We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent small hotel with a perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
WalkAbout Beach Resort
Ranked #12 of 72 Hotels in Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 15, 2012

This is a perfect small hotel right on the "broadwalk" in Hollywood Florida. The hotel is steps away from the beach, and some of the rooms have beautiful views of the water.The rooms are huge and many of them are 2 room suites with kitchens. The rooms are bright and decorated very tastefully. Everything to make a stay comfortable was considered including excellent reading lights over the bed. The rooms are very clean and the toiletries and towels were better than most hotels. We rented the entire hotel for a family event which worked out very well. The staff was lovely and very responsive to any requests we made. Everyone in my family was happy with their rooms and the hotel. I would absolutely stay here again, and hope to do so soon. The tiki bar is very pleasant with good music that ends early enough for those that retire early.

Room Tip: room 8 has a gorgeous view of the ocean and the broadwalk
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sufei10536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (246)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 246 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2012

Great little gem right on the broadwalk! The room was extremely big and light, bathroom a bit dated. The staff was also very helpful with the online check-in for the flight because my internetconnection wasn't working. Complimentary parking. We stayed for 3 nights at the end of our holiday and came back home very relaxed. Nice restaurants at a 20 minutes walk. No swimming pool but the beach is nearby.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Willemijn2600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Best vacation we had in a long time! The walkabout was the perfect location easy access to the beach and broadwalk. The staff so friendly and helpful. The rooms clean. We really enjoyed the tiki bar and the locals that hang out there. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cpm14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

We had a very relaxing time at the Walkabout! There's a great "broadwalk" right outside where people bike, rollerblade and walk back and forth. A few steps more and you are on the beach. We were given beach towels and had access to chairs that seemed to be brand new. There are also cabanas on the beach and chaise lounges that I believe you could rent but we didn't need them. We just parked ourselves under the palm trees :) We read a lot of reviews before booking and some of them are surprising -- ie, like vacationers did not go to the website. We were fully aware that staff is on site from 9 - 5 -- never had trouble finding someone during those hours. We were given a number we could call for after hours, or we could stop by the tiki hut for assistance. It's a small 8-unit place, more of a boutique hotel. For those looking for full-service (and to pay $75+++ more a night, there's a Marriott right next door, and a few other full-service resorts on Hollywood Beach). Our room (#7) was clean and adorably decorated. Bed was comfy. If you want to really nitpick, the doors to the outside did let in a little rain, but no had no issues with bug or keeping the unit cool so really not a big problem at all for us.) Some things to know if you are bringing a laptop or kindle, there's no wifi. When we needed it, we went off-property. Yes, the stairs to the second level are steep. If stairs are an issue, keep this in mind. Gina, the manager, kindly offered to help us lug a suitcase up the stairs -- so kind of her. The Tiki Bar did have a lot of customers each night, but it seemed to shut down at 10:30 and I barely noticed any noise while in our unit (bedroom was towards back, and we had tv on and didn't hear lots of noise). Also, there is a 50% nonrefundable deposit noted on the website, so keep that in mind. To me, this is like a lot of New England area beach resorts -- so to me, it was all good and we were happy and comfortable. Also, happy to have a full-size fridge and a kitchenette (ie, microwave, no stove, some cups/plates provided as well as paper towels -- very handy!)... and restaurants nearby. So, my advice is -- read the website carefully. If this is not the type of experience you are looking for -- go with a chain hotel. If you are looking for a cute boutique hotel, definitely try it out!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blu777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Located directly on boardwalk, we did not rent a car. Walked to restaurants/trolley. We found it is 13 blocks to the restaurants and trolley. Doesn't seem like anyone works there, bartender let us in our room, housekeeping answered questions-Otherwise we went across street to Marriott to ask questions.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rej63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmk713, Manager at WalkAbout Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2012

Dear Customer,

There are quite a few restaurants within 1-3 blocks from us. We are 1 block from one of the Trolley pick up locations..

Our business hours are 9am to 5pm, which is clearly outlined. Yes our Personnel working our outdoor tiki bar does assist with questions/check-ins after 5p.m.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

The location of this hotel is great as it faces the beach and is right on the "broadwalk". The nice part is that it is like an apartment rather than your typical hotel room with 2 beds. You have a separate kitchen with a separate eating area, a bedroom, bathroom and a livingroom with a pull out couch. We stayed on the upper floor with a beautiful view. Convenience was a big plus with this hotel. Sheri from the cleaning staff was very accommodating and friendly. As far as the downside, the room can use some repairs and updating. The entry doors to the rooms are in great need of replacement. The kitchen is rundown, with counters peeling, cabinets in bad shape and refrigerator rusting. The bathroom could use proper ventilation however there is a window which helps. This is a small hotel with 8 rooms so you hardly ever find anyone unless you go looking for them. We went to office several times only to find it locked. If we needed beach towels, we went to the Tiki Bar and asked for them and was given a key to go get towels. At times we would be lucky to find Sheri cleaning a room and she would get them for us. When I booked this hotel I was told they supplied beach chairs, however, we purchased our own. I didn't expect a pile of old chairs lying in the back of the hotel on the ground covered in dirt.

When our last day arrived we had trouble with our flight and asked for a late check-out expecting to pay for it, but Gina, the manager, refused. I never heard of such a thing. We traveled all over the place and never came across a problem with a late check-out.

Room Tip: Stayed on second floor, great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mitzygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

I booked a room at this hotel through expedia. The following morning the hotel called me to inform me that a mistake had been made and that in fact they were booked solid that night. I said thank you, and proceeded to book a room at a different hotel. I went on my trip, came back and found out that the hotel is refusing to give me a refund, claiming we were a no-show. I will never use this hotel, nor will I use expedia again.

Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
5  Thank FMmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmk713, Manager at WalkAbout Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2012

Dear Customer

A. We did issue a 50% refund.

B. We did have your room reserved, we never received a phone call, voice message or email from you. We did not have a contact number on file for you since the reservation was booked through Expedia.

C. Due to the "no show", we treated the reservation as a cancellation. Our cancellation policy on Expedia as well as our website reads that in the event of a cancellation, a 50% deposit will be kept in full.

D. This was explained to you several times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hollywood hotels
0.1 mi away
Hollywood Beach Marriott
Hollywood Beach Marriott
#6 of 72 in Hollywood
1,572 reviews
0.6 mi away
Margaritaville Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Caribbean Resort by the Ocean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riptide Hotel
Riptide Hotel
#11 of 72 in Hollywood
726 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Pellegrino Boutique Hotel
2.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WalkAbout Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WalkAbout Beach Resort

Address: 2500 N Surf Rd, Hollywood, FL 33019-3605
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Hollywood
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range: $142 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — WalkAbout Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The WalkAbout Beach Resort is a cozy family-owned and operated hotel located ON THE BROADWALK in Hollywood Beach, Florida. Our boutique, 8-room hotel was built in 1950, and it is one of the last remaining beachfront hotels designed in the Art Deco style.Our guests enjoy a wide array of amenities that include: ocean front rooms, a large tiki bar in our courtyard, seating alongside the Hollywood broadwalk, scenic views of the beach, nearby shops and restaurants, free wifi, free cable, on-site washer/dryer, live music, and fresh linens daily. Our staff is extremely friendly and professional, and we are always nearby to assist with any special requests. Hollywood Beach is one of the premier beach destinations in the world. The city provides twenty-one lifeguard towers and eight first-aid stations. An icon of Art Moderne architecture on Hollywood Beach’s famed Broadwalk, The Walkabout Beach Resort, is a classic 1940’s boutique hotel. Those who have visited claim it has the perfect blend of characteristics: chic, warm and inviting, glamorous, and tastefully modernized.To experience The Walkabout Beach Resort, is to experience Hollywood Beach at its best. In keeping with its classic style, eight oceanfront guest rooms are immaculately styled with the elegance of another era – wooden and terrazzo floors, interiors with rich textures, soft pink monochromatic colors, and decorations with a nod to its illustrious past mark the furnishings. Each room is adorned with vintage black and white photographs cataloguing Hollywood’s social history dating back to the 1920’s. When you stay at The Walkabout, discover its delightful Art Moderne ambiance and see how its past has been preserved to its original beauty. The Walkabout is known for its remarkable beachfront setting and legendary Hollywood Beach, Florida hotel location - on the Broadwalk. Named one of America's best beach Broadwalks by Travel + Leisure, the Hollywood Beach Broadwalk is more than 2 miles long, sizzling with energy that embodies the diversity Hollywood Beach stands for - bustling sidewalk cafes, unique shops, multi-hued streamline Art Moderne buildings, and unforgettable ocean views. Step out from the Broadwalk and spend the day settled on white sands, by a glistening ocean on one of South Florida’s most beautiful beaches. Still, the most popular pastime on the beach is simply savoring the charming character of this truly unique setting, so reserve a day for relaxing to the sound of soothing waves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your WalkAbout Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walkabout Beach Hotel Hollywood
Walk About Beach Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing