We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite what we expected”
Review of Ocean Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Inn
Ranked #31 of 72 Hotels in Hollywood
Reviewed April 4, 2010

We booked one night at this hotel based on Tripadvisor reviews and it wasn't exactly what we had expected although perhaps it should have been. First the good news. The hotel is certainly small and cozy. The rooms surround a small but pretty courtyard with tables, chairs and lounge chairs. There is free wireless internet, although I didn't use it so I don't know how well it worked. There is also a computer in the lobby for guest use. There is free parking which is a big deal in this part of town, where most hotels charge for parking. The continental breakfast was nice, although nothing special. The hotel is located close to the Hollywood boardwalk, which is very cool and reminded me of Venice beach in California without the body builders. The Boardwalk was certainly a highlight and makes this part of Miami an interesting place to stay.

However, the hotel is located directly on AIA, a very busy and very noisy road. There is heavy traffic noise from early morning until late into the night and because the rooms are not well insulated, the noise is very intrusive. Also, cars from this hotel and others are parked very close to the rooms, so you will hear doors slamming, people talking and horns "pipping" as cars are locked at just about any time of the day or night. The rooms are small with low ceilings. The walls are painted concrete block and are painted with dark purple and red paint which makes the rooms seem even smaller. The rooms have small window air conditioners set into the wall and THEY are very noisy also. In April, we didn't need the A/C but in the summer you will need it running all night. Sleep well ! The fixtures are old and worn and although functional, they are certainly in need of replacement. The bathroom is very small with the paint peeling off the walls and in our bathroom there was a crack in the concrete floor. Because the hotel is essentially surrounded by parking lots on three sides and AIA on the other, none of the rooms have any kind of a view.

Having lived on Miami Beach in 1980, this hotel is exactly how I remember the cheaper hotels from that era - in need of renovation but really not worth upgrading. For one night, it was OK, but I wouldn't have stayed for a second night and I wouldn't stay there again. The price was right and the hotel staff were very nice,, but I'm afraid that just can't make up for old, worn out accomodation. and rooms which just don't meet todays expectations for a basic hotel room - or at least not my expectations.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dalesman98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (524)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

436 - 442 of 524 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2010

This small, but charming, in an Old Florida way, inn is perfectly located, just a few steps from the wonderful boardwalk and beach. It had a warm, family feel, and you felt cared for.
The staff was wonderful, so warm, friendly and helpful. I needed to transact some business while there, and Scott, the owner, with Felipe's assistance, handled everything efficiently.
Ada, who sets up breakfast some mornings, knew we had an early business appointment, she prepared everything early just for my daughter and myself. The juice was fresh, as were the freshly baked muffins, and good coffee too!
Our room was perfectly comfortable, and in the closet was a coffee maker, refrig. and microwave - a little kitchenette. Very convenient.
On the boardwalk, there were many restaurants, shops, and the Band Shell provides entertainment on weekend nights.
I heartily recommend the Ocean Inn to anyone needing to stay in the Hollywood area.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolina66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2010

This is our 3rd year coming to Sony Ericsson in Key Biscayne & 1st year at Ocean Inn. We were so pleased we stayed an additional night. Located on the north end of the Broadwalk, the beach is not crowded and restaurants, music, etc. are within easy walk. The Broadwalk is excellent for running or biking and is well lit at night. The Inn is VERY clean and the landscaping amazing with fountain, hammock & ample seating so if you are not doing something else or want break from sun & wind, sitting in the garden is cool and relaxing. The breakfast (coffee, juice, cereal, fruit & muffins) was simple and perfect for us to grab & go or on final morning sit in the garden. The staff is available & helpful with directions, chairs for the beach, etc. There is also internet access & free parking. It is on a busier street so at night we turned on the fan and a/c in room and vehicle noise wasn't a problem. We had room 12 which worked for us as we didn't plan to cook so didn't need the kitchenette but looked at the other larger rooms if we are able to stay longer next year. This is definitely our choice when we visit again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AtlantaHikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2010

I am an out of area property owner/mng. of nearby rental buildings. When ever I come to Hollywood, I stay at Ocean Inn. This is truly the perfect portrayal of Hollywood Beach lodging. With it's lush tropical garden, unmatched personal service, one block off the boardwalk, I find relaxing is a very easy thing to do here. I have, and will always stay at
Ocean Inn. I only hope they are not booked full the next time I have to go to Hollywood.

David Lee

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DELNorthPortFl_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2010

Ocean Inn truely shows the commitment to detail and attention to meeting the customers needs that you can only find in a smaller hotel/motel. Yes, it is older, but with near new remodling. We especially liked the courtyard area after a busy day at the beach. Small areas cordoned off with vegitation and fencing that gave the small space a feeling of you being in your own private paradise. My only complaint was we had the room closest to A1A and the traffic noise was a little loud. I will stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaxineWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2010

We chose the Ocean Inn after reviewing it online and sending my in-laws to check it out. They said it was really cute, clean and close to the beach. It was all that and more. Staying here was so much better than a big chain hotel because it had all the feel of home, without the hassles. Every single person on staff was super friendly and helpful. The room was spotless and the courtyard was so relaxing and quaint. We stayed for 7 nights and cooked on the gas grill in the courtyard one night. We ate the provided breakfast every morning (the fresh homeade muffins were a nice treat.) The place is amazing! We walked up and down the Broadwalk everyday. It's beautiful and very safe. I would stay here again and again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Whit35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2010

We booked this hotel based on reviews from this website and from Ocean Inn's own website. While it appears to be quaint, charming and the best place to stay in Hollywood, even though we had paid for a week, we left after 3 days. The room was small. The bathroom was so small you had to get completely in before you could shut the door. We were right on the courtyard which proved to be very noisy with people coming and going and talking. It was on a busy road and parking was sometimes a problem. We only dealt with one staff member, but she was very pleasant and helpful.
The room was clean, but very old. The bed was comfortable. Wireless internet was intermittent and slow. We were fully aware that this was not a fancy hotel, but it was still much less than we expected based on other reviews on this site. Seemed overpriced.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reederann57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hollywood hotels
0.7 mi away
Caribbean Resort by the Ocean
1.1 mi away
Coral House Hotel
Coral House Hotel
#29 of 72 in Hollywood
67 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hollywood Beach Hotels
Hollywood Beach Hotels
#39 of 72 in Hollywood
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Neptune Hollywood Beach Hotel
5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Hollywood Boulevard
1.3 mi away
The Desoto Inn
The Desoto Inn
#13 of 72 in Hollywood
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Inn

Address: 3405 N Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019-3805
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Hollywood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Hollywood
#11 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range: $110 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BE OUR GUEST! The Ocean Inn offers a unique boutique lodging experience. Relax, renew and unwind with us in our private tropical courtyard just steps to the sand, surf and Hollywood Broadwalk. We celebrate the diversity and power of people, ideas and cultures and we do our very best to serve each guest according to their individual needs and lifestyles. Make your reservation today because we want to get you in bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Groupon, getaroom.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Ocean Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing