We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an awesome getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
WalkAbout Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 66 Hotels in Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“What an awesome getaway!”
Reviewed August 8, 2011

The Walkabout is a little pink building just north of the Marriott and is just FABULOUS! The rooms are clean, beautiful - white tile, white linens, etc.. Comes with a full kitchen so you can cook and stay in..

The bar is great - wonderful bartenders, fabulous locals.

Gina, the manager, is a doll and makes you feel welcomed and comfortable.

I TOTALLY recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seaweed329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    53
    6
    4
    6
See reviews for
57
120
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampstead, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Just spent two weeks with friends at the Walk About celebrating my retirement! I couldn't have had more fun any where else!! The staff was fabulous and made sure we had everything we needed--and with 4 women that was quite a feat! The locals that frequent the Tiki Bar were just great folks. One couple even ordered pizza for everyone on our last night there!! You are within walking distance of just about anything you need. (Try GG's just down the street on the waterway).The live music adds something special as well. The beds are super comfortable and the linens are a nice quality.
If you love the beach and a relaxed atmosphere you absolutely must visit The Walk About!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimhin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2011

This is the third time we visit WalkAbout Beach Resort. The service we receive from the staff is always outstanding. They make us feel welcome every time and makes sure the room we like is always available. They are very professional, caring and very pleasant to talk to. Our room is always super clean and the bed is so comfortable. The location of the Resort is great. The beach is beautiful. All the bartenders at the Tiki bar are very nice too. We feel there is" no place" like this around town and we will continue to come and recommend friends. We love WalkAbout Beach Resort.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doadridan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 21, 2011

Fantastic place to stay. Excellent staff, great location and great resort. The rooms are very comfortable. The Tiki bar is fun. House keeping is excellent as well. My husband, the kids and I, loved The Walk-About resort and the beautiful beach. It is a great place for families.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ctinyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee Mission, Kansas
1 review
Reviewed June 20, 2011

This is a fantastic little spot to park your tired soul. It's quiet, comfortable and the staff is amazingly friendly...and accommodating. The tiki hut, located right outside your door, is not only hometown friendly feeling, but extremely affordable. You can go next door to the Marriott and pay 3x as much for the same drink !! Gina the manager is fantastic, Nori & Pepper in the tiki hut are the best. House cleaning staff very polite and professional. We stayed three nights and have already begun the planning for a return trip in the winter. You can have the big hotels and chains. We're sticking with Walkabout. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: We stayed in Unit 4, directly on the boardwalk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herkymur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grove City, Ohio
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2011

Stayed the week before memorial day weekend. We were staying with family in Ft. Lauderdale, but wanted to spend at least one night on the beach, so we drove down to Hollywood Beach and aimed for the largest hotel we saw. I saw this beautiful pink gem right next door and decided to stop in. The gorgeous Gina gave us a tour of the most perfect beach front room I have ever seen in unit 4. Seriously, you step out of the room directly onto the boardwalk and tiki bar (also a gem, especially when Nori is behind the bar!) Needless to say, we stayed another night and day and it was the best part of our vacation. The entire staff is exceptional and welcoming. Definitely will be back, and if you get there before me, tell Gina Shane from Pittsburgh said Hi!

Room Tip: unit 4 is directly on the boardwalk and beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank senorcactus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2011

My husband and I have just returned from our second visit in a year to the Walkabout. We absolutely love everything about this place. We stayed in room #8 which is on the second floor and looks down the Broadwalk and has a panoramic view of the ocean. The staff is more than accommodating. They give personalized care effortlessly. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DLB7031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hollywood hotels
0.0 mi away
Hollywood Beach Marriott
Hollywood Beach Marriott
#6 of 66 in Hollywood
1,529 reviews
0.6 mi away
Margaritaville Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Riptide Hotel
Riptide Hotel
#8 of 66 in Hollywood
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Caribbean Resort by the Ocean
2.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach
0.2 mi away
Casa Pellegrino Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WalkAbout Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WalkAbout Beach Resort

Property: WalkAbout Beach Resort
Address: 2500 N Surf Rd, Hollywood, FL 33019-3605
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Hollywood
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — WalkAbout Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The WalkAbout Beach Resort is a cozy family-owned and operated hotel located ON THE BROADWALK in Hollywood Beach, Florida. Our boutique, 8-room hotel was built in 1950, and it is one of the last remaining beachfront hotels designed in the Art Deco style.Our guests enjoy a wide array of amenities that include: ocean front rooms, a large tiki bar in our courtyard, seating alongside the Hollywood broadwalk, scenic views of the beach, nearby shops and restaurants, free wifi, free cable, on-site washer/dryer, live music, and fresh linens daily. Our staff is extremely friendly and professional, and we are always nearby to assist with any special requests. Hollywood Beach is one of the premier beach destinations in the world. The city provides twenty-one lifeguard towers and eight first-aid stations. An icon of Art Moderne architecture on Hollywood Beach’s famed Broadwalk, The Walkabout Beach Resort, is a classic 1940’s boutique hotel. Those who have visited claim it has the perfect blend of characteristics: chic, warm and inviting, glamorous, and tastefully modernized.To experience The Walkabout Beach Resort, is to experience Hollywood Beach at its best. In keeping with its classic style, eight oceanfront guest rooms are immaculately styled with the elegance of another era – wooden and terrazzo floors, interiors with rich textures, soft pink monochromatic colors, and decorations with a nod to its illustrious past mark the furnishings. Each room is adorned with vintage black and white photographs cataloguing Hollywood’s social history dating back to the 1920’s. When you stay at The Walkabout, discover its delightful Art Moderne ambiance and see how its past has been preserved to its original beauty. The Walkabout is known for its remarkable beachfront setting and legendary Hollywood Beach, Florida hotel location - on the Broadwalk. Named one of America's best beach Broadwalks by Travel + Leisure, the Hollywood Beach Broadwalk is more than 2 miles long, sizzling with energy that embodies the diversity Hollywood Beach stands for - bustling sidewalk cafes, unique shops, multi-hued streamline Art Moderne buildings, and unforgettable ocean views. Step out from the Broadwalk and spend the day settled on white sands, by a glistening ocean on one of South Florida’s most beautiful beaches. Still, the most popular pastime on the beach is simply savoring the charming character of this truly unique setting, so reserve a day for relaxing to the sound of soothing waves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your WalkAbout Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walkabout Beach Hotel Hollywood
Walk About Beach Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing