We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great motel! Great owner ! Great staff !”
Review of Richard's Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hollywood
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Richard's Motel
Ranked #58 of 71 Hotels in Hollywood
Reviewed November 29, 2012

I spent 2 weeks at the Richard's Motel, all I have to say it was a wonderfull experience and the price was great. I will recommend it to everybody !
1 mile 1/2 from the beache, 5 minutes away from the young circle, restaurants, bars, and publix are very close by. The airport 10 min. Away

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nono2312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (284)
There are newer reviews for Richard's Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 284 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2012

....DO NOT book Richard's Hotel if you have children with you.....

Look, is it the Marriott? No. Was I expecting 250 count pillow covers and sleek, modern finishes in the bathroom? No. Was I expecting to have drug addled husks as neighbors for two weeks? Not really, but they were actually pretty nice guys. Was I expecting my first encounter with a prostitute to be with a scabby lady at Richard's Hotel as I smoked outside of my room? No but things happen and I laughed it off and moved on.

What I won't laugh off is how the proprietor acted on the second to last day of my stay, Thanksgiving. I wasn't sure if I was going to spend my last night at the hotel or at a friends. Had I stayed at my friends, I didn't want to have to drive all the way back to the hotel just to drop off the key. I wanted, however, to leave the option of staying at the hotel open. Easy solution, just kindly ask the man and his wife at the counter if I could leave the key with him and just pick it up later that night if I decided to spend the night there. They seemed nice enough.

Mind you, the place is 24/7. People check in at all hours. All he would have to do is hand me the key to the room i already paid for when I get there. He just said no. Period. End of story. No offer to explain something I might have been missing. Just a big no with a side of impatient huffing and eye rolling. He said that its was not a service he provided and if I left the key with him, he would check me out. What? The service of hanging the key on the board with the other keys? Really? How petty. I just gave him the key and left the office feeling more skeeved than I did after encountering the prostitute. Oh, and you guessed it. No refunds.

Honestly, the place was clean. Staff were very kind and friendly esp. the cleaning staff. I just feel bad that they have to work for a jerk.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guest982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2011

i have been there for over 6 years now and i cannot find anything wrong with the place exept the internet speed.f you ask richard (the owner)he or his staff will bend over backwards to help you with anything.
exellent prices parking is clean yard is well kept . this is a great location 5 mins from beach and shopping

Room Tip: choose the condo side if you can its quieter but the pool side is nice , near the pool is nice but t...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jacques-g1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We got the last room available, a one bedroom with full kitchen. As a result, the clerk or owner gave it to us for less than the usual price, $57!

The bathroom was 90% clean and infested with ants. Even one of the towels had an ant crawling on it. The kitchen was clean though. The bathroom tub was upgraded. Everything else was 70's-80's vintage. The Pool looked nice. The grounds were taken care of. The a/c was over the bed and was so loud, I couldn't sleep. Won't stay there again, but a person who has a limited budget could make it work.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank onlinescoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

Clean, comfortable and an excellent value for the money. I stayed in one of the studio apt. for one night(Only looking for a room but thats what they gave me). Nice people! Wanted to be close to the airport for an early morning flight.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheBoatManCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

We will recommend Richard's motel for the quality of services. The staff are nice and pay attention to our needs.
Our room was nice and clean. Fabulous outdoor setting.The BBQ was at our disposal.
Bilingual or trilingual staff, French, English or Spanish.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lucie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2011

I was in South Florida for a few meetings and vacation. This is my third stay at this place.
I stayed in different condos 3 times. The place is really clean and well maintained. The owner is available and the staff very polite.
Located on US 1, it is close to everything. For the kind of money they are asking it is hard to beat.
I only have one little criticism, their internet connection sucks. If you are there for a long period and need to do some transaction on line, forget it. I am certain that the owner Richard will correct the problem.
I recommend this place with no hesitation.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ReneSheridan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hollywood hotels
0.8 mi away
Ramada Hollywood Downtown
Ramada Hollywood Downtown
#34 of 71 in Hollywood
1,116 reviews
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Hollywood Boulevard
2.2 mi away
Caribbean Resort by the Ocean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#50 of 71 in Hollywood
125 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hollywood Beach Suite and Hotel
2.1 mi away
St Maurice Beach Inn
St Maurice Beach Inn
#17 of 71 in Hollywood
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richard's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richard's Motel

Address: 1219 South Federal Highway, Corner of Plunkett Street & US1, Just North of Pembroke Rd., Hollywood, FL 33020-6029
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Hollywood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
#7 Casino Hotel in Hollywood
#10 Business Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range: $49 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Richard's Motel is a tropical, serene hotel with 35 units in a 2 story classic art-deco building, with a sparkling clear pool, BBQ facilities, serene lounging area and sun deck, offering you Cable TV, featuring HBO and free WiFi internet, hot coffee at the Office. A tropical oasis-style scenery can be seen throughout the beautiful properties, with an attentive staff available 24 hours. Richard's Motel has not only hotel rooms, but apartments, studios, and efficiencies at very affordable rates at 8 locations. BOOK NOW! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Richard`s Hotel Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing