We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“not fancy but clean and friendly and comfortable.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Angelfish Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Angelfish Inn
Ranked #20 of 67 Hotels in Hollywood
Staunton, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“not fancy but clean and friendly and comfortable.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2010

One block from the beach, and steps away from any store we needed. The beds were comfortable, and we loved the courtyard--with its own turtle pond! The atmosphere was family-run, Old Florida--a welcome relief from all the high rises around. We loved it!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pshulman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    40
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
46
81
22
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2010

We stayed at the Angelfish in while working in the area and it was great! Karen, the owner, is the nicest person I've ever met staying somewhere and the room was a full kitchen, comfy living room with pullout couch, full bathroom, and bedroom. Clean and comfortable, a nice courtyard sitting area in the middle, and while not actually beachfront it's just a 30 second walk from the boardwalk/beach area just behind the place. Also you get a pass to park anywhere streetside in Hollywood for free instead of paying at meters, which was handy. If I ever stay anywhere in the area again I will most certainly be back!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PatHughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2010

We stayed here for 2 weeks with our 25lb. Terrier. We enjoyed the stay very much, and so did the dog..she loved meeting the resident kitties! Karen, the owner, was very hospitable. Whenever we saw her she always said "hello" and made sure we had everything we needed. We stayed in one of the larger apartment units, which is great for a longer stay. Very clean and well taken care of. I enjoyed sitting in the terrace area reading. The beach is steps away. Everything we needed was very close by. I would highly recommend staying here and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spaqween
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2010

Even though I could get the corporate rate at Marriott, they and everyone else wanted a non refundable $100 pet fee for my dog, which is absurd.
Luckily, my friend recommended Angelfish Inn for my stay in South Florida.
This little place is about 50 paces from the Beach and very close to everything else (right off Hollywood Blvd and A1A).
The owner is TOTALLY COOL (she even laughed when my 100 lb pit bull jumped in her turtle tank) and the rooms were clean and EXTREMELY well stocked; they had dishes, silverware, microwave, full size fridge and coffeemaker. They even had a bottle opener (and pizza cutter) in the drawer which came in very handy because that was one thing I didn't bring on my trip and ended up needing.
Oh, and for those of you with doggies: NO PET FEE, and the dogs are welcomed with open arms!!
I definitely recommend this place to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monstaar-Media
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Lakes, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2010

I Stayed with my family for the month of August. This is the second time I have stayed at the Angelfish inn. It was a wonderful stay. My sons love the proximity to the beach and the many things to do around the ara.
Karyn is a great host and is always available for any of the needs necessary. In fact, she is like part of the vacation. She will join the guests nightly for conversations out on the terrace and is very friendly and accomodating to all guests.
Do not miss out on this wonderful little place. The rates are very reasonable and you will not regret for one minute to have chosen it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trylaxsilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2010

We were in-between permanent abodes when we were told about this unique little gem steps away from the beach in Hollywood. We were impressed by the cleanliness of the rooms but we were especially enamored by the warmth of our hostess, AngelFish Inn owner, Karin Valentine. Each room has its own unique style and decor with warm colors and whimsical accents, full kitchen, color TV, comfy bed and free wi-fi. If your an animal lover/owner, you'll be happy to know they are welcome. We fell in love with the "staff felines" in residence; Dacks, Jerry, Fluffy and Jinx. We were treated like family, like friends and it felt like home. We're already planning our next stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CurbCafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2010

We are a family with an 11 year old and a 2 year old and our entire family absolutely loved our stay at Angelfish Inn!


The motel is well maintained and is kept very clean. It is one story and has a central courtyard with tables, chairs, benches, lounge chairs, tropical plants, and a pond with turtles and fish. The rooms are comfortable and have a cozy "like you're at home" sort of feeling. All of the rooms have full kitchens (with pots, plates, cups, cutlery, etc) and a few of the rooms have a separate bedrooms, like the room we stayed in. The separate bedroom works out great if you have small children whose bedtime is earlier than yours, as was the case with our 2 year old. By the way, though the main photo on tripadvisor looks decent enough, the rooms look better in person.


The service is fabulous. Karin, the owner/manager is genuinely a very warm, friendly and hospitable person. She will go out of her way to make sure her guests have a pleasant stay. There is no room service but that should be expected with such reasonable rates. The rooms come equipped with cleaning products, bathroom tissue, Kleenex, soap, and extra sheets and towels anyway. And if your stay is for a while and you end up needing more of any of these things, Karin is more than happy to have you ask her.


The location is just the best. The motel is literally a 30 second walk from the beach/boardwalk. The beach is just gorgeous with that turquoise water that the Caribbean also has. Not to mention, the water is very warm for an ocean. The boardwalk is beautifully designed and is lots of fun to explore. It is lined with so many shops, restaurants,playgrounds, and things to do that you really don't need to rent a car unless you plan on exploring Florida more. Besides, only 2 blocks away there is a trolley that only costs $1 per person. It leaves every hour and goes to downtown and the nearby parks. There is also a free boardwalk concert most nights of the week that features different types of live music.


As for cons...well if you're the type of person who leans towards luxury hotels, then the Angelfish Inn might be too no-frills for you. Or if you're the type of person who can't sleep with white noise such as with a fan or an air conditioner, then you might hear some faint talking or music here and there at night. (That's why I gave the "sleep quality rating a 4 rather than a 5.) We slept with the fan which easily blocked out noise.


We stayed at Angelfish Inn for 6 weeks (because our trip for both for leisure and business) and we were still sad to go after all that time, so you can imagine how enjoyable our stay was!


What probably stands out to us about Angelfish Inn the most is the value. We looked into all of the motels in the area with good reviews and we chose Angelfish because it's literally half the price of all the other motels of the same quality.


We'll definitely stay at Angelfish Inn every time we visit Hollywood.

Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Alyse_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hollywood hotels
0.1 mi away
Margaritaville Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
St Maurice Beach Inn
St Maurice Beach Inn
#17 of 67 in Hollywood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caribbean Resort by the Ocean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casa Pellegrino Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hollywood Beach Marriott
Hollywood Beach Marriott
#7 of 67 in Hollywood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,410 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sheldon
Hotel Sheldon
#23 of 67 in Hollywood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angelfish Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angelfish Inn

Property: Angelfish Inn
Address: 342 Buchanan St, Hollywood, FL 33019-1236
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Hollywood
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Hollywood
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
#7 Family Hotel in Hollywood
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Angelfish Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Angelfish Inn is a cute beachside inn with newly renovated rooms. All rooms have full kitchens, cable t/v, cold a/c and free wifi. Rentals can be daily, weekly or monthly. We welcome all well behaved pets with no security deposits just a small daily fee.We offer on site and street parking Located in the center of Hollywood beach, close to shopping and many restaurants. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Angelfish Hotel Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing