for the permanent residents and the other for hotel guests). These two companies need to get their act together and remember that they are in the business of serving the people who are paying their salaries. I have told everyone I know about this poor excuse for a hotel and will never (and I say that rarely) return there. I have traveled a great deal and this is not a place I would ever recommend. I will say the my girls friends and I had a decent weekend but it had to do with the fact the Hollywood Florida has many great places to visit and shop and my girlfriends and I always enjoy each others company.

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 632DebbieL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry W, General Manager at Hollywood Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear Guest. The Historic Hollywood Beach Resort is under new management since 04/02/2013 we will make sure that the problems will be addressed properly . Please feel free to contact me during your future trips because I want to make sure that I take care personally of you and your stay . I have attached below my contact information for your convenience. Thanks again

Kind Regards
Jerry W Walker
Jerrywalker19@gmail.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We live locally (parents and two kids) and wanted to do a four night "staycation" down on Hollywood Beach during the kids' spring break. We decided just a couple of weeks ago and we couldn't find any of the places we had researched before that had a one bedroom room that were available. This was the last place on our list.
Two friends of mine stayed here about 5 years ago and I remember the hotel being a bit run down and shabby, but their one bedroom suite was big. And we like having the extra room and some privacy when staying with the kids, so we figured "let's go for it." We booked a one bedroom oceanview room.
The night before I logged onto the computer to get the phone # to confirm the reservation, and pulled up the trip advisor site and read all of the horrible reviews.Oh my, I thought, what are we getting into? When I called to confirm the resy, I asked the woman if we were going to have any trouble getting our room. She pleasantly reassured me that we had a nice room awaiting us.
We arrived to unload the car, and found the employees helpful and cheerful. Checking in was no problem, though I was not thrilled to have to pay $15 to park the car per day. We got a room on the 8th floor (turns out to be the penthouse). When we stepped off the elevator, the hallway reeked of cigarettes and had not been renovated. It looked old and rundown. But when we walked into our room, all was forgotten as it was decently renovated (though with lots of imperfections), with a nice size bedroom and living room, plus one full bathroom and one powder room. The kitchen area had a microwave, full size fridge, and sink (but no stove or oven). There were two huge windows looking out onto the ocean and beneath us the pool. What a magnificent view. You could still smell the smoke of the hallway, but it was not nearly as bad. We purchased some incense from the kiosk downstairs and it made the smell bearable.
Like I said, the room was not perfect. The pullout couch was so uncomfortable that our 10 year old chose to sleep in a chair instead. We finally padded it with blankets and towels to make it bearable. Their was a small hole in the window, so there was always a small breeze coming in. The heat did not work, and the first night was a bit chilly,. We called down to housekeeping for more blankets, and they brought us up one. There were lots of imperfections, but overall the room was suitable,
We didn't have much interaction with staff, but besides housekeeping I found everyone friendly and professional, from the shift supervisor, to the front desk staff, to the parking guy, to the pool attendant, to the waitresses at our free breakfast.
One day housekeeping didn't come at all to make up our room, and another day she came at 4:30, right when we came back from a long day at the beach and pool.
The free breakfast was more than adequate, and a bit nicer than a hampton Inn. The pool was quite nice, clean, heated, with a hot tub, And the beach is wide and clean and beautiful. The convenience store inside the hotel was quite useful. We ate three meals at the wonderful Jimmy Max's underneath. And the location is very good - at the south end of the all the action of the Hollywood Broadwalk. Close by are my favorite two restaurants on Hollywood Beach, Sugar Reef and Sushi-Thai.
This is a magnificent old building, almost a hundred years old. I enjoyed looking at the pictures situated through out the hotel showing it "back in the day." As in "back in the day" before it was run down. I guess if they really did a massive rehab this again could be a grand old property, but with the size, age, and the fact that many of the units are condos probably precludes this from ever coming back to being a nice property.
I wouldn't stay here again, but we still had a great time. I found the location to be great, the staff (besides housekeeping) accommodating, but the smell of our hallway a deal killer.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xxxtripguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry W, General Manager at Hollywood Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear Guest. The Historic Hollywood Beach Resort is under new management since 04/02/2013 we will make sure that the problems will be addressed properly . Please feel free to contact me during your future trips because I want to make sure that I take care personally of you and your stay . I have attached below my contact information for your convenience. Thanks again

Kind Regards
Jerry W Walker
Jerrywalker19@gmail.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hollywood hotels
0.7 mi away
Caribbean Resort by the Ocean
1.7 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hollywood Beach
1 mi away
Hollywood Beach Marriott
Hollywood Beach Marriott
#6 of 73 in Hollywood
1,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Neptune Hollywood Beach Hotel
1.4 mi away
Ocean Inn
Ocean Inn
#30 of 73 in Hollywood
520 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hollywood Beach Hotels
Hollywood Beach Hotels
#38 of 73 in Hollywood
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Beach Resort

Address: 101 N Ocean Dr, Hollywood, FL 33019-1728 (Formerly Ramada Hollywood Beach Resort)
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range: $71 - $376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hollywood Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, HostelWorld, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hollywood Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Beach Resort Cruise Port Hotel Hollywood
Ramada Hollywood Beach Hotel
Ramada Hollywood Beach Resort
Hollywood Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing