We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A stay at the Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
WalkAbout Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 71 Hotels in Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Hudson, Ohio
1 review
“A stay at the Beach”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

With a friendly staff and cozy hotel, it felt like a private resort right in all the fun of Hollywood Beach. The tiki bar at the hotel has a great view of the ocean and the boardwalk. Rooms were clean, comfortable and quiet. The kitchen had refrigerator and area for simple food prep that we used for snacking. With the short walk across the boardwalk to the beach, it was simple to get refreshments all day long. While the hotel doesn't have a restaurant, we had delivery from several great places. Meanwhile, we could walk or bike the boardwalk. Just great fun.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GregW222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    53
    6
    4
    6
See reviews for
58
121
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014

We spent one night here in April before a cruise and want to come back for a longer vacation. We arrived after 7pm and checked in at the Tiki Hut bar...where we had drinks later (much cheaper than at the Marriott bar next door). Our room was on the 2nd floor (there is no elevator) with a view of the water and the back overlooked another beach bar/restaurant. The Air conditioner worked great and there is a ceiling fan over the bed. There is even a small kitchen in the room. The bathroom was small but just fine with us and it was pink too. We loved that everything had a pink tint...even the sheets. Breakfast is just a short stroll at any of the many restaurants down the "Broadwalk" Some cute shops. The beach is soft white sand and the water was pretty calm while we were there. Hope to go back soon.

Room Tip: If you can't handle the stairs ask for a first floor room. No pool but the ocean is just steps...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daune G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel Island, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

We didn't stay at this hotel but stopped at the Tiki bar several days in a row while visiting. We found this Tiki bar was much cheaper than the one next door and the bartenders were very friendly. It seemed a lot of locals came to the bar but we always felt welcome and found everyone friendly.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jered C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We recently stayed here after a cruise for a day before flying home. We arrived 5 hours before check in and were pleasantly surprised as they let us store our luggage until our room was ready. The room was amazing! Very spacious...wall mounted flat screen tv's in LR and BR. Just a real gem to find. So happy we stayed here. Only criticism was no whiskey or bourbon at the tiki bar. If that's a problem...just go next door to the Marriott bar.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stv8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wantage
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

Didn't stay here, but stopped for a drink at the cute little tiki bar. Met a couple of locals and got some great tips on the area. Friendly patrons, good music, good service, and good drinks. Stop by and check them out!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank 238wendyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Stayed here for one night...we were lucky to get in after a bad experience in another hotel further down the beach. This place is a gem. It is a small hotel from the 1940's like most of the "boutique" hotels along the Broadwalk. This one is very clean and updated as much as possible (we were told there are limits by the city to structural modifications to these older hotels). I would stay here again in a heartbeat. I would say rooms 1 and 4 are the best on the first floor. They are large, bright, and clean. The housekeeper (Sheri, I think) is wonderful and will help you with anything. Office staff was great and even let us park there for the day after we checked out and filled our cooler with ice when we finally left. Tiki bar in front is a nice touch and had reasonable prices...it was open from 1 to 10 when we were there. I suppose it could get a little noisy at night, but it was quiet the night we were there. You could pay twice as much to stay at the big chain hotel next door, but don't do it...stay here!! No pool, but literally steps from the sand and ocean. Second floor rooms may have a slightly better view, but there is no elevator so be aware of that.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NDfan65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledonia, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Pleasantly surprised ! Very clean with splashes of color in the interior decorating bringing the jewel up to date. Right on the beach with the use of beach chairs available. Tiki bar in the middle of the complex overlooking the ocean and boardwalk. We would definitely stay here again! The only downside was the lighting in our unit was poor for reading.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hollywood hotels
0.0 mi away
Hollywood Beach Marriott
Hollywood Beach Marriott
#6 of 71 in Hollywood
1,558 reviews
2.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach
0.4 mi away
Caribbean Resort by the Ocean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riptide Hotel
Riptide Hotel
#11 of 71 in Hollywood
718 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Pellegrino Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Neptune Hollywood Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WalkAbout Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WalkAbout Beach Resort

Property: WalkAbout Beach Resort
Address: 2500 N Surf Rd, Hollywood, FL 33019-3605
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Hollywood
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — WalkAbout Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The WalkAbout Beach Resort is a cozy family-owned and operated hotel located ON THE BROADWALK in Hollywood Beach, Florida. Our boutique, 8-room hotel was built in 1950, and it is one of the last remaining beachfront hotels designed in the Art Deco style.Our guests enjoy a wide array of amenities that include: ocean front rooms, a large tiki bar in our courtyard, seating alongside the Hollywood broadwalk, scenic views of the beach, nearby shops and restaurants, free wifi, free cable, on-site washer/dryer, live music, and fresh linens daily. Our staff is extremely friendly and professional, and we are always nearby to assist with any special requests. Hollywood Beach is one of the premier beach destinations in the world. The city provides twenty-one lifeguard towers and eight first-aid stations. An icon of Art Moderne architecture on Hollywood Beach’s famed Broadwalk, The Walkabout Beach Resort, is a classic 1940’s boutique hotel. Those who have visited claim it has the perfect blend of characteristics: chic, warm and inviting, glamorous, and tastefully modernized.To experience The Walkabout Beach Resort, is to experience Hollywood Beach at its best. In keeping with its classic style, eight oceanfront guest rooms are immaculately styled with the elegance of another era – wooden and terrazzo floors, interiors with rich textures, soft pink monochromatic colors, and decorations with a nod to its illustrious past mark the furnishings. Each room is adorned with vintage black and white photographs cataloguing Hollywood’s social history dating back to the 1920’s. When you stay at The Walkabout, discover its delightful Art Moderne ambiance and see how its past has been preserved to its original beauty. The Walkabout is known for its remarkable beachfront setting and legendary Hollywood Beach, Florida hotel location - on the Broadwalk. Named one of America's best beach Broadwalks by Travel + Leisure, the Hollywood Beach Broadwalk is more than 2 miles long, sizzling with energy that embodies the diversity Hollywood Beach stands for - bustling sidewalk cafes, unique shops, multi-hued streamline Art Moderne buildings, and unforgettable ocean views. Step out from the Broadwalk and spend the day settled on white sands, by a glistening ocean on one of South Florida’s most beautiful beaches. Still, the most popular pastime on the beach is simply savoring the charming character of this truly unique setting, so reserve a day for relaxing to the sound of soothing waves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your WalkAbout Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walkabout Beach Hotel Hollywood
Walk About Beach Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing