We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a dump? There is no other way to describe this property...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Hotel & Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Holiday
Reviewed July 19, 2011

From the nice girl at the desk to the inability to open the door we were assigned to, the whole experience is one big fiasco. The walls, the doors have peeling paint....the atmosphere is "down in the dumps". The observed clientele is very low class and the long time maintenance man said it is "run down" from when we last stayed there in the 90's. The girl at the desk admitted SHE would not stay there and that the owners were interested in income without any outgo. We would be afraid of leaving our car unattended overnight and so we got a refund on our money and went elsewhere. What a shame, it used to be so 5 star. Now not even 1 star. The room we were assigned would not open so we returned with the key (card) to the front desk and the girl went with us and tried to open the door. Gee she said, I guess somebody already is in there!!!

Need I say more....

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank charly087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele P, Front Office Manager at Holiday Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

I have heard many, many stories like the one you just described. i am so sorry for your stay. All I can say is that we have new owners since April 11, 2012. Nothing but renovations being done. Please come check us out again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Hotel & Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 69 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2010

Terrible place. My family has been staying here for about the last 14 years since it is close to my wife's family. But this is the last time. It is too run down, very dirty, smelly and disgusting. We only stayed 2 days. After leaving, we found that an almost empty purse of my daughters had been removed from the room during the cleaning. We did not notice it until a couple days later because my daughter had unpacked it to use a different purse and had put it inside of a duffle bag. We know it was not left when we checked out because we double checked the room before leaving. Calls to the hotel resulted in them hanging up. I will never stay there again and advise you not to.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank spuckett1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele P, Front Office Manager at Holiday Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

I am so sorry. More often then not, I hear of stories like this. Our employee's do not go into your room unless you are there or are close by because of stories like these. All I can do it extend my apologies. I hope you will change your mind about us when our renovations are done.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2010

I have included some quotes from the Tahitian Resort website:
"Full breakfast service is available for your enjoyment" NO breakfast available, only a bar & grill
"Fitness equipment" Where????? I never found any!
"Restaurant(s) in hotel" Hardly a restaurant, more like a smoky bar that serves typical bar food.
"Daily maid service" Our 1st morning, there were clumps of hair on the shower walls. My daughter & I had not used the shower at that point, so it was not our hair! On the 3rd day after being out all day, we returned to find our room had not been serviced. Apparently, the gentleman thought I said "no Service" when I said "come back in 1 hour". The room was eventually serviced--clean sheets & towels--but no vacuuming, no cleaning the bathroom, etc.
"NO PETS AT POOL SIDE". so why was there a dog walking around the pool?
"Only registered guest are allowed in the pool." Care to explain the young girl who asked everyone she could find for a ride home on Tuesday night?
"Beautifully landscaped pool and sunbathing area" No one cleaned the pool during our 4-day stay. The sunbathing area was disgusting: plastic cups filled with cigarette butts, half-finished drinks left by the pool's edge, garbage in the shrubs (this was all there when we arrived, and remained there when we checked out).
Finally, the drain in the bathtub did not work. Within 2 minutes of a shower, I was standing in ankle-deep water.
Your resort has much potential: location, amount of rooms, a peautiful pool. CLEAN IT UP, make it more family-friendly (instead of drunken bikers).

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dgstick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele P, Front Office Manager at Holiday Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

I am in the process of making a new website for us. It will be updated on a daily or weekly basis based on the traffic flow. The bar, restaurant or the fitness area are open because of renovations. Believe me it will be better once our construction is done. =)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2010

The sheets hadn't been washed; the air-conditioner didn't work; and someone opened my door with an old pass key thinking I had gone out. The manager said the maid (his wife, I found out later) had made up the room but had missed the bed. But how had she made it if she missed it?

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aejg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele P, Front Office Manager at Holiday Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Although being at the front desk now. I did start in house keeping and I assure you the sheets are washed. I know with the older owners it was hard to tell or not. With our new owners we are slowly replacing everything from the sheets to the towels, to the soap and shampoo. I am sorry you were not happy please come see us again during or after all of our renovations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2010

I had a long stay for business and payed up front for the whole month. Bad idea! I needed a small refrigerator, that they have in other rooms. I payed $540.00 up front. Not bad deal but bad owners. When asked for the fridge they said I didn't didn't even "pay enough for the light bill around here." Then why rent me the room! Rooms are bad and old.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tmbman2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele P, Manager at Holiday Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

All I can say is that we have new owners. He owns may local business' here in pasco, as well as some rental properties. We are here to accommodate you. What they should have done was asked when you checked in if you needed a microwave a refrigerator because you were stay a month, that is something I, myself would recommend to you. I am so sorry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2010

When we walked into our room I heard a "scattering" noise. That should have been my first clue of how HORRIBLE this hotel is. The very torn carpet was black from dirt. The mattress were black as well. Not to mention that the sheets were torn and blood stained. And just when I thought it couldn't get any worse I walked into the most disgusting bathroom I have ever set foot in. We were out of there within minutes, how ever the manager didn't want to give us our money back! We got it though after some time. This is the WORST hotel ever!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KADKAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2010

This is the most Dirty, Disgusting, Rundown, Drug & Drunk infested rat traps I have ever seen. There was OLD Puke on the sidewalk right in front of the soda machines that you could not avoid when going to the parking lot from ANY room. Our smoke detector was off of the wall, on the shelf with the batteries removed. The Fire Extinguishers were no where to be found, the holders were empty. You could not see past the first step in the pool, was to dirty to consider using. Bought a can of Lysol to make sure the bed & sheets were safe to sleep on! Half of the staff did not speak English or was very broken. Grout in between tiles were black in our bathroom, and there was what looked like old puke on the bathroom walls. Pictures on website on NOT Accurate, No way it was renovated in 2009, The whole place looks like it will fall down with a strong wind. Places less then 5 miles away are Much Nicer. ITS not worth the savings! Afraid to leave valuables in room or in vehicle. Spent the whole trip (3 days) trying to avoid the hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UnhappyCustomer60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holiday
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Holiday Tarpon Springs
2.8 mi away
Magnuson Hotel and Marina New Port Richey
4.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in Tarpon Springs
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tarpon Springs
5.4 mi away
VISTA Hotel on Lake Tarpon
VISTA Hotel on Lake Tarpon
#2 of 3 in Palm Harbor
182 reviews
9.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Tampa-Port Richey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Hotel & Resort

Address: 2337 US Highway 19, Holiday, FL 34691-3940 (Formerly Tahitian Beach Motel)
Location: United States > Florida > Holiday
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Holiday
Price Range: $73 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Holiday Hotel & Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Hotel and Resort is a one-hundred forty room hotel in Holiday/Tarpon Springs off the Gulf Coast of Mexico on Florida's Nature Coast in the Tampa Bay area. Deep-sea fishing, scuba diving, para-sailing, jet skis or boating are all options for enjoying the Gulf's warm waters. The hotel boasts a beautiful and tranquil seventy-five foot swimming pool, set in a tropical landscape with palms, flowers and plants. The town of Tarpon Springs is a historic town of Greek origin sometimes called the "Sponge Capital of the World." Shop in the open-air market of distinctive and quaint shops and enjoy different dining experiences. Watch local divers collect sponges. Bike, walk, roller blade or run the Pinellas Trail, a forty-two mile paved, scenic trail. Drive to a different beach every day or rent a Ski-Doo or boat and explore the beauty by water. Just thirty minutes to the east is Tampa and Busch Gardens, thirty minutes south is Clearwater and just forty-five minutes north is Weeki Wachee. The hotel is three miles from the Sponge Docks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Holiday Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tahitian Hotel Holiday
Tahitian Hotel Tarpon Springs
Best Western Tarpon Springs
Tarpon Springs Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing