We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walkabout is perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of WalkAbout Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
WalkAbout Beach Resort
Ranked #12 of 69 Hotels in Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Gibsonia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Walkabout is perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Third time we have stayed at the Walkabout in the last three years. Ideally located along the Hollywood boardwalk so the beach is just a few steps away. Rooms are well decorated and have everything you need for an extended getaway. Tiki bar is great. Only slight downside is the bathrooms are dated. Will be back next year.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Robb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    51
    6
    4
    6
See reviews for
57
112
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ft. Myers
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We know we love Hollywood beach..we know we heal with the energy of the Atlantic Ocean there.. we know we love the healthy walks on the Broadwalk. We just discovered the Walkabout Beach Resort.. We were charmed. The room we occupied was very spacious and afforded us everything we needed for a complete R&R vacation. I returned home and immediately advised our grown children to take their children to Walkabout beach Resort for the most enjoyable, relaxing time they have ever had on the Atlantic Ocean. We will come back to this Resort and recommend it to all who will listen. I don't know what the development plans are for Hollywood Beach but I suggest that the city powers that be put money into helping this resort stay- instead of building new and not so charming consruction. All the staff were very helpful and accomodating and we want to visit them again. Charm, cleanliness and ambiance. Perfect!

Room Tip: if you have mobility issues request a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeland, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We went as a family for Spring Break for six nights. It is a very tranquil setting. It sits right on the beach, so you must like sand! There are a lot of nice shops and restaurants along the broadwalk. The tiki bar right at the bottom of the steps is a nice touch. It is a bit older, but that only gives it added character. The bathrooms are on the small size. It is a little more expensive than the average hotel room, but definitely worth the extra money. The staff was great. Sherry is a wonderful lady and very accomodating to any needs we had. Thank you for a wonderful vacation! We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Room 8 is perfect (as well as Room 5). 2nd floor with a view of the broadwalk and beach. Only down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichiganVisitor1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We have greatly enjoyed our stay at this wonderful boutique hotel, located at the less crowded part of Hollywood Beach. We just loved to walk out the door barefeet, kids could safely play on the Beach. Restaurants are on strolling distance. Safe carbparking inside neighboring Mariott hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in room nr 8: second Floor with Ocean View!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Veenendali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We were there for four days and enjoyed every minute. The rooms are a great size and the staff was very helpful. We had a fantastic view of the beach and enjoyed daily walks on the boardwalk. It felt like we had our own little bungalow by the beach. Lots of choices on the boardwalk for eating and a small amphitheater , all located right on the boardwalk. Would definitely recommend the Walkabout Beach Resort to anyone wanting something other than the same old hotel type rooms.

Room Tip: Unit #4 is downstairs and Unit #8 is upstairs- both have the best view of the beach and boardwalk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank June T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This was a very clean and friendly place. It is old but that being said, it has old charm, a very old beach feel. You walk right out of your door to the beach. Lovely views. The boardwalk is awesome. Bike lanes and a wide walking path. Lots of shops and restaurants along the way.

Room Tip: There are only 8 apartment/suite type rooms at the Walkabout. There is a Tiki bar in the center cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I was here for a business trip with a few co-workers but I would come back and stay for vacation. The hotel was funky and charming. Rooms were huge with a large living room and bedroom and a small kitchen. Views were unbelievable as the hotel is just steps from the beach with nothing obstructing the view. Just walk about 20 feet across the boardwalk and your toes are in the sand! The woman who took care of the rooms (Sherry) was super sweet and chatted with us for a while as we sat on the patio and enjoyed some drinks. She said she cleans the rooms as if they were her own house... and it showed. The rooms were immaculate. The beach was perfect for a morning walk with co-workers or an evening stroll with your sweetie. The only negative I can think of is that the bathroom was very small. But I would stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hollywood hotels
0.4 mi away
Caribbean Resort by the Ocean
0.6 mi away
Margaritaville Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Hollywood Beach Marriott
Hollywood Beach Marriott
#7 of 69 in Hollywood
4.0 of 5 stars 1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riptide Hotel
Riptide Hotel
#6 of 69 in Hollywood
4.0 of 5 stars 624 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Pellegrino Boutique Hotel
2.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WalkAbout Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WalkAbout Beach Resort

Property: WalkAbout Beach Resort
Address: 2500 N Surf Rd, Hollywood, FL 33019-3605
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Hollywood
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — WalkAbout Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The WalkAbout Beach Resort is a cozy family-owned and operated hotel located ON THE BROADWALK in Hollywood Beach, Florida. Our boutique, 8-room hotel was built in 1950, and it is one of the last remaining beachfront hotels designed in the Art Deco style.Our guests enjoy a wide array of amenities that include: ocean front rooms, a large tiki bar in our courtyard, seating alongside the Hollywood broadwalk, scenic views of the beach, nearby shops and restaurants, free wifi, free cable, on-site washer/dryer, live music, and fresh linens daily. Our staff is extremely friendly and professional, and we are always nearby to assist with any special requests. Hollywood Beach is one of the premier beach destinations in the world. The city provides twenty-one lifeguard towers and eight first-aid stations. An icon of Art Moderne architecture on Hollywood Beach’s famed Broadwalk, The Walkabout Beach Resort, is a classic 1940’s boutique hotel. Those who have visited claim it has the perfect blend of characteristics: chic, warm and inviting, glamorous, and tastefully modernized.To experience The Walkabout Beach Resort, is to experience Hollywood Beach at its best. In keeping with its classic style, eight oceanfront guest rooms are immaculately styled with the elegance of another era – wooden and terrazzo floors, interiors with rich textures, soft pink monochromatic colors, and decorations with a nod to its illustrious past mark the furnishings. Each room is adorned with vintage black and white photographs cataloguing Hollywood’s social history dating back to the 1920’s. When you stay at The Walkabout, discover its delightful Art Moderne ambiance and see how its past has been preserved to its original beauty. The Walkabout is known for its remarkable beachfront setting and legendary Hollywood Beach, Florida hotel location - on the Broadwalk. Named one of America's best beach Broadwalks by Travel + Leisure, the Hollywood Beach Broadwalk is more than 2 miles long, sizzling with energy that embodies the diversity Hollywood Beach stands for - bustling sidewalk cafes, unique shops, multi-hued streamline Art Moderne buildings, and unforgettable ocean views. Step out from the Broadwalk and spend the day settled on white sands, by a glistening ocean on one of South Florida’s most beautiful beaches. Still, the most popular pastime on the beach is simply savoring the charming character of this truly unique setting, so reserve a day for relaxing to the sound of soothing waves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your WalkAbout Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walkabout Beach Hotel Hollywood
Walk About Beach Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing