We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Inn to your Saves list
Ocean Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3405 N Ocean Dr, Hollywood, FL 33019-3805   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 69 Hotels in Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Loved this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Great location steps from the beach, customer service was great, I felt right at home
After a day on the beach came back to the room had a cocktail and sat outside in a very peaceful garden setting. No pool no big deal u r steps from the beach. Free parking is a huge bonus.

You got yourself a very loyal customer
T

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    135
    22
    20
    8
See reviews for
98
225
52
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

This small motel is comfortable enough for the average couple. It's about two blocks away from the beach. The rooms all face onto a central patio area that is comfortable and quiet. They have a gas BBQ available for use (we BBQ-ed some steaks and ate out at the patio table). Our room was comfortable enough and had a small fridge and hotplate as well as a microwave. There are a couple of local stores (Walgreen's and Publix) to pick up a few supplies and groceries. The bed was nice and soft. The AC units are in-wall and very loud but at least it did the job and kept us cool. The housekeeper does a great job at keeping the rooms as clean as possible. We were visited only once by a cockroach that I promptly showed the phone book to. The staff are great and friendly. There is a local restaurant called "La Tub" that is not too far from the motel. It has an interesting history and, arguably, the best hamburgers in the world. A must-visit place if you happen to stay in the area.

We didn't bring our kid on this trip and I'm glad for that. I think kids would go out of their minds with boredom at this mote as there is nothing to do in or around the motel with the exception of walking down to the beach area with parents.

Certainly worth a try if you are looking for a quiet retreat off the beaten path.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ColorX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed for one night, but could easily have stayed longer. Great position by a great beach, with faultless service. Free parking and even has beach chairs you can borrow! Rooms are basic, but clean and have everything you need. This is not a five star hotel, but is a nice, small and easy place to stay for a great price.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephenF4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I arrive late May and so far have been in contact with "Phillip" he has been very attentive in responsing to my emails and questions. I have been on line looking and afraid to pull the trigger for several weeks and finaly booked 5 days here based on price and location. I am just looking for a clean place that is on the beach. I have been to Europe a handful of times and have stayed in new hotels but find I am out and about most the time not in my hotel. Will update once my arrival happens May 23rd. I was in contact with a couple of hotels after reading their BAD reviews "Hollywood Beach Resort" for one... in hopes that they could assure me that it would not happen to me...and they denied the reviews and never got back to me. They should learn from Phillip about customer service. I would not chance "Hollywood Beach Resort."

Room Tip: Tell them you want a clean and quiet room away from any stairwells or lobby's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophiascarlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunrise, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This little gem is about 2 short blocks from the beach which is why the rates are so reasonable. A tad dated but in the best way. Philip was must helpful and informative. He will help with any special requests you have. We were able to check in early since our room was available. Plenty of free parking. There are beach chairs and umbrellas for guests as well as sunscreen and trashy novels. The best part was homemade muffins along with fruit, cereal and coffee for breakfast!

Thanks, Philip, for making our girls outing so much fun!

Room Tip: Stayed in room 19 which is on the southeast corner, first floor. Noise level was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank msboogie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando
Level Contributor
441 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We picked this "mom & pop" motel based on TA reviews. But I have to say that we were disappointed.
Pros: clean, tropical feel on the patio & good staff
Cons: We thought that this place would be a funky, kitschy-type place. We have stayed in other older resorts {from the '40s actually} and were thrilled. But that is not what we found here. They are not maintaining the motel's assets like they should. It is as if they are just 'painting over'. Example: rather than replacing doors they are just painting over. Ours was a motel room and it was very basic. There was no real charm in our room. The wall air conditioner was very loud.
All in all, just OK.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmEs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronika A, General Manager at Ocean Inn, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear EmEs,

Thank you for your authentic review of your recent stay with us. It is wonderful to hear about the cleanliness, tropical feel on the patio and good staff.
Please except my sincerest apology for any disappointment you may have experienced. We are just getting out of season, so now we are refreshing all the rooms for the summer time.
We are very sorry for the inconvenience with the air conditioner. Our engineering team is diligently working to rectify the situation.

Despite your disappointment I do hope you will return to stay with us again in the future.

Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

When my husband and I arrived at the Ocean Inn, we were greeted by Joe. There were no parking spaces available. Joe moved his car and gave us his spot. Then he proceeded to show us our room and all amenities this B&b had to offer, from the beach chairs and towels to the corner where the continental breakfast would be served.everything was convenient. The room was very clean and the staff's hospitality was second to none. Any question that we had were immediately addressed by Phil who was usually there when we had any concerns. His service and everyone made our stay wonderful. We look forward to returning again

Room Tip: Our room # was 13. Very clean and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hollywood hotels
0.8 mi away
Caribbean Resort by the Ocean
0.9 mi away
Margaritaville Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Hollywood Beach Marriott
Hollywood Beach Marriott
#7 of 69 in Hollywood
4.0 of 5 stars 1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach
0.5 mi away
Casa Pellegrino Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Neptune Hollywood Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Inn

Property: Ocean Inn
Address: 3405 N Ocean Dr, Hollywood, FL 33019-3805
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Hollywood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Hollywood
#11 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BE OUR GUEST! The Ocean Inn offers a unique boutique lodging experience. Relax, renew and unwind with us in our private tropical courtyard just steps to the sand, surf and Hollywood Broadwalk. We celebrate the diversity and power of people, ideas and cultures and we do our very best to serve each guest according to their individual needs and lifestyles. Make your reservation today because we want to get you in bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Ocean Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing